## Enrolled

## **House Concurrent Resolution 19**

Sponsored by Representative BARNHART, Senators EDWARDS, BEYER, Representatives HOLVEY, HOYLE, NATHANSON; Representatives DAVIS, DOHERTY, KOMP, LIVELY, Senators COURTNEY, PROZANSKI, STEINER HAYWARD

Whereas the University of Oregon football program has been steadily building its reputation as a team that can hold its own against any storied football powerhouse school in the nation; and

Whereas Oregon's historic and record-breaking 2014 college football season under head football coach Mark Helfrich secured Oregon's place in the first ever College Football Playoff National Championship game; and

Whereas Oregon faced adversity throughout the season with copious injuries to key players and an early defeat by the Arizona Wildcats; and

Whereas Oregon overcame these hardships through tireless teamwork and athletic excellence, finishing the season 13-2 overall and 8-1 in Pacific-12 Conference (Pac-12) play; and

Whereas Oregon won the Pac-12 North Division to advance to the 2014 Pac-12 Football Championship Game, where they defeated the Arizona Wildcats 51-13, thus vanquishing the only team to defeat Oregon during the regular season; and

Whereas Oregon played in the inaugural College Football Playoff, routing the Florida State Seminoles 59-20 in a decisive victory at the 2015 Rose Bowl semifinal game and advancing to the 2015 College Football Playoff National Championship Game; and

Whereas Oregon's presence in the College Football Playoff National Championship Game was Oregon's second ever national championship game appearance, the first being the Bowl Championship Series National Championship Game in 2011; and

Whereas Oregon became the first team to reach 50 points in Rose Bowl history, setting an alltime scoring record for the Rose Bowl and snapping the Seminoles' 29-game winning streak; and

Whereas Oregon quarterback Marcus Mariota is the first Oregon player to win the Heisman Trophy, having received the second-highest percentage of possible points in Heisman history, and secured the Pac-12 records for career total touchdowns and single-season total touchdowns, as well as the Oregon team records for career total offensive yards, career passing yards, career passing touchdowns, single-season total offensive yards, single-season passing yards and single-season passing touchdowns; and

Whereas Marcus Mariota and Doug Brenner of Oregon were selected for the Pac-12 Conference All-Academic Second Team, along with six other Oregon players who received honorable mentions; and

Whereas Oregon players participated in public service projects organized by and through the university's athletic department, performing public services such as school and hospital visits, raising money for worthy causes, planting trees and signing and sending footballs for young fans suffering from serious illnesses; and

Whereas all 17 of Oregon's senior football players who exhausted their eligibility have either completed their graduation requirements or are scheduled to do so by the end of the 2015 spring term; and

Whereas 23 players on the team maintained a cumulative grade point average of 3.00 or above on a 4.00 scale; and

Whereas Oregon finished the season as consensus national runners-up behind the national champion Ohio State Buckeyes; and

Enrolled House Concurrent Resolution 19 (HCR 19-INTRO)

Whereas the Oregon football team is a source of pride for all Oregonians as they continue to capture the national spotlight with their exemplary play; now, therefore,

## Be It Resolved by the Legislative Assembly of the State of Oregon:

That we, the members of the Seventy-eighth Legislative Assembly, congratulate the University of Oregon Ducks football team and coaches on their impressive victory at the 2015 Rose Bowl and for their stellar performance during the 2014 college football season.

Adopted by House May 11, 2015

Timothy G. Sekerak, Chief Clerk of House

Tina Kotek, Speaker of House

Adopted by Senate June 11, 2015

Peter Courtney, President of Senate