Enrolled

House Concurrent Resolution 17

Sponsored by Representatives BUCKLEY, ESQUIVEL, Senators BATES, BAERTSCHIGER JR; Representatives KRIEGER, STARK, WILSON, Senator KRUSE

Whereas the Southern Oregon University Raiders football team took the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) Football National Championship over the Marian University Knights on December 19, 2014, with a score of 55-31; and

Whereas it was the first-ever appearance by Southern Oregon at the NAIA Football National Championship; and

Whereas Southern Oregon is the first state school to appear in the title game since 2003; and

Whereas Southern Oregon is the first Oregon team since 1997 to appear in the title game and the first Oregon team since 1986 to win the title game; and

Whereas the 24-point margin of victory for Southern Oregon is the most in a title game since 1995; and

Whereas Southern Oregon football head coach Craig Howard, a native of Grants Pass, used the motto, "Character. Strength. Honor." to inspire his team; and

Whereas Southern Oregon quarterback Austin Dodge was named Outstanding Offensive Player of the Game as well as Rawlings-NAIA Football Player of the Year, and has broken numerous NAIA passing records; and

Whereas University of Oregon Ducks football head coach Mark Helfrich is a proud alumnus of Southern Oregon, and the Southern Oregon community salutes the "character, strength and honor" displayed by the University of Oregon Ducks football team in representing this state so well this season with their remarkable success; and

Whereas Southern Oregon players have stickers on their helmets with the letters "RV" to show that Southern Oregon represents the entire Rogue Valley; and

Whereas Southern Oregon athletic director Matt Sayre has built a program that produces teams whose players achieve success on the field, in the classroom and in the community; now, therefore,

Be It Resolved by the Legislative Assembly of the State of Oregon:

That we, the members of the Seventy-eighth Legislative Assembly, honor the Southern Oregon University Raiders football team for their victory at the 2014 National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics Football National Championship.

Adopted by House April 21, 2015

Timothy G. Sekerak, Chief Clerk of House

Tina Kotek, Speaker of House

Adopted by Senate June 29, 2015

Peter Courtney, President of Senate