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78th OREGON LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY--2015 Regular Session

SENATE AMENDMENTS TO
A-ENGROSSED HOUSE BILL 2879

By COMMITTEE ON RULES

June 22

On page 2 of the printed A-engrossed bill, line 3, after “practitioner” insert “or women’s health

care practitioner”.

In line 8, after “practitioner” insert “or women’s health care practitioner”.

After line 23, insert:

“ SECTION 3. Section 2 of this 2015 Act is amended to read:

“ Sec. 2. (1) In accordance with rules adopted by the State Board of Pharmacy under ORS

689.205, a pharmacist may prescribe and dispense hormonal contraceptive patches and self-

administered oral hormonal contraceptives. [to a person who is:]

“[(a) At least 18 years of age, regardless of whether the person has evidence of a previous pre-

scription from a primary care practitioner or women’s health care practitioner for a hormonal

contraceptive patch or self-administered oral hormonal contraceptive; or]

“[(b) Under 18 years of age, only if the person has evidence of a previous prescription from a pri-

mary care practitioner or women’s health care practitioner for a hormonal contraceptive patch or self-

administered oral hormonal contraceptive.]

“(2)(a) The board shall adopt rules to establish, in consultation with the Oregon Medical Board,

the Oregon State Board of Nursing and the Oregon Health Authority, and in consideration of

guidelines established by the American Congress of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, standard pro-

cedures for the prescribing of hormonal contraceptive patches and self-administered oral hormonal

contraceptives by pharmacists.

“(b) The rules adopted under this subsection must require a pharmacist to:

“(A) Complete a training program approved by the State Board of Pharmacy that is related to

prescribing hormonal contraceptive patches and self-administered oral hormonal contraceptives;

“(B) Provide a self-screening risk assessment tool that the patient must use prior to the

pharmacist’s prescribing the hormonal contraceptive patch or self-administered oral hormonal

contraceptive;

“(C) Refer the patient to the patient’s primary care practitioner or women’s health care practi-

tioner upon prescribing and dispensing the hormonal contraceptive patch or self-administered oral

hormonal contraceptive;

“(D) Provide the patient with a written record of the hormonal contraceptive patch or self-

administered oral hormonal contraceptive prescribed and dispensed and advise the patient to consult

with a primary care practitioner or women’s health care practitioner; and

“(E) Dispense the hormonal contraceptive patch or self-administered oral hormonal

contraceptive to the patient as soon as practicable after the pharmacist issues the prescription.

“(c) The rules adopted under this subsection must prohibit a pharmacist from:

“(A) Requiring a patient to schedule an appointment with the pharmacist for the prescribing or
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dispensing of a hormonal contraceptive patch or self-administered oral hormonal contraceptive; and

“(B) Prescribing and dispensing a hormonal contraceptive patch or self-administered oral

hormonal contraceptive to a patient who does not have evidence of a clinical visit for women’s

health within the three years immediately following the initial prescription and dispensation of a

hormonal contraceptive patch or self-administered oral hormonal contraceptive by a pharmacist to

the patient.

“(3) All state and federal laws governing insurance coverage of contraceptive drugs, devices,

products and services shall apply to hormonal contraceptive patches and self-administered oral

hormonal contraceptives prescribed by a pharmacist under this section.”.

In line 24, delete “3” and insert “4”.

On page 5, line 39, delete “4” and insert “5”.

In line 40, delete “3” and insert “4”.

In line 45, delete “3” and insert “4”.

After line 45, insert:

“ SECTION 6. The amendments to section 2 of this 2015 Act by section 3 of this 2015 Act

become operative on January 1, 2020.”.

On page 6, line 1, delete “5” and insert “7”.
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