Seventy-Eighth Oregon Legislative Assembly - 2015 Regular Session STAFF MEASURE SUMMARY

MEASURE: HB 3455 A CARRIER: Sen. Girod

Senate Committee On Business and Transportation

Fiscal:	Has minimal fiscal impact
Revenue:	No Revenue Impact
Action Date:	05/27/15
Action:	Do Pass The A-Eng Bill.
Meeting Dates:	05/27
Vote:	
	Yeas: 4 - Girod, Monroe, Riley, Thomsen
	Exc: 1 - Beyer
Prepared By:	James LaBar, Committee Administrator

WHAT THE MEASURE DOES:

Increases membership of All-Terrain Vehicle Advisory Committee from 14 to 16 members, adding one representative of a rural fire protection district and one representative of emergency medical services providers. Directs Parks and Recreation Department to establish and operate outreach program to inform law enforcement agencies, rural fire protection districts and emergency medical services providers about the grant process for moneys from the All-Terrain Vehicle Account.

ISSUES DISCUSSED:

- Beneficial reasons for adding emergency representatives to committee
- Concerns over the increasing size of the committee

EFFECT OF COMMITTEE AMENDMENT:

No amendment.

BACKGROUND:

The All-Terrain Vehicle (ATV) Advisory Committee, situated within the Oregon Department of Parks and Recreation (OPRD), is composed of 14 voting members and one non-voting OPRD member, all appointed by the State Parks and Recreation Commission. The Advisory Committee reviews and makes recommendations to the Commission on all issues relating to ATV use, including off-highway vehicle classifications, safety requirements for all four classes of ATV, and for future funding of grant projects.

For grant proposals, there exists also an ATV Grant Subcommittee which interacts with the public to review and make recommendations regarding the funding of ATV and off-highway vehicle grants for the following categories: operation and maintenance; law enforcement; emergency services; land acquisition; planning; and future development of trail opportunities. Projects are funded by moneys from the ATV Account, and require an affirmative vote of four of the seven subcommittee members.