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Measure Description: 
Clarifies that certain statutes of limitation are tolled if person entitled to bring action is child or is insane. 
 
Government Unit(s) Affected:  
Cities, Counties, Judicial Department, Department of Administrative Services (DAS), Department of 
Justice 
 
Summary of Expenditure Impact:  See Analysis 
 
Local Government Mandate: 
This bill does not affect local governments' service levels or shared revenues sufficient to trigger Section 
15, Article XI of the Oregon Constitution. 
 
Analysis: 
This fiscal impact statement has been revised to reflect additional information from the 
Department of Administrative Services and Department of Justice. 
 
The measure would increase the statute of limitations for minors, or individuals who are insane, to bring 
claims under the Oregon Tort Claims Act. Currently, the statute of limitations is two years. For minors, 
the measure would increase the statute of limitations to 5 years, or one year after the minor turns 18, 
whichever occurs first. For individuals who are insane, the measure would increase the statute of 
limitations for 5 years, or one year after the person is no longer insane, whichever occurs first. The 
measure applies to all causes of action on or after January 1, 2008, and is effective on passage.  
 
Based on the January 1, 2008 timeline provided by the measure, the Department of Administrative 
Services (DAS) Risk Management division anticipates a minimum of two cases may be filed. The 
Oregon Tort Claims Act prescribes tort limits that would apply to any claim that was presented. The 
following table shows the tort limits in effect from 2008 to the present. 
 

Date Per Person limit Per Occurrence limit 

1-1-08 to 6-30-10 $1,500,000 $3,000,000 

7-1-10 to 6-30-11 $1,600,000 $3,200,000 

7-1-11 to 6-30-12 $1,700,000 $3,400,000 

7-1-12 to 6-30-13 $1,800,000 $3,600,000 

7-1-13 to 6-30-14 $1,900,000 $3,800,000 

7-1-14 to 6-30-15 $2,000,000 $4,000,000 

Beginning 7-1-15 limits will increase by Consumer Price Index every 7/1 

 
Any potential claim settlements will have a fiscal impact to the Risk Management Insurance Fund, and 
any costs will be passed on to all state agencies through allocated risk assessment charges 
administered by DAS. 
 
Depending on the number and the complexity of cases, the Department of Justice (DOJ) and any state 
agencies that it defends will have additional costs. Based on the DAS Risk Management assumptions of 
relatively few applicable cases, DOJ anticipates being able to absorb the potential workload within 
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existing resources. Additionally, the Judicial Department will have minimal costs for any lawsuits filed in 
circuit court. 


