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78th OREGON LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY – 2015 Regular Session MEASURE:  HB 2465A  

PRELIMINARY STAFF MEASURE SUMMARY  CARRIER:  

Senate Committee on Rules  

 

REVENUE: No revenue impact 

FISCAL: Minimal fiscal impact, no statement issued 

SUBSEQUENT REFERRAL TO:  

Action:   

Vote:   

 Yeas:  

 Nays:  

 Exc.:  
Prepared By: Erin Seiler, Administrator 

Meeting Dates: 6/25 

 

WHAT THE MEASURE DOES: Authorizes Oregon Department of Transportation to establish, by rule, change of 

address requirements for driver licenses, driver permits and identification cards. Replaces requirement that applicants 

under 18 years of age provide proof of enrollment from school with the requirement that parent or guardian certify that 

applicant is enrolled in school, except in cases where the applicant’s privileges have been suspended for withdrawal from 

school. Eliminates the moped-restricted driver license. Removes requirement that out-of-state applicants for a 

motorcycle endorsement take the motorcycle knowledge test in Oregon if the applicant already has such an endorsement 

in another state. 

 

ISSUES DISCUSSED:  
 

 

 

 

 

EFFECT OF COMMITTEE AMENDMENT:  
A6 amendment: Makes issuance of fuel tax exemption emblems under the Road Usage Charge Program optional. 

Deletes requirement that mileage of vehicles participating in Road Usage Charge Program be rounded up to the next 

whole mile. Removes exemption for a specified vehicle with a maximum speed of 35 miles per hour for off-road use and 

that are operated on public highways in any one calendar year a number of miles that does not exceed 15 percent of the 

total number of miles the vehicle is operated for that calendar year. Exempts person operating motor vehicle with a 

combined weight of 26,000 pounds or more from weight-mile tax if the motor vehicle is for the purpose of emissions 

research and development and the United States Environmental Protection Agency has provided a testing exemption 

from complying with federal emission requirements, applies to taxes imposed on or after January 1, 2015. 

 

 

BACKGROUND:  
The Driver and Motor Vehicle Services Division (DMV) of the Oregon Department of Transportation is responsible for 

licensing more than three million Oregonians to operate motor vehicles on public roads in the state. DMV’s mission is to 

promote driver safety, protect financial and ownership interests in vehicles, and to collect revenue to finance Oregon’s 

transportation system. 

 

House Bill 2465A makes several changes to statutes relating to driver licenses and driving privileges in Oregon. First, 

the measure specifies that the Department shall identify, by rule, what constitutes proof of address to include, but not be 

limited to, utility bill, tax return, financial record, proof of insurance or health benefits card, selective service card, 

mortgage document or lease agreement. Qualifying documents may be provided in original form, copy or digital copy, 

or through third party address verification system. 

 

House Bill 2465A also replaces the requirement that persons under 18 who are applying for driving privileges, either for 

the first time or for reinstatement, must provide DMV with a form provided by their school verifying that they are 
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currently attending school, with a requirement that a parent or guardian certify that the applicant is enrolled in school. 

The form currently must be obtained by the school, school district or educational service district. The measure specifies 

that the form must be provided only in cases where the individual is seeking to reinstate driving privileges following 

suspension for withdrawing from school. 

 

Finally, House Bill 2465A removes the restricted Class C driver license which allows operators age 16 and older to 

operate mopeds on public roads. A moped is defined in statute as a vehicle equipped with a power source other than an 

electric assisted bicycle, or a motor-assisted scooter that operates on two or three wheels, uses a saddle seat, and capable 

of speeds not exceeding 30 miles per hour with a drive system not requiring clutching or shifting. 


