78th OREGON LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY - 2015 Regular Session MEASURE: HB 3400-30
PRELIMINARY STAFF MEASURE SUMMARY CARRIER:
Joint Committee on Implementing Measure 91

REVENUE: May have revenue impact, statement not yet issued
FISCAL: May have fiscal impact, statement not yet issued

SUBSEQUENT REFERRAL TO:
Action:
Vote:
Yeas:
Nays:
Exc.:
Prepared By: Adam Crawford, Administrator
Meeting Dates: 3/30, 5/20, 5/27, 6/1, 6/3, 6/8, 6/15

WHAT THE MEASURE DOES: Requires Oregon Health Authority (OHA) to create and maintain database tracking
production and processing of marijuana produced at marijuana grow sites. Specifies information to be included in
database and how often person responsible for grow site must report to OHA. Specifies Legislative Assembly as only
government body vested with ability to levy tax or fee on production, processing or sale of marijuana or medical
marijuana. Specifies number of mature marijuana plants allowable at site within city limits zoned for residential use.
Specifies number of mature marijuana plants allowable at all other sites. Requires OHA to collaborate with Oregon
Liquor Control Commission while making rules to harmonize medical marijuana facility licensure with retail
recreational marijuana licensure. Provides exemption from criminal liability if certain conditions are met. Defines terms.
Declares emergency, effective on passage.

ISSUES DISCUSSED:

e Oregon Medical Marijuana Act provisions
Requirements for tracking of marijuana
Recreational marijuana regulatory agencies
Interaction between medical and recreational markets
Supply of marijuana currently grown in Oregon

EFFECT OF COMMITTEE AMENDMENT: (-9 amendment) Replaces measure. Requires licensed marijuana
producers (growers), marijuana wholesalers (wholesalers), marijuana processors (processors), and marijuana retailers
(retailers) be 21 years of age and resident of Oregon for two years. Requires Oregon Liquor Control Commission
(OLCC) to adopt rules restricting size of mature marijuana canopy. Allows OLCC to adopt rules creating tiered system
for mature marijuana canopy. Allows OLCC to create license allowing medical marijuana growers to sell immature
marijuana plants and usable marijuana to growers, wholesalers, processors and retailers if medical marijuana grower
meets specific conditions. Allows OLCC to require segregated areas for premises that hold multiple licenses. Requires
OLCC to develop seed to sale tracking system. Requires growers, wholesalers, processors and retailers licensed by
OLCC to use seed to sale tracking system when transferring marijuana. Establishes authority for OLCC marijuana
regulatory specialists, including authority to inspect, arrest, seize and issue citations. Prohibits inspectors from
conducting investigations or inspections for purpose of ensuring compliance with Oregon Medical Marijuana Act
(OMMA). Allows OLCC to impose civil penalty of not more than $5,000 per violation. Requires OLCC to establish
system for awarding permits to retail workers participating in sale, possession or securing of marijuana at retail
establishment. Requires growers, wholesalers, processors and retailers to maintain surety bond and liability insurance.
Defines terms.

Establishes Legislative Assembly as sole body with authority to tax and regulate marijuana unless otherwise expressly
permitted by state law. Allows cities and county to establish up to 3 percent tax on marijuana sold by retailers if
approved by electors at statewide election. Establishes the Marijuana Control and Regulation Fund.

6/12/2015 5:09:00 PM *
This summary has not been adopted or officially endorsed by action of the committee.

Committee Services Form — 2015 Regular Session



Allows governing body of city or county to adopt regulations on growers, processors, wholesalers and retailers.
Regulations must be consistent with city and county comprehensive plan, zoning ordinances and public health and safety
laws. Confirms marijuana is crop for purposes of exclusive farm use law. Prohibits new dwellings and farm stands in
conjunction with marijuana crop on land zoned for exclusive farm use.

Requires Oregon Health Authority (OHA) and OLCC to require all marijuana items sold by either medical marijuana
dispensaries or retailers be tested prior to sale or transfer. Requires OHA, in consultation with OLCC and Oregon
Department of Agriculture (ODA), to establish standards for testing marijuana items. Requires OLCC to establish rules
for licensing testing lab. Requires OHA to establish rules for accrediting testing lab. Provides exemptions from testing
requirement. Allows OHA to impose civil penalty for violations not exceeding $500 per day.

Requires OHA and OLCC to require all marijuana items transferred or sold be packaged and labeled in manner that
ensures public health and safety. Requires OHA, in consultation with OLCC and ODA, to establish standards for
packaging and labeling marijuana items. Prohibits ODA from establishing standards for marijuana as food additive, or
considering marijuana an adulterant. Allows OHA to enter into agreement with OLCC to inspect and ensure compliance
with labeling and packaging requirements. Provides exemptions from packaging and labeling requirement. Allows OHA
to impose civil penalty for violations not exceeding $500 per day.

Establishes Task Force on Cannabis Environmental Best Practices. Establishes Task Force roster and rules. Requires
Task Force to study use of electrical and water usage associated with growing marijuana. Requires Task Force to report
to committee of Legislative Assembly responsible for regulating cannabis no later than September 15, 2016.

Establishes Task Force on Local Control of Marijuana Production. Establishes Task Force roster and rules. Requires
Task Force to study marijuana production, processing, transfer and sale and whether counties and cities should be able to
adopt ordinances prohibiting those activities. Requires Task Force to report to committee of Legislative Assembly
responsible for regulating cannabis no later than September 15, 2016.

Allows OLCC, in conjunction with OHA and ODA, to establish program identifying and certifying private and public
researchers of cannabis.

Requires OHA, State Board of Education and Alcohol and Drug Policy to develop curricula on marijuana abuse
prevention. Requires OHA to report to Legislative Assembly on February 1, 2016 and on February 1 of every odd
numbered year thereafter.

Provides exemption to specified licensees from criminal laws of Oregon relating to possession, delivery or manufacture
of marijuana. Modifies conditions and class of felony or misdemeanor for specified marijuana laws.

Requires OLCC to report to Legislative Assembly on or before February 1 of every odd numbered year approximate
amount of marijuana produced and sold and whether the supply of marijuana in Oregon is commensurate with demand.
Requires OLCC to examine available research on influence of marijuana on ability of person to operate vehicle and
report to interim committees of Legislative Assembly related to judiciary on or before January 1, 2017

Establishes January 1, 2016 as operative date for specified parts of measure. Declares emergency, effective on passage.

(-10 amendment) Requires medical marijuana registry identification cardholders (cardholders), medical marijuana
growers (growers), medical marijuana processors (processors) and medical marijuana dispensaries (dispensaries) be
registered with Oregon Health Authority (OHA). Provides exemptions for licensing. Describes OHA licensing process
for cardholders, growers, processors and dispensaries. Requires Oregon residency to receive registry identification card.
Requires at least two years of Oregon residency for growers, processors and those persons responsible for dispensaries.
Requires person responsible for a grow site, processors and dispensary owners be at least 21 years of age. Limits grower
to 24 mature plants if grow site is within city limits and in location zoned for residential use or 96 mature plants if grow
site is not in previously described area, so long as grow site was registered with OHA prior to January 1, 2015. Limits
grower to 12 mature plants if grow site is within city limits and in location zoned for residential use or 48 mature plants
if grow site is not in previously described area if grower registers grow site after December 31, 2014. Limits amount of
usable marijuana grower may possess to 12 pounds per outdoor plant or 6 pounds per indoor plant. Requires grower to
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reduce plant count if specific events occur. Establishes tracking system for growers, processors and dispensaries. Allows
Oregon Health Authority (OHA) to inspect only marijuana grow sites of persons designated to produce marijuana for
other cardholders. Allows cardholder to reimburse person responsible for grow site for all costs associated with
production of marijuana. Requires OHA to establish by rule public health and safety standards for processor of
cannabinoid edibles, concentrates and extracts. Allows OHA to provide information regarding grow site, processing site
or dispensary to law enforcement or regulatory agency of city or county. Prohibits OHA from providing specified
information. Requires OHA to provide information to law enforcement agencies if OHA suspends license, revokes
license or takes disciplinary action against grower, processor, or dispensary. Defines terms.

Allows local governments to enact reasonable regulations on grow sites, processing sites and dispensaries. Allows
dispensary to remain at current location if school is established within 1,000 feet of dispensary. Allows marijuana
processing facilities to be located in residential areas so long as processor does not process cannabinoid extracts.

Establishes March 1, 2016 as operative date for specified parts of measure. Declares emergency, effective on passage.

(-29 amendment) Modifies -10 amendment. Allows city and county governing body to adopt ordinances prohibiting
medical marijuana processors, dispensaries as well as recreational growers, processors, wholesalers or retailers so long
as that city or county had at least 55 percent of its electors vote against Measure 91. Provides exemptions from ordinance
for medical marijuana processors or retailers if certain conditions are met. Removes exemption if registration of medical
marijuana dispensary or processing site is revoked. Requires governing body to submit ordinance to electors for
approval. Requires city or county to notify OHA if ordinance is passed. Requires OHA to confirm growers, processors,
person responsible for marijuana dispensaries are 21 years of age and residents of Oregon for at least 2 years until
January 1, 2020. Reduces amount of time those convicted of Class A or B felony may not be designated as person
responsible for grow site, processing site or dispensary from five years to two.

(-30 amendment) Modifies -9 amendment. Clarifies that grower licensed by OLCC and registered with OHA may not
possess more plants than allowable by OHA regulations and use OLCC seed-to-sale tracking system. Clarifies powers of
OLCC when licensing medical marijuana growers. Requires OLCC to confirm growers, processors, wholesalers and
retailers are 21 years of age and residents of Oregon for at least 2 years until January 1, 2020. Clarifies canopy limits are
not applicable to premised licensed to propagate immature plants. Allows OLCC to establish merit-based criteria for
licensure or renewal of licensure. Allows cities and counties to pass reasonable regulation ordinances on grow sites,
processing sites, wholesale sites and retail sites. Increases amount of cannabinoid concentrates household can make,
process and store to 16 ounces. Increases amount of cannabinoid concentrates person can deliver to 16 ounces. Modifies
classification of specified marijuana crimes. Modifies size of Task Force on Cannabis Environmental Best Practices
from nine to 13 members. Modifies Task Force appointment process to allow Senate and House Minority Leaders to
appoint one member each. Removes provisions establishing Task Force on Local Control of Marijuana Production.

BACKGROUND: In 1998, Oregon voters approved Ballot Measure 67 to allow medical use of marijuana within
specified limits. The Oregon Medical Marijuana Program (OMMP) under the Oregon Health Authority (OHA)
administers the program regulating medical marijuana. The Oregon Medical Marijuana Act (OMMA) governs the
OMMP and has been frequently modified since its passage.

House Bill 3400 would require the OHA to create a database that would track the production, processing and transfer of
medical marijuana. House Bill 3400 also vests sole authority to tax or impose fees on either medical or recreational
marijuana with the Legislative Assembly. The measure would also limit the number of plants allowable under the
OMMA at an individual grow site to 12 within city limits zoned for residential use and 48 at all other sites.
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