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STATE SOL FOR SEXUAL OFFENSES (NON-MINOR VICTIM) CITATION1 DNA 
EXCEPTION

Alabama NONE  Ala. Code § 15-3-5 No 

Alaska NONE  Ak. Stat. § 12.10.010 No 

Arizona NONE Az. Rev. Stat. § 13-107 Yes 

Arkansas Six (6) years for Rape 

Three (3) years for Sexual Assault 

Ar. Code § 5-1-109 Yes 

California Ten (10) years Ca. Pen. Code §§ 799 – 803  Yes 

Colorado Ten (10) years Co. Rev. Stat. § 16-5-401 Yes 

Connecticut Five (5) years Ct. Gen. Stat. § 54-193 Yes 

Delaware NONE De. Code Ann. § 11-205 Yes 

District of 
Columbia 

Fifteen (15) years for 1st and 2nd Degree sexual offenses 

Ten (10) years for 3rd and 4th Degree sexual offenses 

D.C. Code § 23-113 No 

Florida2 NONE if reported within 72 hours 

Four (4) years if not reported within 72 hours 

Fl. Stat. § 775.15 Yes 

Georgia Fifteen (15) years Ga. Code § 17-3-1 Yes 

Hawaii Six (6) years for Class A offenses 

Three (3) years for other sexual offenses 

Haw. Rev. Stat. § 701-108 Yes 

Idaho NONE Id. Code § 19-401 No 

Illinois Ten (10) years if reported within three years 

Three (3) years if not reported within three years 

720 Il. Comp. Stat. 5/3-5 – 5/3-6  Yes 

Indiana3 NONE if class A Felony 

Five (5) years if Felony other than Class A 

In. Code § 35-41-4-2 Yes 

Iowa Ten (10) years Ia. Code § 802.2 Yes 

Kansas NONE for Rape 

Ten (10) years for other sexual offenses 

Ks. Stat. Ann. § 21-5107 Yes 

Kentucky NONE Ky. Rev. Stat. § 500.050 No 

Louisiana NONE for Forcible Rape 

Thirty (30) years for other sexual offenses 

La. Code Crim. P. Art. 571 – 572 Yes 

Maine Eight (8) years for Gross Sexual Assault 

Three (3) years for other sexual offenses 

Me. Rev. Stat. § 17-A-8 No 

                                                            
1 Citations provide references statutes or laws relating to limitation period; the citation does not necessarily 
include reference to DNA or other codified exceptions tolling state statute of limitations.  
2 Legislation pending to extend “other sexual offenses” from four (4) years to ten (10) years. 
3 Legislation pending to extend five (5) year SOL an additional five (5) years. 
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Maryland NONE Md. Code Ct. Jud. P. § 5-106 No 

Massachusetts  Fifteen (15) years for Rape 

Six (6) years for other sexual offenses 

Ma. Gen. Laws § 277-63 No 

Michigan NONE for 1st degree sexual offenses 

Ten (10) years for other sexual offenses 

Mi. Comp. Laws § 767.24 Yes 

Minnesota Three (3) years Mn. Stat. § 628.26 Yes 

Mississippi NONE Ms. Code Ann. § 99-1-5 No 

Missouri NONE Mo. Rev. Stat. § 556.036 No 

Montana Ten (10) years for Rape and Sexual Assault 

Five (5) years for other sexual offenses 

Mt. Code § 45-1-205 Yes 

Nebraska NONE for 1st and 2nd Degree offenses 

Three (3) years for other sexual offenses 

Ne. Rev. Stat. § 29-110 No 

Nevada NONE if written report made before SOL expires 

Four (4) years  

Nv. Rev. Stat. §§ 171.083 –.085  No 

New 
Hampshire 

Six (6) years Nh. Rev. Stat. § 625.8 No 

New Jersey NONE for Sexual Assault 

Five (5) years for other sexual offenses 

Nj. Stat. Ann. § 2C:1-6  Yes 

New Mexico NONE for 1st Degree Felonies 

 

Nm. Stat. Ann. § 30-1-8 Yes 

New York NONE for Rape 

Five (5) years for other sexual offenses 

Ny. Crim. Pro. Laws § 30.10 Yes 

North Carolina NONE N/A4  No 

North Dakota Seven (7) years for Gross Sexual Imposition Nd. Cent. Code § 29-04-02.1 No 

Ohio Twenty (20) years Oh. Rev. Code Ann. § 2901.13 Yes5 

Oklahoma Twelve (12) years  Ok. Stat. § 22-152 Yes 

Oregon6 Six (6) years Or. Rev. Stat. § 131.125 Yes 

Pennsylvania Twelve (12) years Pa. Cons. Stat. § 42-5552 Yes 

Rhode Island NONE for 1st Degree Sexual Assault 

Three (3) years for other sexual offenses 

Ri. Gen. Laws § 12-12-17 No 

                                                            
4 North Carolina has no statute addressing the limitations period for prosecution of felony crimes.  See State v. 
Hardin, 201 S.E.2d 74 (N.C. Ct. App. 1973) (“In this State no statute of limitations bars the prosecution of a 
felony.”); cf. Nc. Gen. Stat.  § 15-1 (setting forth statute of limitations for misdemeanors).   
5 Passed legislation in 2015 providing for DNA exception. 
6 Pending legislation: HB 2317. 
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South Carolina NONE N/A7 No 

South Dakota NONE for 1st and 2nd Degree sexual offenses 

Seven (7) years for 3rd and 4th Degree sexual offenses 

Sd. Cod. Laws §§ 23A-42-1 & 
22-22-1 

No 

Tennessee NONE Tn. Code Ann. § 42-2-101 No 

Texas Ten (10) years for Sexual Assault 

Three (3) years for other sexual offenses 

Tex. Code Crim. P. § 12.01 Yes 

Utah NONE Ut. Code Ann. §§ 76-1-301 – 302 Yes 

Vermont NONE for aggravated sexual assault 

Six (6) years for other sexual offenses 

Vt. Stat. Ann. § 13-4501 No 

Virginia NONE Va. Code Ann. § 19.2-8 No 

Washington Ten (10) years for Rape if reported within one year 

Three (3) years for Rape if not reported within one year 

Three (3) to Six (6) years for other sexual offenses 

Wa. Rev. Code § 9A.04.080 Yes 

West Virginia NONE Wv. Code § 61-11-9 No 

Wisconsin NONE for 1st Degree sexual offenses 

Six (6) years for other sexual offenses 

Wi. Stat. § 939.74 Yes 

Wyoming NONE N/A8  No 

 

                                                            
7 South Carolina has no statute addressing the limitations period for prosecution of felony crimes. 
8 Wyoming has no statute addressing the limitations period for prosecution of felony crimes.  Boggs v. State, 
484 P.2d 711 (Wy. 1971). 
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