78th OREGON LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY - 2015 Regular Session MEASURE: SB 278 A

PRELIMINARY sTaFF MEASURE SUMMARY CARRIER:
House Committee on Consumer Protection and Government Efficiency

REVENUE: No revenue impact
FISCAL.: No fiscal impact

SUBSEQUENT REFERRAL TO:
Action:
Vote:
Yeas:
Nays:
Exc.:
Prepared By: Patrick Brennan, Administrator
Meeting Dates: 5/5, 5/12, 5/19

WHAT THE MEASURE DOES: Voids payday loans, title loans and consumer finance loans of $50,000 or less if, at
the time the loan in question is made, the person making the loan was not licensed to issue the loan. Prohibits unlicensed
persons, or their successors, assignees or affiliates, from collecting, receiving or retaining principal, interest, fees, or
charges related to, or in connection with, payday loans, title loans or consumer finance loans of $50,000 or less.
Becomes operative 91 days after measure’s effective date; declares emergency, effective on passage.

ISSUES DISCUSSED:
o Changes in the payday loan industry
Difficult y for consumers in preventing collection methods of unlicensed lenders
Most unlicensed/illegal lending activity occurs online via offshore lenders
Whether measure would affect existing licensure requirements
Equity remedies
Typically involves loans of $500 or less
Whether measure should be retroactive

EFFECT OF COMMITTEE AMENDMENT:
[-A3 amendment] deletes provision making measure retroactive to loans originated before effective date of measure.

BACKGROUND: Since January 2010, there have been more than 250 complaints against unlicensed, online payday
lenders and consumer finance lenders, resulting in 24 enforcement orders. Most of these complaints and orders are in
relation to foreign or tribal-based entities that have issued loans with annual percentage rates (APRs) that exceed
Oregon’s 36-percent APR cap, as well as violating other short-term lending protection statutes. The Department of
Consumer and Business Services (DCBS) and the Oregon Department of Justice have pursued actions in some such
cases.

Online consumer lenders generally utilize automated clearinghouse authorizations to receive direct loan payments and
fees from consumers. Currently, violations by unlicensed consumer lenders do not automatically render the transaction
null and void; rather, the lender may demonstrate that they were unaware of the licensure requirement and may collect
on the loan if they obtain a license within 90 days of receiving a violation notice. The nine-percent default judgment rate
of interest found in statute may also apply while the lender obtains a license during that period. DCBS currently lacks
authority to void and to join into cooperative enforcements with other federal and state agencies.

Senate floor vote: 18-12

Ayes: Bates, Beyer, Burdick, Courtney, Dembrow, Devlin, Edwards, Gelser, Hass,
Monnes Anderson, Monroe, Prozanski, Riley, Roblan, Rosenbaum, Shields,
Steiner Hayward, Winters

Nays: Baertschiger, Boquist, Ferrioli, Girod, Hansell, Johnson, Knopp, Kruse, Olsen,
Thatcher, Thomsen, Whitsett

5/18/2015 1:45:00 PM *
This summary has not been adopted or officially endorsed by action of the committee.

Committee Services Form — 2015 Regular Session



This summary has not been adopted or officially endorsed by action of the committee.

Committee Services Form — 2010 Special Session



