
House Committee On Judiciary 
Chair, Vice-Chairs and Members 
Oregon State Capital 900 Court Street NE, Room 331 
Salem, Oregon 97301 
(503) 986-1750 
 
Re: Tuesday May 19, 2015 Public Hearing and Work Session SB 397 A – Proposal to Modify laws 
regarding ignition interlock devices. 
 
My name is Ric Walker, Judicial Services Liaison with Smart Start of Oregon, one of the Authorized and 
Approved Ignition Interlock Device Providers in the State of Oregon. I am writing to you today on behalf 
of Smart Start of Oregon and also as a Member of the Coalition of Ignition Interlock Manufacturers 
(CIIM).  As the Judicial Services Liaison with Smart Start of Oregon, a large part of my responsibilities is 
to share IID information with Judges, Alcohol & Drug Treatment Providers, Alcohol & Drug Evaluation 
Services Offices and Criminal Defense Attorneys. Additionally, I attend and sit in on DUII Diversion 
Hearing Courts on Pleas to Enter Diversion as well as Probation Violations in terms of Diversion 
Revocation. 
I attended the Senate Committee on Judiciary Public Hearings and Work Session. Even though the 
Committee did pass this measure on a 5-4 Vote, I feel strongly that this vote reflects the difficulty that 
members had with this bill. I was and I am still against SB 397, and I agree with the four Senate Judiciary 
Committee Members who voted against this bill. I am also urging the House Committee on Judiciary to 
vote “NO” on SB 397 A, and I here is why. 
SB 397 certainly appears to have good intentions, but care needs to be taken when there is an any 
attempt to modify a law that is not broken. In my many years attending DUII Diversion Hearings 
throughout many jurisdictions in the State of Oregon, I have not observed any Judge that has been 
concerned with the current 12 month requirement for an IID. Based upon the law, 12 months is not a 
considerable amount of time for driving under the influence. In a large majority of other States in the 
United States, 12 months requirement for an IID is standard acceptance. SB 397 A will weaken Oregon’s 
DUII laws instead of making it stronger. 
It has been indicated in the Preliminary Staff Measure Summary that SB 397 and its amendments are the 
product of the Ignition Interlock Device workgroup. There are a number of concepts included, all 
supposedly aimed at “streamlining the IID process for defendants, the court and the prosecution. Here is 
where the amendment falls dangerously short…the amendment attempts to “define “negative report” 
and would allow the Department of Transportation to further define “test violations” by rule.  
Please understand that each and every Ignition Interlock Device Provider defines test violations 
differently. There is no uniform language being utilized currently to define test violations. Additionally, 
the results of an IID User’s test results currently are available to a Monitoring Authority every 30 and/or 
60 days. Now, stay with me as I walk you through the reality of test results. Many of the ADES 
Monitoring Authorities may not even have an opportunity to review an IID User’s test results in a timely 
manner. As an example, in one southern Oregon ADES office, they do not even have an opportunity to 
review the IID User’s test results until the 11 month of the Diversion. Any test violations that have 
occurred at this point cannot be addressed properly. There are many ADES offices throughout Oregon 
that do not even look at the IID User reports and test results. SB 397 A over the current system would be 
disastrous to try and reward an IID User for six months of no violations. If ADES Offices are not 
monitoring IID User Reports now, what makes you think that they will be doing this with the passage of 
SB 397 A?  
My point is simple, any and all DUII / IID Legislation law changes needs to start with correcting the 
current system of Monitoring. In my written testimony against HB 2660, I offered to be part of the 



solution rather than part of the problem, by offering to be a part of an IID Task Force and or be included 
in an IID workgroup in the future. Again, I urge you to vote “NO on SB 397 A. The timing is completely 
wrong for this bill. Just ask the Oregon DMV about the costly fiscal impact there would be to implement 
SB 397 A. 
Sincerely, 
 
Ric Walker 
Smart Start of Oregon 
Judicial Services Liaison 
Email: ric@smartstartoforegon.com 
Tel: Office / Mobile – (503) 575-8298 
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