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Raising Oregon’s minimum wage to $15 per hour by 2018, a proposal currently before the 
legislature, would constitute great progress for Oregon working families.1  
 
Here are preliminary estimates of the impact of the proposed raise:2  
 
Number of workers helped: By 2018, about 589,000 workers would likely see their wages 
rise directly as a result of the increase.3 At the same time, another 114,000 workers earning 
above $15 would also likely see their wages increase indirectly as employers adjust overall pay 
ladders.  
 
Total wages gains: As a group, workers benefiting directly and indirectly4 from the increase 
would gain about $3.2 billion in additional wages during the three-year implementation period.  
 
Workers’ gains: The gains of particular workers due to raising the minimum wage to $15 per 
hour would depend, of course, on their current hourly wage and number of hours worked. At the 
high end of the range, Oregonians currently earning the minimum wage of $9.25 and working 
35 hours per week would gain $10,465 in yearly income, or $872 per month, assuming their 
work hours stay the same.5  
 
Families with children helped: About a third of all workers directly benefiting from the 
increase have children. Among all single-parent workers in the state, almost half (47 percent) 
would experience wage gains directly as a result of the minimum wage increase. 
 
Age of workers helped: Among workers directly affected by the increase, about 93 percent 
would be 20 years or older. About three-quarters (74 percent) would be 25 years of age or older. 
About two out of five (39 percent) would be 40 years of age or older. 
 
Gender of workers helped: Among workers directly affected by the increase, about 53 
percent would be women and 47 percent would be men. 
 
Full-time workers helped: About 61 percent of workers who would gain a raise would be 
full-time workers, defined as 35 hours or more worked per week. Another 30 percent of those 
helped would be workers working between 20 and 34 hours per week. 
 
College-educated helped: Among those directly affected by the increase, about 55 percent 
would have at least some college education. About 16 percent would have a college degree or 
higher. 
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Endnotes 
1 HB 2009 would raise Oregon’s minimum wage from the current $9.25 to $15 hour in three steps: $11.50 in 2016, 
$13.25 in 2017, and $15 in 2018. 

2 Unless otherwise noted, these estimates come from analysis by the Economic Policy Institute of Current Population 
Survey, Outgoing Rotation Group public use microdata, 2013Q4-2014Q3.      

3 Directly affected workers would see their wages rise because the new minimum wage rate would exceed their current 
hourly pay.  

4 Indirectly affected workers are those whose wages are not far above the proposed new minimum wage.  They would 
receive a raise as employer s adjust pay scales upward in response to the new minimum wage. 

5 OCPP analysis.  


