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Chair Prozanski and members of the Senate Judiciary Committee: My name is Robin Pope. | am an attorney
in private practice; my practice is iimited to adoption and related matters. Over the past 25+ years | have
represented birth parent, adoptive parents, adoption agencies, birth grandparents, and putative fathers. l am
currently a member of the Oregon Law Commission Adoption Records Work Group and em here to testify in

support of HB 2366.

My background includes: A Fellow since 1997 and current Board member of the American Academy of
Adoption Attorneys, a national association of attorneys who practice, or have otherwise distinguished
themselves, in the field of adoption law; longtime membership in the Oregon State Bar Family Law Section
Standing Committee an Adoption and several years as chair ofthat committee; many years of pro bono service
to Oregon citizens as a Pro Tem Judge in Clackamas County Circuit Court (famlly law matters) and
Washington County Circuit Court (small claims court); service on two prior Oregon Law Commission Work
Groups;and service on Oregon DHS Work Groups to review and revise Oregon Administrative Rules regarding
adoptions and adoption agencisgs.

| appreciate having the chance to appearin frontofyou to testify regarding my support for HB 2366 and request
that this statement be submitted for the record.

HB2366 is a law improvement and housekeeping bill. It has two parts.

Part one of HB 2366 simplifies and makes more efficient the process of paying for and obtaining a Court
Certificate of Adoption by increasing the filing fee for adoptions to $255.00 and including the Certificate of
Adoption fee in the filing fee. Currently the court filing fee for an adoption Petition is $252. When the adoption
is finalized, there is an additional $1.00 fee for the Court Certificate of Adoption issued pursuant to ORS
109.410. Attorneys and/or the adopting Petitioners often forget to pay this $1.00 fee and court staff time is used
to collect it. This is inefficient and costs the State money.

Increasing the adoption filing fee to include the cost of the Certificate of Adoption will save court staff time. It
will be easier for Attorneys and adoptive parants. W hile this may seem like a minorimprovement, itis one that
will help adoptions in Oregon proceed more smoothly and efficiently.

Part two of HB 2366 relates to fees charged for obtaining adoption records. SB 623 was passed by the 2013
Legislature and became law on January 1, 2014. We have now had more than a year's worth of experiences
with Oregon's open adoption records law and have found there is need for the amendmentto ORS 109.318 (5)

(d) as set forth in HB 2366.

This housekeeping amendment imposes a fee for a motion filed by the birth parent of an adult adoptee in
accordance with ORS 21.145, except that no fee may be charged or collected for such a motion where DHS
consented to the adoption. This amendment reflects the need to set a uniform fee for such motions, thus
providing ciarity to court staff and the requesting persons.

It also reflects the nead to not impose this fee on birth parents in an adoption where DHS consented to the
adoption. Experience has shown us that these birth parents typically lack financial resources and would thus
be prevented from accessing the adoption records to which they are entitled.

In canclusion, 1 ask for your support of HB2366. lts passage will provide needed law improvement for adoptions,
save court staff time, and provide clarity and guidance to Judges, court staff, attorneys, adopting parents, and
birth parents. Thank you for taking the time to consider my input on this important matter.

Sigcerely,

w & Fsfe

Robin Elizabeth Pope

Helping Bulld Famllies Through Adoption & Surrogacy

T: 503-352-3524 » 4500 S.W. Hall Blvd., Beaverton, Oregon 87005 « robin@robinpaps.com




