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78th OREGON LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY – 2015 Regular Session MEASURE:  SB 278 A  

PRELIMINARY STAFF MEASURE SUMMARY  CARRIER:  

House Committee on Consumer Protection and Government Efficiency  

 

REVENUE: No revenue impact 

FISCAL: No fiscal impact 

SUBSEQUENT REFERRAL TO:  

Action:   

Vote:   

 Yeas:  

 Nays:  

 Exc.:  
Prepared By: Patrick Brennan, Administrator 

Meeting Dates: 5/5 

 

WHAT THE MEASURE DOES:  Voids payday loans, title loans and consumer finance loans of $50,000 or less if, at 

the time the loan in question is made, the person making the loan was not licensed to issue the loan. Prohibits unlicensed 

persons, or their successors, assignees or affiliates, from collecting, receiving or retaining principal, interest, fees, or 

charges related to, or in connection with, payday loans, title loans or consumer finance loans of $50,000 or less. 

Becomes operative 91 days after measure’s effective date; declares emergency, effective on passage. 

 

 

ISSUES DISCUSSED:  
 

 

EFFECT OF COMMITTEE AMENDMENT:  No amendment. 

 

 

BACKGROUND:  Since January 2010, there have been more than 250 complaints against unlicensed, online payday 

lenders and consumer finance lenders, resulting in 24 enforcement orders. Most of these complaints and orders are in 

relation to foreign or tribal-based entities that have issued loans with annual percentage rates (APRs) that exceed 

Oregon’s 36-percent APR cap, as well as violating other short-term lending protection statutes. The Department of 

Consumer and Business Services (DCBS) and the Oregon Department of Justice have pursued actions in some such 

cases. 

 

Online consumer lenders generally utilize automated clearinghouse authorizations to receive direct loan payments and 

fees from consumers. Currently, violations by unlicensed consumer lenders do not automatically render the transaction 

null and void; rather, the lender may demonstrate that they were unaware of the licensure requirement and may collect 

on the loan if they obtain a license within 90 days of receiving a violation notice. The nine-percent default judgment rate 

of interest found in statute may also apply while the lender obtains a license during that period. DCBS currently lacks 

authority to void and to join into cooperative enforcements with other federal and state agencies. 

 

 

Senate floor vote: 18-12 

Ayes: Bates, Beyer, Burdick, Courtney, Dembrow, Devlin, Edwards, Gelser, Hass,  

 Monnes Anderson, Monroe, Prozanski, Riley, Roblan, Rosenbaum, Shields, 

 Steiner Hayward, Winters 

Nays: Baertschiger, Boquist, Ferrioli, Girod, Hansell, Johnson, Knopp, Kruse, Olsen, 

 Thatcher, Thomsen, Whitsett 

 


