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SB 286 modifies ORS 757.991 to increase maximum civil penalties for non-
compliance with gas regulations. On November 7, 2013, Commission Staff sent
letters to each of the 18 regulated natural gas operators, notifying them of our
intent to bring this proposed change to the legislature in 2015. In that letter, we
encouraged the operators to contact us with any objections or concerns. To
date, the Commission has not received any feedback.

While the Federal government is primarily responsible for developing, issuing,
and enforcing pipeline safety regulations, the pipeline safety statutes provide for
State assumption of the intrastate regulatory, inspection, and enforcement
responsibilities under an annual certification. To qualify for certification, a state
must adopt the minimum Federal regulations and may adopt additional or more
stringent regulations. A State must also provide for enforcement sanctions
substantially the same as those authorized by the pipeline safety statutes.
Oregon has been certified by the Federal government to enforce intrastate

natural gas pipeline safety regulations.

The maximum civil penalties allowed by Oregon statute do not align with Title 49
CFR part 190.223 “Maximum Penalties.” The US Department of Transportation’s
(USDOT) Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety Administration (PHMSA) has
informed the PUC that we are expected to adopt all Federal Regulations,
including maximum civil penalties as a condition of our grant funding. Currently,
Oregon Statutes allow $10,000 per event per day with a maximum of $500,000
for a related series of violations. The maximum penalties in Title 49 CFR part
190.223 are $200,000 and $2,000,000 respectively. This bill only changes the
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maximum allowable penalties. It does not include any requirement that we issue

penalties.

If the state does not adopt the Federal penalty levels, the most likely fiscal impact
would be in the range of $6,000 — 15,000/year depending on PHMSA'’s budget.

The worst case scenario would be for USDOT to revoke the state certification.

The more serious implication is the possible perception that the state doesn't
take pipeline safety seriously. Between the pipeline explosion in San Bruno
(2010), hazardous liquid pipeline leaks, and proposed large natural gas
transmission pipelines, Federal and State pipeline safety programs are being
criticized and scrutinized. In various forums, our Commissioners and Safety Staff
have been questioned about the rigor of our pipeline safety program because
issuing fines is not our first course of action. Others believe fines are the only
way to achieve compliance. We prefer to work with natural gas operators to
correct violations rather than issue penalties. Safety Staff have fined only one
operator over the last five years. The fine was part of a stipulated agreement
that included conditions to remediate the probable violations. That fine was
$40,000. Fines go directly to the PUC Funds, which is an Other Fund Account in

the General Fund.

The state’s penalty levels aligned with the Federal standards until 2005. In 2005,
USDOT increased the penalties to $100,000 per event per day with a maximum
of $1,000,000 for a related series of violations. The penalty levels requested in
this bill will bring the state in alignment with the USDOT’s latest increase that

went into effect in 2013.

Total annual Pipeline Safety Program costs have run an average of $600,000
over the last five years. USDOT grants have reimbursed approximately

50 percent of those costs.



