
 
 

 

To: Senate Committee on Judiciary, 2015 Oregon Legislature 

From:  Mark McKechnie, Executive Director, Youth, Rights & Justice 

Date: April 20-21, 2015 

Re: Support for SB 914 

Chair Prozanski and Members of the Committee: 

Youth, Rights & Justice (YRJ) was founded 40 years ago and has been dedicated to providing 

legal representation and advocacy to over 50,000 children and youth involved in the juvenile 

court system, including children in foster care and youth in the juvenile justice system. YRJ has 

also worked extensively with the Legislature, the Oregon Law Commission, various state 

agencies and other organizations to improve policies and services to the children of Oregon 

during that time. 

YRJ supports SB 914, which would allow judges to determine whether a youth offender is 

required to register as a sex offender based upon his or her individual risk to re-offend. 

Currently, Oregon’s automatic, lifetime registry has led to our state to require more youth to 

register per capita than most states in the country. 

Since sex offender registry laws first became established more than two decades ago, substantial 

research has been done on their effects and their effectiveness. The research on these laws as 

they apply to juveniles has not found any measurable benefit when it comes to the deterrence of 

first-time offenders or the prevention of future offenses by youth offenders.1 There are a number 

of reasons why juvenile registration simply fails to meet the stated purpose.  

Re-offense rates are very low. The rates of re-offense (measured by arrests, charges or 

convictions) for juvenile sex offenses are very low across the US, whether youth are required to 

register or not. The vast majority (88% - 98%, depending upon the study) of adjudicated youth 

do not re-offend. 

Most new offenses are not committed by someone who was previously adjudicated or 

convicted, and therefore not registered. A New York study over more than two decades found: 

“[A]pproximately 96% of offenders arrested for sexual offenses have no prior sexual offense 

convictions and, thus, would not have been on a sex offender registry at the time of the offense.”2 

                                                           
1 Affidavit of Elizabeth J. Letourneau, Ph.D., Moore Center for the Prevention of Child Sexual Abuse, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg 

School of Public Health, Submitted to the Oregon House and Senate Judiciary Committees at the public hearing on September 
18, 2013. https://olis.leg.state.or.us/liz/2013I1/Downloads/CommitteeMeetingDocument/30407 
2 Sandler, et. al. (2008), based upon “21 years (252 months) of New York State monthly arrest counts for several types of 
offending.” 

https://olis.leg.state.or.us/liz/2013I1/Downloads/CommitteeMeetingDocument/30407


Sadly, children are more likely to be abused by someone they know and trust, making public 

registration irrelevant to preventing these crimes. “93% of child sexual abuse victims knew their 

abuser (34.3% were family members and 58.7% were acquaintances).”3 

Juvenile Registration has no clear benefit, yet the costs to the state, to families and to youth 

offenders are immense. Because they fail to prevent new offenses, juvenile registry laws waste 

public resources: 

1. The most common criminal charge against a registered person is the failure to register as 

required, yet failing to register is has not been shown to indicate an increased risk of re-

offending.  Failure to register is a Class C felony in Oregon. 

2. Registered individuals are targeted for surveillance by law enforcement, resulting in a 

higher number of arrests and charges, primarily for minor, non-sexual offenses. 

3. Oregon State Police struggle to maintain updated registry information on 25,000+ 

individuals, and the numbers continue to increase each year. (In 2014, OSP reported a 

backlog of unprocessed registrations, including 1,200 new and 13,000 annual 

registrations.) 
 

The greatest cost is to the registered individual and his or her family: 

1. Youth required to register are legally barred from any publicly subsidized housing and 

face tremendous difficulties obtaining other housing.  Registrants are commonly denied 

when they attempt to rent housing or may be evicted when a landlord discovers the 

individual’s registry status. 

2. Registrants face tremendous difficulties obtaining employment, which means they are at 

high risk for poverty and homelessness. 

3. Registrants face suspicion, harassment and violence from other members of the public.  

This also means that family members, including a victim, may encounter harassment and 

violence, as well. 

4. Many registrants will eventually have children of their own.  The limitations imposed on 

registrants affect the whole family and may prevent the registered parent from visiting his 

or her child’s school, sporting events or other activities, even decades after the parent 

committed an offense. (As of Nov. 2010, only 13% -- 366 out of 2,780 --  of juveniles 

required to register had ever successfully obtained relief in Oregon.) 

 

The indiscriminate registration of youth offenders has made Oregon’s registry overcrowded and 

rendered it ineffective. The negative effects on victims, families and the offenders themselves 

greatly outweighs any possible benefit of Oregon’s automatic, lifetime registry for juveniles. 

Youth, Rights & Justice urges your support for SB 914. 

                                                           
3 Sandler, et. al. (2008). 


