## **REVENUE:** No revenue impact FISCAL: No fiscal impact SUBSEQUENT REFERRAL TO:

SUBSEQUENT REFT	ERRAL 10.
Action:	
Vote:	
Yeas:	
Nays:	
Exc.:	
Prepared By:	Erin Seiler, Administrator
Meeting Dates:	4/14

**WHAT THE MEASURE DOES:** Commends Oregon State University Beavers wrestling team on their exemplary intercollegiate athletic achievements.

## **ISSUES DISCUSSED:**

## **EFFECT OF COMMITTEE AMENDMENT:**

**BACKGROUND:** For nearly a century, the Oregon State University (OSU) wrestling team has been an excellent example of good character, sportsmanship and success; earning numerous honors and producing multiple national champions.

Winning its first dual meet in 1909, the OSU Beavers wrestling team has gone on to become a national powerhouse for more than 95 seasons, with the team concluding its 2014 season with a 43-6 victory over the Southern Oregon University Raiders wrestling team. Its victory on November 13, 2014 made the OSU Beavers wrestling team just the third team in National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) history and the only program in the western United States to achieve 1,000 dual meet victories.

During its history, the OSU Beavers wrestling team has won 50 conference championships, produced 89 All-Americans, 12 individual national champions, 18 OSU Athletic Hall of Fame inductees, six Oregon Sports Hall of Fame inductees, eight Olympians—including Robin Reed and Chester "Chet" Newton, who claimed the gold and silver medals, respectively, in the 1924 Olympic Games—and is associated with five members of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame. OSU wrestling teams have been led been by a series of exemplary coaches including legendary coach Dale O. Thomas, who holds the NCAA record for most dual meet wins in a coaching career with 616.

Senate Concurrent Resolution 13 commend the exemplary intercollegiate athletic achievements, including the 1,000 dual meet wins, of the OSU Beavers wrestling team, currently coached by Jim Zalesky.