Executive Appointments Legislative Review Compiled by Oregon Legislative Committee Services

OFFICE: Patient Safety Commission Board of Directors, Oregon

APPOINTEE: Amy Heinlen of Beaverton; New appointment replacing Lovell

APPOINTMENT/CONFIRMATION AUTHORITY: ORS 442.830

TERM: Partial four -year term: March 5, 2015– September 30, 2018

ECONOMIC INTEREST FILING (ORS 244.050): Not required.

STATUTORY QUALIFICATIONS: ORS 442.830

Affirmative action policy: See ORS 182.100. Diversity criteria: See ORS 236.115.

- 17 members: Public Health Officer and 16 directors appointed by the Governor
 - o Public Health Officer (HIGGINSON, by position)
 - One faculty member of the Oregon University System or a private Oregon university, who is not involved in the direct delivery of health care (RISSI)
 - Two representatives of group purchasers of health care (EVANS, **HEINLEN**)
 - One employed by a state or governmental entity
 - Neither of whom may provide direct health care services or have an immediate family member involved in the delivery of health care
 - Two representatives of health care consumers (DeMONNIN, PRICE), neither of whom may
 provide direct health care services or have an immediate family member who is involved in the
 delivery of health care.
 - o Two representatives of health insurers including (FARRIS, MERA)
 - a representative of a domestic not-for-profit health care service contractor
 - a representative of a domestic insurance company licensed to transact health insurance; or
 - a representative of a health maintenance organization
 - One representative of a statewide or national labor organization (TOBIAS-WHITE)
 - o Two active physicians licensed under ORS chapter 677 (LINDSEY, MULLER)
 - o Two hospital administrators or their designees (GRUBER, THOMPSON)
 - o One pharmacist licensed under ORS chapter 689 (OBER)
 - o One representative of ambulatory surgical center or outpatient renal dialysis facility (NORLING)
 - o One nurse licensed under ORS chapter 678 who is in active clinical practice (AGUAS)
 - o One nursing home administrator or nursing home director of nursing services (BIGGS)
- Directors shall demonstrate interest, knowledge or experience in the area of patient safety
- Board nominates a slate of candidates for vacancies; maximum service is two terms

DUTIES AND AUTHORITY: ORS 442.820, ORS 442.831 –ORS 442.846

- Improve patient safety by reducing the risk of serious adverse events occurring in Oregon's health care system and by encouraging a culture of patient safety by:
 - o Establishing a confidential, voluntary serious adverse event reporting system
 - Establishing quality improvement techniques to reduce systems' errors contributing to serious adverse events; and
 - Disseminating evidence-based prevention practices to improve patient outcomes
- Administer the Oregon Patient Safety Reporting Program by adopting rules, assessing fees on participating entities, and reporting to the Legislative Assembly
- Board may appoint subcommittees and advisory groups to assist the board, including but not limited to one or more consumer advisory groups and technical advisory groups

Revised February 11, 2015 Erin Seiler

Executive Appointments Board Roster

Patient Safety Commission Board of Directors, Oregon

Agency: None

Authorization: ORS 442.830

Members: Min: 17 Max: 17

Term Length: 4 years Limit: 2

Senate confirmation required? Yes

Policy Area: Health

Board Contact:Bethany Walmsley

Oregon Patient Safety Commission

PO Box 285

Portland, OR 97207-0285

503-224-9226

bethany.walmsley@oregonpatientsafety.or

Current Appointments:

Member Name and Address (Alphabetical)

Marita E Aguas

Nurse Position Number: 15

Term(s): 07-02-2011 - 07-01-2015 03-01-2010 - 07-01-2011

Beth M Biggs

Nursing Home Administrator Position Number: 16

Term(s): 07-02-2014 - 07-01-2018 07-02-2010 - 07-01-2014 03-01-2010 - 07-01-2010

Gayle M Evans, SPHR

Private Purchaser Position Number: 2

Term(s): 03-01-2014 - 09-30-2017

Linda M Farris

Insurer Position Number: 6

Term(s): 10-01-2012 - 09-30-2016

Norman F Gruber

Hospital Administrator Position Number: 12

Term(s): 07-02-2011 - 07-01-2015

03-01-2009 - 07-01-2011

Amy C Heinlen

Public Purchaser Position Number: 3

Term(s): 03-05-2015 - 02-28-2019

Ken Lindsey

Physician Position Number: 10

Term(s): 12-12-2014 - 07-01-2017

Csaba L Mera

Insurer Position Number: 7

Term(s): 04-01-2013 - 07-01-2015

Printed Date: 2/10/2015 Page 1 of 2

Executive Appointments Board Roster

Policy Area: Health

Patient Safety Commission Board of Directors, Oregon

Member Name and Address (Alphabetical)

Melinda J Muller

Physician Position Number: 9

Term(s): 12-01-2011 - 09-30-2015

Kecia A Norling

Ambulatory Surgical Center Position Number: 14

Term(s): 07-02-2013 - 07-01-2017

Maureen L Ober

Pharmacist Position Number: 13

Term(s): 10-01-2014 - 09-30-2018

05-01-2013 - 09-30-2014

Naomi K Price

Consumer Position Number: 4

Term(s): 10-01-2012 - 09-30-2016

07-01-2009 - 09-30-2012

Jill J Rissi, PhD

Faculty Position Number: 1

Term(s): 10-01-2014 - 09-30-2018

10-01-2010 - 09-30-2014

Dana S Selover

Public Health Officer; By Position Position Number: 17

Term(s):

Bonnie M Thompson

RN, MSN, MBA Position Number: 11

Term(s): 10-01-2014 - 09-30-2018

04-01-2013 - 09-30-2014

Natasha P Tobias-White

Labor Position Number: 8

Term(s): 12-01-2011 - 09-30-2015

Vacant Apppoinments:

Pos	Member	Appointed By	Term Begin	Term End
5	Joyce L DeMonnin	Governor	10/01/2009	09/30/2013
	Consumer			
5	Joyce L DeMonnin	Governor	04/10/2006	09/30/2009
	Consumer			
5	Deandra K Vallier	Governor	02/01/2004	07/01/2005
	Consumer			

Printed Date: 2/10/2015 Page 2 of 2