March 8, 2015

Governor Kate Brown Oregon State Capitol Salem, Oregon 97301

Senate President Peter Courtney Oregon State Capitol Salem, Oregon 97301

Speaker Tina Kotek Oregon State Capitol Salem, Oregon 97301

Dear Governor Brown, President Courtney and Speaker Kotek:

We, the members of the Statuary Hall Study Commission, created by Executive Order #14-11, have completed our work and, through this letter, submit our final report and recommendation.

As the Statuary Hall Study Commission was charged with studying and recommending to the 2015 Legislature whether to replace one of Oregon's statues in the National Statuary Hall Collection of the United States Capitol, and, if a replacement is recommended, which Oregonian should be newly memorialized in the National Statuary Hall Collection.

In the process of fulfilling this charge, the Commission held public meetings and received input from thousands of Oregonians through a website hosted by the Oregon Historical Society. The Commission thanks all Oregonians who participated in the process, and we thank you for entrusting us with this important, challenging, and fascinating responsibility.

In our interim report, provided to you on December 16, 2014, we shared with you the fact that the Commission had unanimously voted to recommend that the statues of both Dr. John McLoughlin and Jason Lee be brought home from National Statuary Hall to places of honor in Oregon. This recommendation in no way diminishes the important and influential role these two individuals played in the path that led to Oregon's statehood. Rather, it was the Commission's belief that in the more than a century and a half that has occurred since McLoughlin's and Lee's passing, much more Oregon history has been written, and that it was time to send statues of two equally worthy individuals who represent a different chapter in Oregon's history.

After receiving suggestions from a variety of scholars and Oregon historians, the Commission first narrowed the list of possible replacements to ten individuals, and then, with the help of public input, we further narrowed the list to four very worthy "finalists:" Chief Joseph (Heinmot Tooyalakekt), Abigail Scott Duniway, Tom McCall and Mark Hatfield.

At our final meeting on March 4, 2015, the Commission voted to make the following recommendations:

- 1. That a statue memorializing Chief Joseph be installed in National Statuary Hall in place of the statue of Jason Lee, which will be brought home to a suitable place of honor in Oregon.
- 2. That a statue memorializing Abigail Scott Duniway be installed in National Statuary Hall in place of the statue of John McLoughlin, which will be brought home to a suitable place of honor in Oregon.

It was the Commission's belief that Chief Joseph who was Oregon's and one of America's leading advocates for the rights of Native Americans, and Abigail Scott Duniway, who was Oregon's and one of America's leading advocates for equal rights for women, would best tell the "chapter" of Oregon's history that occurred from statehood in 1859 through the early part of the 20th century.

With the understanding that it was not part of our original charge, and that this Legislature can not bind future legislatures, the Commission also voted unanimously to make the following recommendation:

3. The process of studying and recommending representatives to be memorialized in National Statuary Hall is one that should be undertaken every generation. The Commission strongly encourages any future commission to consider Tom McCall and Mark Hatfield as individuals who best represent the chapter of Oregon's history that encompasses the 20th century.

Finally, this Commission was also charged by Executive Order #14-11 with recommending a suitable place of honor for any statues returning to Oregon. Given the fact that should our above recommendations #1 and #2 be enacted into law, then the process of fundraising and creation of statues is one that is likely to take more than a year, the Commission made the following recommendation:

4. In the event that our recommendations of memorializing Chief Joseph and Abigail Scott Duniway are enacted into law, then legislation should be adopted giving the Oregon Heritage Commission the authority to accept applications from venues in Oregon seeking to provide a place of honor for the statues of Dr. John McLoughlin and Jason Lee, and that the Commission also has the authority to make the final selection of the appropriate venues.

Again, thank you for entrusting us with this responsibility. The Commission also wishes to express its thanks to the Oregon Historical Society for providing the Commission with staff assistance and research material.

Sincerely,

Jerry Hudson, Chair Darlene Hooley, Vice Chair Margaret Carter Gale Castillo Bobbie Conner Elizabeth Furse Brigitte McConville Patsy Smullin Robert Taylor