Seventy-Eighth Oregon Legislative Assembly - 2015 Regular Session PRELIMINARY STAFF MEASURE SUMMARY

MEASURE: HB 2485

Senate Committee On Finance and Revenue

Fiscal: No Fiscal Impact Has minimal revenue impact **Revenue:** Action Date: Action: Meeting Dates: 03/26 Prepared By: Kyle Easton, Economist

WHAT THE MEASURE DOES:

Clarifies that refund made for correction in property taxes owed resulting from appeal is made to individual who filed the appeal. Aligns time limitation for property tax refunds with time limitation for roll corrections (five years). Authorizes refund due to proration of taxes for destroyed or damaged property and clarifies refund is made to applicant of the proration. Extends certain property tax rules currently applicable to manufactured structures to floating homes. Increases threshold for cancelling delinquent property taxes from five to ten dollars, aligning with current threshold for refunds.

ISSUES DISCUSSED:

No substantive change to tax of floating homes

EFFECT OF COMMITTEE AMENDMENT:

-3 Modifies chapter _____, Oregon Laws 2015 (Enrolled Senate Bill 611).

Modifies capacity requirement language of capital investment exemption. Requires qualifying project infrastructure to enable the company to offer communication services, including the capacity to provide, at least, approximately one gigabit per second symmetrical service, to a majority of the residential customers of the company's broadband services.

Modifies exemption time period. Exemption granted to be the period during which an owner maintains and operates the qualified project.

BACKGROUND:

House Bill 2485 is a housekeeping bill relating to tax collection. The changes in the bill are described by category below.

Changes refund statutes so refunds are directed to individual that paid the tax, which may not be the current owner of the property as refunds are currently directed.

Bill directs property tax refunds resulting from destroyed or damaged property proration to be refunded to the person who requested the proration. Bill applies existing minimum refund law provision to refunds resulting from destroyed or damaged property proration. Amounts less than \$10 are not required to be refunded.

Bill aligns timing of refunds with tax change time period of five years. Under current law, certain corrections to tax records can be made on accounts for five years, however timing of refund may not allow for refund to be issued

going back the full five years. This can lead to instances where a refund is determined to be due, but the refund cannot be processed because the timelines are not the same.

Bill allows tax collector to provide mortgagee of a floating home a copy of property tax statement require to be mailed to taxpayer. Treats refunds of property taxes relating to floating homes the same as manufactured structures.

Bill gives county governing body ability to cancel delinquent real and personal property taxes \$10 or less. This aligns minimum to collect amount, currently \$5, with \$10 minimum to refund amount.