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78th OREGON LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY – 2015 Regular Session MEASURE:  SB 553   

PRELIMINARY STAFF MEASURE SUMMARY  CARRIER:  

Senate Committee on Education  

 

REVENUE: May have revenue impact, statement not yet issued 

FISCAL: May have fiscal impact, statement not yet issued 

Action:   

Vote:   

 Yeas:  

 Nays:  

 Exc.:  
Prepared By: Gretchen Engbring, Administrator 

Meeting Dates: 3/10, 3/26 

 

WHAT THE MEASURE DOES:  Limits instances under which students under 12 may be suspended or expelled. 

Requires convening team of school employees to ensure and plan for student’s return to classroom. Considers student as 

removed from classroom for half day if student is out of school for under three hours, and full day if student is out for 

three or more hours. Declares emergency, effective July 1, 2015. 

 

 

ISSUES DISCUSSED:  

 History and frequency of exclusionary discipline in Oregon 

 Disproportionate impacts of exclusionary discipline on minorities, students with disabilities, and economically 

disadvantaged students 

 Negative impact of exclusionary discipline on graduation rates 

 Effects of exclusionary discipline on students remaining in the classroom  

 Challenges of out-of-school expulsion for parents  

 

 

EFFECT OF COMMITTEE AMENDMENT:  
-3 amendments (proposed) require consideration of student age and behavior patterns prior to imposing suspension or 

expulsion. Specify circumstances under which suspension or expulsion may be allowed for student in fifth grade or 

lower. Require school district take steps to prevent recurrence of behavior that led to out-of-school suspension. Modify 

calculations for number of school days student is considered removed from classroom.  

 

 

BACKGROUND: Currently, ORS 339.250 allows suspension or expulsion for students of all ages, but requires that the 

age of a student be considered prior to imposing their suspension or expulsion. Findings from six Oregon school districts 

in 2011-2012 indicated that approximately 6.4 percent of students were suspended or expelled from school, and that 

nearly 40 percent of students who were suspended received more than one suspension. 

 

Senate Bill 553 prohibits the expulsion or suspension of students under 12 unless the student has intentionally inflicted 

or threatened physical injury upon a student or school employee or unless it is required by law. The bill additionally 

requires a team of school employees to convene as soon as practicable to facilitate the return of a student under 12, and 

specifies that a student be considered removed from the classroom for a half day if the student is out of school for under 

three hours, and for a full day if the student is out for three hours or more. 

 

Legislation restricting suspensions and expulsions has been introduced and enacted in other states. In California, AB 420 

(2014) eliminated the authority to suspend a pupil enrolled in kindergarten up to grade three, and the 

authority to recommend for expulsion for students enrolled in kindergarten through grade 12, for disrupting 

school activities or defying the authority of school personnel. 


