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1. How many plates by type does Oregon have, what are the terms and 

conditions for creating new  plates and what is the revenue from the 
sale of plates? 
 

a. Specialty and group plate sales (Attachment 1a) 
b. Terms and conditions file (Attachment 1b) 

 

  



                                                       Attachment 1a

Group\Specialty Plate Name Net Transfer
Group Plates
Group Plates - E.Q.I.F. 8,825.99
Veterans of Vietnam 118,424.27
US Merchant Marine Veterans 3,125.10
Oregon Paralyzed Veterans 639.91
First Marine Division Assoc 16,456.69
Oregon Chapter-The Chosin Few 3,142.57
Veterans for Human Rights 1,423.72
Oregon Donor Program 21,889.33
George Fox College Fund 2,964.43
Korean War Veteran Association 34,460.44
Oregon State Elks Association 9,327.57
Non-Commissioned Officers Assoc 1,977.65
Square & Round Dancers 10,431.42
Oregon Vets Home 487,104.31
Military Dept. Order of Purple Heart 59,648.51
Hillsboro Firefighters 76,089.96
University of Oregon 518,173.82
Oregon State University 988,782.04
Portland State University 15,981.08
Oregon Voln Firefighters 34,997.63
Oregon Lions Sight & Hearing 4,286.31
Oregon Ag Educ Foundation 12,561.65
Western Oregon University 10,144.28
University of Portland 17,422.42
Linfield College 24,394.03
Pacific University 5,049.25
Willamette University 26,846.70
Oregon Masonic Charitable Found. 11,341.42
Oregon State Grange 1,749.57
Eastern Oregon University 8,599.69
Support Our Troops 10,217.47
Share the Road 183,205.05
Fallen Public Safety Officer 109,228.30
Keep Kids Safe 24,861.00
Sub-total Group Plates 2,863,773.58

Group\Specialty Plate Statistics                                

Inception to 
Date - FY14



Specialty Plates
Salmon
Salmon to Water Resources 4,745,142.02
Salmon to Parks 4,745,142.06
Total Salmon 9,490,284.08

Crater Lake 4,733,518.20

Cultural Trust 3,390,944.35

Oregon Trail

Pacific Wonderland
Pacific Wonderland to OR Capital Foundation 1,177,355.46
Pacific Wonderland to OR Historical Society 1,177,355.48
Total Pacific Wonderland 2,354,710.94

Wine Country 396,372.75

Sub-total Specialty Plates 20,365,830.32

Grand Total 23,229,603.90



Differences Between Fundraising License Plate Programs 
                                                           Attachment 1b 

 
Specialty Plates Group Plates 

Initiated with legislation. Initiated by application to DMV. 

No restriction on what type of organization or 
cause; up to the Legislature. 

Only for veterans designation, colleges and 
universities, or 501(c)(3) nonprofits. 

Unique background Tree background with logo (colleges)  

Tree background with name (nonprofits) 

White background with logo (veterans) 

Unique background or nonprofit with logo 
requires legislation (Share the Road, Keep Kids 
Safe, Fallen Officer) 

Limited to five at a time. Will be four when 
Pacific Wonderland sells out all 40,000 sets. 

No limit on the number of group plate types 

Startup costs are approximately $89,000. 

Not eligible for Highway funds. 

Must be paid for by the organization before 
DMV may begin work. 

Startup costs are approximately $46,000. 
  (Includes $10,000 application fee) 

Not eligible for Highway Funds. 

Must be paid for by organization before DMV 
may begin work. 

No sales minimums Must sell 1,000 sets in first year to be refunded 
the $10,000 application fee. 

Must sell or renew 500 sets every year or the 
plate will be discontinued. 

Plate can be issued immediately in DMV field 
offices and in some vehicle dealerships.* 

Plate mailed from DMV Headquarters. 

Displayed in DMV field offices. Generally not displayed in DMV field offices. 

Available with custom (vanity) configuration. Not available with custom configuration. 

Controlling laws: 

ORS 805.202; 805.255; 805.266; 805.260; 
805.261; 805.263; 805.264; 805.266; 805.268; 
805.272; 805.274 

2009 Or Laws Ch 823 §1-5 

Controlling laws: 

ORS 805.205; 805.206 

OAR: 735-040-0040 through -0100 

 

*Pacific Wonderland not issued at dealerships and not available with custom configuration. 

Updated January 23, 2015 
 



2. I f a person had two Drivers Licenses could they vote tw ice? 
 

(a) Not legally. 

(b) Whether they could be done as a practical matter (albeit, illegally), that’s a 
question for the Secretary of State. Registration does not equal voting. 

(c) It would be extremely difficult for a person to have two driver licenses – whether 
two in Oregon, or one in Oregon and one somewhere else. Within Oregon, Facial 
Recognition catches people who have had more than one identity in DMV records 
over the years. We’re about 18 months  away from everyone making it through the 
8-year renewal cycle (since facial recognition was implemented) and being captured. 
Between Oregon and another state, applicants are checked against a national 
system that indicates if a person has a driver license in another state as well as 
whether they have a suspension in another state.  If it shows you’ve already got a 
license elsewhere, we issue the Oregon license and send a report to the other state 
(other states send the same report to us) so former state’s record is changed to 
indicate their license is  no longer valid. 
 

3. How many DMV records are sold? What are the fees? Who can 
purchase the records? What are the fees? 

a. Document on DMV privacy (Attachment 3a) 
b. Legal Authority to sell records (Attachment 3b) 

DMV charges $2.00 for the record per statute. The fair market value for the cost of 
the license is $4.63 and NIC USA adds a $3.00 fee onto that for a total of $9.63 per 
record. DAS/NIC consider $7.63 of that cost the convenience fee portion. 

The disseminators can sell to any of the 19 legislatively approved entities; however, 
they generally only sell to insurance companies, employers such as trucking 
companies and companies that do background checks on potential applicants. State 
and federal agencies wouldn't go through a disseminator nor would law 
enforcement. Purchasers of the records cannot get an address list from a 
disseminator who only has access to DMV records. Disseminators do not sell OR 
DMV's customer addresses. First, it is not permissible and DMV would revoke their 
access, second it is too expensive and there are lower cost options out there. 
 
In 2014 a total of 1,121,505 records were provided via the web portal, or an 
average of 93,459 per month. There are 8 disseminators that access the information 
via the portal.  
 



Attachment 3a 
 DMV Record Privacy Law Overview 

 
Oregon's Record Privacy Law (ORS 802.175-802.191) went into effect on September 
13th, 1997 and protects personal information contained in DMV records.  
Personal information is: Name; Address; Driver License, Identification Card or Permit 
Number; Telephone Number. Note: DMV does not normally capture telephone number.  
 
There are nineteen entities allowed to obtain personal information.  Entities must 
provide proof of identity as well as certify that the personal information obtained will only 
be used for specific purposes defined in the Privacy Law.  
 
 

Driver and Vehicle Mailing Lists 
 
On May 30, 2001 HB2138 became law, which ended the sale of mailing lists for bulk 
advertising purposes. Before HB2138 became law DMV was required to provide the 
lists containing the names and addresses of anyone that had not “opted-out”. Opting-out 
meant that Oregon citizens had to notify DMV to remove their name and address from 
such lists.  With the passage of HB 2138 all citizens were automatically “opted-out” and 
now must ask DMV to have their name and address placed on such a list.  Since the 
law was amended in 2001 no citizen has asked to appear on such a list and no lists 
have been sold by DMV for bulk advertising purposes. However, lists sold prior to the 
law change are still in circulation. Also, government agencies and procurement 
organizations (organ donation) sometimes send surveys or solicitations to customers as 
part of their governmental functions. They are qualifying under a different section of the 
law than bulk advertisers.  
 

Confidential Information 
 
Certain information contained in DMV motor vehicle records is confidential and 
generally not released. This information includes: 
   
• Social Security Numbers: Only released to qualified government agencies.  

 
• Mother's Maiden Name and Place of Birth: Used internally by DMV for verifying 

the identity of customers and generally not released.  
 
• Photographs: Only available to law enforcement officials. (ORS 807.115) 
 
• Medical Information: This information is generally not released.  
  
• Drug Test Results: Only released with the permission of the person.  
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19 Entities Allowed To Access Personal Information From DMV 
 
1.  Government Agencies in order to carry out their governmental functions. (This  
     sometimes includes sending letters or surveys to individuals)  
 
2.  Motor Vehicle Manufacturers for recalls and safety advisories. 
 
3.  Legitimate Businesses such as automobile dealerships, construction companies,  
     property management companies and delivery services to verify or correct personal  
     information they have on file.  
 
4.  Attorneys, Financial Institutions, and Collection Agencies for legal proceedings or to  

collect debts. Note: Attorneys sometimes send solicitations to individuals offering their legal 
services.  

 
5.  Process Servers in order to serve process.  
   
6.  Researchers for research purposes but names are not provided and any personal  
     information cannot be published in research results.  
 
7.  Insurers or Insurance Support Organizations for claims investigations, underwriting,  
     or rating.  
 
8.  Tow Companies and persons required to give legal notice involving a vehicle.  
 
9.  Private Security Professionals to check on vehicles parked in parking lots over which  
     they have control.  
 
10. Toll Booths to collect tolls.  
 
11. Bulk Distributors of surveys, solicitations and marketing materials if a citizen  
      has requested to appear on such a list, but none have since 2001.  
 
12.  A person with a notarized permission slip from another person. 
 
13.  Disseminators (businesses that disseminate/sell information to others, primarily the  
       insurance industry). 
 
14.  News Media for matters of public safety or related to motor vehicles.  
 
15.  Persons involved in a motor vehicle accident, their family or representative. 
 
16.  Persons with a financial interest in a motor vehicle. 
 
17.  Persons injured or with property damage due to the unsafe operation of a   
       motor vehicle. 
 
18.  Private Investigators licensed in Oregon whose clients are other qualified entities  
       such as attorneys, insurance companies, or collection agencies. 
 
19.  Procurement Organizations including Pacific Northwest Transplant Bank in  
       facilitating the making of anatomical gifts. (This includes sending mailers asking  
       people to become organ donors.)  
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DMV Authority to Sell and Set Record Fees 
Attachment 3b 

182.132 Ability to offer government services through portal; convenience fee. (1) The Oregon Department 
of Administrative Services, with the advice of the Electronic Government Portal Advisory Board, shall provide 
the ability for state agencies to offer government services by means of an electronic government portal. The 
electronic government portal must be secure and must meet usability standards developed in cooperation with 
the advisory board. 

(2) For the purposes of subsection (1) of this section, the department under the provisions of the Public 
Contracting Code may contract with an electronic government portal provider. 

(3)(a) The department may charge members of the public a convenience fee or may authorize an electronic 
government portal provider to charge a convenience fee for an electronic government service if the advisory 
board recommends that the department charge or authorize a convenience fee for the electronic government 
service. The convenience fee must reflect the costs incurred in hosting, operating, maintaining or implementing 
the electronic government portal. 

(b) The department shall cooperate with the advisory board to identify the electronic government portals or 
governmental services to which the convenience fee applies. 

(4) The department may adopt rules to implement the provisions of this section. 

(5) Not later than the beginning of each odd-numbered year regular legislative session, the department shall 
prepare and submit to the Legislative Assembly a report in the manner provided in ORS 192.245 that 
summarizes the department’s activities under the provisions of this section.  

 
802.230 Fees for records. (1) The fee for furnishing information concerning vehicle registration records under 
ORS 802.220 is a reasonable fee established by the Department of Transportation. 

(2) The fee for furnishing information concerning driver licenses or driver permits under ORS 802.220 is a 
reasonable fee established by the department. 

(3) The fee for an abstract of driving record under ORS 802.220 is a reasonable fee established by the 
department. 

(4) The fee for furnishing information concerning trip permit records under ORS 802.220 is a reasonable fee 
established by the department. 

(5) The fee for separate records on vehicle odometer readings under ORS 802.220 is a reasonable fee 
established by the department. 

 
DMV’s fee rules: 
http://arcweb.sos.state.or.us/pages/rules/oars_700/oar_735/735_010.html 
 

http://arcweb.sos.state.or.us/pages/rules/oars_700/oar_735/735_010.html


4. Number of transactions for DMV vs. Cover Oregon 
 
2014 volumes by method of interaction with DMV 
• Field Office visits (customers served in 2014) - 1,912,988 
• Phone Calls from customers - 1,559,583 
• Mail In Transactions to Vehicle Mail - 446,265 (this is titles, titles with 

registration, renewals and miscellaneous registration transactions) 
• Internet Renewals - 296,380 
• DEQ Renewals - 373,209 
 
2014 Volumes by Transaction Type 
• Titles & Titles with Registration - 987,443 
• Registration Renewal only - 1,501,249 
• Miscellaneous Registration - 48,950 
• Trip Permits - 218,256 
• Original Driver License (DL) /Instruction Permit (IP)/Identification Card (ID) - 

319,501 
• Renew DL/ID - 361,462 
• Replace DL/IP/ID - 148,796 
• Disabled Parking Placards/Decals - 82,254 
• Suspensions posted - 345,160 
• Reinstatements processed - 317,689 
• Convictions (traffic tickets) posted -349,845 
• Accident Reports posted – 85,930 

 

Number of Cover Oregon private medical insurance enrollments through 
HealthCare.Gov Nov 2015 – Feb 2015 - 112,024 
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