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&?B:Igé]\)/%%g MEMORANDUM

June 5, 2009
To: Sen. Devlin, Sen. Bonamici, Rep. Holvey, Rep. Wingard
From: Teresa Miller, Acting Administrator, Insurance Division

Subject:  House Bill 2325 Data Call

SUMMARY: The Insurance Division received a request to undertake a data call concerning the
possible effects on rates for Personal Injury Protection coverage if House Bill 2325 passes the
Legislative Assembly and is signed into law by the Governor.

The bill would do two things: 1) Allow PIP insurers to subrogate for payments on PIP claims
only to the extent that payments made exceed all damages, not just “economic” damages; and 2)
extend the maximum timeframe for collection of PIP benefits from one year to two years.

Estimating the possible effects on PIP rates of these changes proved to be difficult. In particular,
it is hard to gauge the impact of changing the subrogation threshold to include all damages. “All
damages” would include both economic and non-economic damages, and the effect of including
the non-economic damages, which are negotiated and subjective in nature, make it difficult to
quantify the possible effects to PIP subrogation. (PIP subrogation is the recoupment of payments
by PIP insurers from the liability coverage of third parties.)

Initial internal discussions involving Insurance Division staff did not lead to any solid
conclusions concerning possible rate increases for PIP coverage, and the Top 10 insurers in
Private Passenger Auto coverage in Oregon were approached for their estimates of possible
premium increases. Nine of these insurers responded with specific estimates, and two other
insurers also contributed their estimates of possible increases as well, The findings arc listed in

the attached table.

INCREASES DUE TO CHANGES ON SUBROGATION

With regard to the potential increases stemming from the changes to PIP subrogation, the
insurers responded with widely varying numbers, with projected increases literally ranging from
0.0% to 50.0%. Four of the 11 insurers projected increases ranging from 0.0% to 2.7%. Three
other insurers projected increases of 11.0%, 11.9% and 12.0% respectively. Then four other
carriers projected increases anywhere from 23.1% to 50.0%. One insurer did not respond due to

“insufficient data”.
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constitute about 11.0% of the total premiums paid for private passenger auto insurance in
Oregon.

It should be noted that insurers make their rating decisions on auto insurance independently.
Percentages of premium increases vary widely between insurers, and would likely continue to do

so should this bill become law.



$155 million in higher inSurance costs?
Oregon insurers urge you to vote NO on SB 411

As originally proposed, SB 411 was an idea that was rejected by Oregon lawmakers in 2009 and 2011 — a bill that would
increase the cost of Personal Injury Protection (PIP) insurance by an estimated $55.6 million according to data based on a
survey of insurers conducted by the Oregon Insurance Division.

Now, the new bill is even worse — adding a provision that changes the basis on which Underinsured Motorist (UIM)
insurance claims are determined — and possibly adding up to $100 million to the cost of Underinsured Motorist policies for
Oregon drivers, Who will fee! the impact of these cost increases the most? Drivers who carry the minimum limits for
liability and PIP coverage (both required for all drivers under Oregon law).

PIP changes {est. $55 million increase):

UIM changes (est. $100 million increase):

Oregon drivers are required to buy PIP coverage when
they purchase liability coverage. Liability coverage is
insurance that compensates “the other party” that suffers
injuries or damage in an auto accident. PIP coverage
provides “first party” coverage (“you” or others in “your
car” injured in an accident).

Under current law, PIP coverage pays for immediate out-
of-pocket costs — medical bills, funeral costs, lost wages
due to injuries. And to help manage the cost of this
coverage, the PIP insurer — after paying for those
immediate costs —is allowed under law to seek
reimbursement from the at-fault party's liability
insurance. As introduced, SB 411 would require that the
claimant be compensated not only for actual economic
losses, but also non-economic damages (such as pain &
suffering). Under this proposal, a PIP insurer’s ability to
recover any costs from the at-fault driver’s liability insurer
will be severely impaired ~ with these potential results:

¢ Asurvey of the state’s 10 largest auto insurers
conducted by the Insurance Division in 2009
concluded that the change now proposed in SB
411 would result in a 21.9 percent increase in
the cost of PIP insurance in Oregon.

o Based on the division’s survey, the Property
Casualty Insurers Association of America (PCI)
produced an analysis showing that such a cost
increase would mean a $55.6 million increase in
annual PIP premiums for Oregon drivers.

s PCls review of the 9 states that currently do not
allow insurers to recover claims costs have
higher claims severity (64%) and higher loss
costs (24% per insured vehicle) than Oregon.

Under SB 411, the claimant's UIM policy will provide additional
coverage and provide a greater amount of compensation...the cost of
which ultimately may be passed on to all drivers.

Current law - At-fault party’s liability coverage: $25,000. UIM coverage
limit: $35,000. Recovery available under combination of both policies:
$35,000.

S$B 411 — At-fault party’s liability coverage: $25,000. UIM coverage limit:
$35,000. Recovery available under combination of both policies:
$60,000.

= Claims frequency and severity and insurance loss costs are
significantly higher in the 18 states that have laws similar to 5B
411. Loss costs are more than double in those states than in
the 29 states where the law is what Oregon has today.

s IfSB 411 had passed in Oregon three years ago, the
uninsured/underinsured-bodily injury premium would have
more than doubled —a total increase In UM/UIM-BI premiums
of $100 million imposed on all Oregon drivers.

For further information contact Shawn Miller:
503-551-7738

Analysis by PCI /. February 2, 2015

Damages Trigger States Have Worse UM/UIM-BI
Loss Experience than Limits Trigger States

Relative %
Difference

250 |-
208,1%

200! B

17.6% 0
—1100% 100%

Pt
v

L h.

Loss Cost

PRI i

Claim Fraquency Clalm Severity
[[opamagss DOLimits |

Source: PCl, based on NAIC data

Today, only 18 states do not allow an insurer to pay a claimant the
difference in the limlts of their UIM policy and the at-fault party’s
liability policy. In those states, the frequency and severity of claims
is higher than in 29 states with laws like Oregon’s current law. Loss
costs - which drive insurance rates - are more than twice as high.




