March 3, 2015

Testimony of State Farm Insurance Companies provided by John Powell & Associates, to
the House Consumer Protection and Government Effectiveness Committee, regarding SB
411.

State Farm actuaries estimate that average auto insurance
premiums would increase by $55.00 per car, per year if SB 411
becomes law. Those who today can only afford minimum
limits coverage would be the hardest hit by this proposal.

Chair Fagan and Members of the Committee:

Today you are asked to consider SB 411, a bill that will require all Oregonians to pay
more for insurance coverage when insuring a personal automobile. State Farm’s
testimony is intended to ensure your Committee understands the cost associated with
providing more coverage, and to make certain you appreciate this cost burden will be
disproportional and will be paid for in large part by Oregon’s poorest and most
vulnerable citizens.

SB 411 affects benefits for both Personal Injury Protection (PIP) and Uninsured Motorist
(UM/UIM) coverages, which must be purchased and included with every motor-vehicle
liability insurance policy sold in Oregon.

PIP coverage is sometimes called “no-fault” — because it’s available in an accident
situation to an insured driver and the passengers in his/her vehicle, regardless of fault.
PIP pays for medical expenses, loss of income, household services, child care, and even
funeral benefits. Oregon is one of just several states that require PIP coverage be carried.
(Only 13 states require that insurers offer some form of PIP, and most allow an insured to
opt out of purchasing the coverage). In Oregon, the minimum benefits for PIP coverage
are set out by statute (ORS 742.524), but consumers may purchase higher PIP benefits if
they so choose.

Uninsured Motorist coverage pays damages to an insured, in instances where the
insured’s negligence is equal to or less than that of an at-fault driver, who is either
uninsured (UM), meaning the other driver has no insurance, or underinsured (UIM),
meaning the other driver is insured but has limits of liability coverage that are inadequate.

SB 411 will do three things:
1. Double the benefit period for PIP medical expenses, from one year to two years.

2. Change the subrogation/reimbursement rights of PIP insurers.



3. Change the way in which underinsured (UIM) benefits are calculated.

Doubling the PIP Medical Benefit Period

Today, PIP benefits are available to insureds for one year after an accident. PIP medical
is primary coverage, and pays “before” an insured’s own health insurance or
Medicare/Medicaid coverage becomes applicable. SB 411 would change the PIP
medical benefit period from one year - to two years. This change would only affect a
small percentage of claims, as most minor and moderate injury claims resolve within one-
year of injury — and most major injury claims exhaust the insured’s PIP medical coverage
limits before that time. Extending the PIP medical benefit period will, however, impact
some claims. State Farm’s actuaries estimate the average “per policy” cost of this
increased coverage benefit will be $5 per year.

Changing Insurers Subrogation Rights

PIP benefits are immediately available to persons injured in car accidents, without regard
to liability. But when another person/driver is at-fault, the PIP carrier is able to seek
reimbursement of amounts paid as PIP benefits, from that at-fault person/driver. A PIP
carrier’s right of subrogation is already subordinate to the insured/beneficiary first
recovering all of his/her economic damages. So, if an insured has medical bills or wage
loss or other economic damages that were not covered as PIP benefits, (e.g. projected
future medical expenses, projected future wage loss, etc.) -- the insured is already
entitled to recover those “not paid by PIP” economic losses from the at-fault person’s
liability insurance limits, before the PIP insurer is reimbursed.

However, the PIP insurer is reimbursed before the insured/beneficiary recovers non-
economic damages. Non-economic damages are awarded for reasons like pain-and-
suffering, loss of consortium, interference with parent-child relationship, loss of
enjoyment of life, etc. SB 411 would change the subrogation “position” of PIP insurers
— allowing PIP carrier reimbursement only after an insured first recovers all economic
and non-economic damages.

A PIP insurer’s subrogation or reimbursement rights are statutory. (ORS 742.534 et seq.;
ORS 742.544). The Legislature intended that PIP insurers be reimbursed affer an
insured/beneficiary recovers all of his‘her economic damages, and before that
insured/beneficiary recovers any of his'her non-economic damages. This helps keep PIP
coverage affordable, as subrogation/reimbursement recoveries reduce insurers’ net claim
costs in providing this coverage and resulting rate needs. State Farm’s actuaries estimate
the average “per policy” cost of this change in subrogation position will be $10 per year.

Changing the Form of UM Coverage, from “Difference-In-Limits” to “Excess”

In Oregon today, when you purchase a private-passenger motor vehicle liability insurance
policy, you must buy three types of coverages within that policy -- Liability coverage
(pays other persons when your negligence causes them bodily injury or property
damage); PIP coverage (discussed above); and Uninsured Motorist coverage that is
available for you and your family, and persons occupying your car, if you sustain bodily
injury in an accident with an uninsured (UM) or underinsured motorist (UIM).




Oregon law (ORS 742.502) requires insurers to sell the “difference-in-limits” form of
Uninsured Motorist coverage. For example, an insured with 50/100* Uninsured Motorist
coverage limits, (*$50,000 per person/$100,000 per accident), would have up to $50,000
available from this coverage — and is able to make an uninsured motorist bodily injury
claim for both economic and non-economic damages against his/her own insurer — if the
at-fault driver had no insurance (a UM claim). If that at-fault driver was insured, but
only carried 25/50 liability coverage limits — the insured could then make an
underinsured motorist claim (a UIM claim) for the difference between the limits of his
own uninsured motorist coverage ($50,000 per person) and the at-fault driver’s liability
limits ($25,000 per person) - with that difference being $25,000 in this example.

SB 411 would change the form of Uninsured Motorist coverage, to what’s called an
“excess” form of coverage. That means regardless of what might be recoverable from
the “underinsured” at-fault driver’s policy (whether that is $15,000 — or $150,000 — or
$1,500,000) — if his/her damages so warrant, the insured could still present a claim for
his/her full policy limit ($50,000 in this example).

Because the “excess” form of UIM coverage means the policy’s full limits are exposed in
every accident situation, changing Oregon law to require the purchase of this form of
UIM coverage will require consumers to pay more. And that expense will be greater for
persons who today, can only afford to purchase the lowest required limits of uninsured
motorist coverage (25/50), given the exponentially higher number of accidents that
involve moderate/temporary injury — in comparison to accidents with serious/permanent
injury. These actual cost differences can be seen in State Farm’s average six-month rate
information from the state of Georgia, where insurers are required to offer both the
“difference-in-limits” and “excess” forms of UIM coverage.

'Georgia Uninsured/Underinsured Bodily Injury Coverage Premiums — 6
months
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(000) Tt Lsits) Liability Limits (Excess)
25/50 $16.60 $40.10
50/100 $24.40 $46.52
100/300 $39.01 $54.14
250/500 $49.47 $54.54
500/500 $56.11 $60.55
500/1000 | $61.25 $62.96
1000/1000 | $65.24 $66.57

*Chart above provided by State Farm actuaries in June 2013

State Farm’s actuaries estimate the average “per policy” cost of adopting this form of
UIM coverage, will be $40 per year. This is an estimated average for State Farm’s



policyholder group in Oregon. The actual cost for persons who can only afford
minimum limits coverage (i.e. 25/50) will be even greater.

Summary
SB 411, will compel ALL Oregonians to purchase more insurance coverage. Insurers

like State Farm can predict with accuracy, the average cost of providing these more
costly benefits. Our actuaries have estimated the “average Oregon policyholder” will
see an annual increase of $55 per year, per insured vehicle, based upon the three
changes to current law, that will occur if SB 411 passes.

But average cost increases are just that --- averages. Many consumers who struggle
today, just to afford required minimum insurance coverage limits - (i.e. Liability limits of
25/50/20, basic PIP, Uninsured Motorist limits of 25/50) - will actually pay much more
than these average cost increases, particularly persons with less than perfect driving
records, and those who fall into actuarially valid categories (youthful, older, single, male,
etc.) that are associated with statistically higher claim activity.

State Farm would respectfully ask the Committee to consider these questions:

* Does it make sense, to require consumers to pay more to extend the PIP medical
benefit period, when insureds are already required by the Affordable Care Act to
have “backup” health insurance available, should accident related care go
beyond one year?

* Does it make sense to subordinate insurers’ PIP subrogation rights to their
insureds’ recovery of non-economic damages? (which are coincidentally used as
the basis to calculate trial lawyers’ contingency fees).

* Should Oregon’s Trial Lawyers and persons wanting more UIM coverage, ask all
Oregon insurance consumers to pay for higher uninsured motorist coverage
limits -- or should concerned persons simply buy higher UIM limits (which are
readily available today)?

As a mutual insurer, State Farm is privileged to insure some 690,000 vehicles in Oregon,
(or roughly one-in-five insured vehicles). Our goal is to ensure that insurance products
remain affordable, and are available to deal with life’s contingencies. We feel obliged to
speak out on behalf of our customers and all insurance consumers whenever the
legislative ambitions of any special interest group jeopardize the affordability of
important insurance products.

SB 411 is regressive legislation that disproportionately impacts Oregon’s less affluent
citizens, who will have no choice but to pay more for a new standard of required
minimum auto insurance coverage, should this bill become law. State Farm would
respectfully ask this Committee to fully appreciate and acknowledge the financial
consequences of the three elements of this bill — as it considers the fairness and impact of
this legislative proposal.



