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EXCISE TAXES  
Taxes on Cigarettes and Other Tobacco Products 
Excise taxes are imposed on distribution of all tobacco products in Oregon. Taxes are levied on each 
cigarette and as a percent of wholesale price of other 
tobacco products. As of January 1, 2015 the tax rate on 
cigarettes is 65.5 mills per cigarette or $1.31 per pack of 
20 cigarettes. Under current law the tax is scheduled to 
increase to $1.32 beginning January 1, 2016 and to $1.33 
beginning January 1, 2018. The distribution of tax 
revenue per pack of cigarettes is shown at right. Note that 
the numbers do not sum to $1.31 due to rounding and 
TURA refers to the Tobacco Use Reduction Account. 
Distributions to cities and counties are based on their 
respective populations. 
 
The Other Tobacco Products (OTP) tax is applied slightly 
differently depending upon the product. Moist snuff is taxed at 
$1.78 per ounce with a minimum tax of $2.14 per retail 
container.1 Cigars are taxed at 65% of their wholesale sales 
price but the tax is capped at $0.50 per individual cigar. All 
other tobacco products not taxed as moist snuff or cigars are 
taxed at 65% of their wholesale sales 
price. Distributions of revenues from 
the Other Tobacco Products tax are 
displayed in the table to the right. 
 
Additional tobacco revenue is received 
under the Master Settlement 
Agreement. Through June 30, 2014, in 
total Oregon has received over $1.2 
billion in payments and expects to 
receive about $165 million for the 
2013-15 biennium. The 2003 Session 
(SB 856) pledged much of this 
revenue for payments on $450 million 
appropriation bonds. In August 2013, 
payment obligations were met.  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Page Sources: Oregon Department of Revenue, DAS CFO, DAS Quarterly Economic & Revenue Forecast 

                                                
1 Under current law, moist snuff rates are scheduled to be indexed to inflation for reporting periods beginning on or after July 1, 2022. Rates 
are indexed to one quarter of the change in U.S. City Average Consumer Price Index. 

Distribution of Other Tobacco 
Products Tax (1/1/2015) 
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Oregon Health Plan:
General Fund:

OHA Mental Health:
TURA:
Cities:

Counties:
DOT Elderly Trans:

Cigarette Tax Distribution 
as of 1/1/2015

Note: Numbers do not add up to $1.31 due to rounding

2003-04 53.9 184.8 7.8 4.4 8.8
2004-05 52.5 168.5 7.3 4.3 8.6
2005-06 59.4 180.7 8.1 4.1 8.9
2006-07 60.6 185.3 8.3 4.6 9.2
2007-08 59.0 176.1 8.0 4.6 9.2
2008-09 57.1 168.5 7.7 4.1 8.3
2009-10 57.4 161.9 7.4 3.5 7.8
2010-11 66.3 173.2 7.9 4.0 8.1
2011-12 66.1 170.8 7.7 3.9 7.9
2012-13 67.5 168.0 8.4 3.8 7.7
2013-14 67.0 163.6 7.7 8.3 3.7 7.4

Local 
Govt's

Combined Distribution of Tobacco Taxes ($ Millions)
Fiscal 
Year

General 
Fund

Health 
Plan

Mental 
Health

TURA Special 
Transit

Revenue Change Revenue Change Revenue Change
2003-04 $1.23 240.1 25.3 265.4
2004-05 $1.18 217.8 -9.3% 26.0 2.8% 243.8 -8.1%
2005-06 $1.18 238.7 9.6% 31.2 20.0% 269.9 10.7%
2006-07 $1.18 240.2 0.6% 30.9 -0.8% 271.1 0.4%
2007-08 $1.18 222.2 -7.5% 32.8 5.9% 255.0 -6.0%
2008-09 $1.18 215.3 -3.1% 32.9 0.4% 248.2 -2.6%
2009-10 $1.18 201.9 -6.3% 37.4 13.7% 239.3 -3.6%
2010-11 $1.18 211.6 4.8% 51.2 36.8% 262.8 9.8%
2011-12 $1.18 203.5 -3.9% 52.2 2.0% 255.7 -2.7%
2012-13 $1.18 198.5 -2.4% 56.7 8.7% 255.2 -0.2%
2013-14 $1.31 201.2 1.3% 56.4 -0.6% 257.6 0.9%

     Cigarettes     Other Tobacco   TotalCigarette 
Tax Rate

Cigarette and Other Tobacco Products Taxes ($ Millions)
Fiscal 
Year
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Fiscal
Year        Revenue Change Sales Change Revenue Change

1991-92 10.7 83.3 61.6
1992-93 11.0 2.2% 85.2 2.3% 62.2 1.0%
1993-94 10.6 -3.6% 89.7 5.3% 65.2 4.8%
1994-95 10.6 0.2% 90.1 0.4% 65.9 1.1%
1995-96 11.2 6.0% 93.4 3.7% 67.7 2.7%
1996-97 11.8 4.7% 97.1 4.0% 70.9 4.7%
1997-98 12.0 2.4% 102.4 5.5% 73.8 4.1%
1998-99 12.1 0.4% 107.8 5.3% 76.5 3.7%
1999-00 12.4 2.4% 116.1 7.7% 84.8 10.8%
2000-01 12.5 0.9% 121.7 4.8% 85.8 1.2%
2001-02 12.7 1.5% 127.8 5.0% 93.0 8.4%
2002-03 13.3 5.0% 134.4 5.2% 97.1 4.4%
2003-04 13.7 2.6% 145.1 7.9% 107.3 10.4%
2004-05 14.0 2.2% 155.0 6.8% 111.1 3.5%
2005-06 14.8 6.3% 172.2 11.1% 126.1 13.5%
2006-07 15.2 2.3% 187.1 8.7% 130.8 3.8%
2007-08 16.1 6.2% 199.2 6.5% 141.1 7.9%
2008-09 16.1 -0.4% 207.9 4.4% 151.9 7.6%
2009-10 16.6 3.3% 215.6 3.7% 159.8 5.2%
2010-11 16.2 -2.4% 224.1 4.0% 162.2 1.5%
2011-12 17.3 7.0% 238.5 6.4% 180.0 11.0%
2012-13 16.4 -5.2% 254.9 6.9% 189.1 5.1%
2013-14 17.5 6.4% 264.0 3.6% 196.3 3.8%

   Liquor Net LiquorBeer & Wine Tax     

Oregon Liquor Control 
Commission (OLCC) 
Revenue: (Alcohol) 
 
Taxes are imposed on beer and 
wine manufactured or 
distributed in Oregon. The 
current rates are $2.60 per 31 
gallon barrel (8.4¢ per gallon) of 
beer, Tax on wine is 67¢ per 
gallon, and 77¢ per gallon for 
dessert wine (14% to 21% 
alcohol content). Two cents of 
the wine tax goes to the Wine 
Board, 50% of the remaining 
beer and wine taxes go to 
Mental Health and Drug Abuse 
Prevention, and the balance 
goes into the OLCC Account. 
Beverages with 21% or more 
alcohol are exclusively imported 
and distributed by the state of 
Oregon. Currently OLCC sets 
retail prices, on average, at 
104% above cost (including 
shipping, and federal taxes). 
The net revenue from these 
operations goes into the OLCC 
account. Available revenue in the 
OLCC account is distributed 56% to 
state General Fund, 10% to counties 
by population, 20% to cities by 
population, and 14% to cities by 
formula. A surcharge of 50¢ is a 
temporary add on for the last three 
budget periods, and generates 
approximately $30.0 million a 
biennium. 
The OLCC is also tasked to 
implement the Marijuana legalization 
initiative (Measure 91) that was 
passed in 2014. That implementation 
is likely to start at the end of 2015, 
and is likely to generate $ 40 million 
in an average biennium after 
collection and administration costs. 
Drug abuse and prevention will get 
5% of funds distribution, cities and 
counties at 10% each, 15% to the 
state police, 20% to mental health 
account, and 40% to the common 
school fund.  

 
 
  

OLCC REVENUE (Millions) 

Fiscal Wine Mental General Counties Cities
Year Board Health Fund

1991-92 0.10 5.20 36.30 6.50 22.00
1992-93 0.20 5.40 38.00 6.80 23.10
1993-94 0.10 5.20 40.60 7.10 24.10
1994-95 0.10 5.20 41.30 7.40 25.10
1995-96 0.20 5.50 37.30 6.70 22.70
1996-97 0.20 5.80 48.90 8.70 29.70
1997-98 0.20 6.00 45.30 8.10 27.50
1998-99 0.20 5.90 45.70 8.20 27.70
1999-00 0.20 6.00 51.40 9.20 31.20
2000-01 0.20 6.17 52.49 9.37 31.87
2001-02 0.20 6.25 54.75 9.77 33.23
2002-03 0.20 6.56 60.11 10.20 34.68
2003-04 0.21 6.73 62.85 11.22 38.16
2004-05 0.22 6.87 65.59 11.64 39.59
2005-06 0.23 7.31 74.01 13.22 44.93
2006-07 0.24 7.47 75.09 13.38 45.61
2007-08 0.26 7.93 82.66 14.76 50.19
2008-09 0.26 7.98 93.93 15.86 53.92
2009-10 0.27 8.28 97.32 15.02 51.06
2010-11 0.27 7.97 101.25 15.64 53.17
2011-12 0.28 8.30 110.20 17.12 58.20
2012-13 0.28 8.05 115.36 17.94 60.98
2013-14 0.29 8.63 121.43 18.97 64.49

OLCC REVENUE DISTRIBUTIONS (Millions) 
Source: Oregon Liquor Control Commission  
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BEER AND WINE RATES AS OF 2014

Rank State Excise Sales State Excise Sales State Excise Sales
1 Tennessee 1.150 0.700 Florida 2.25 2.40 New York 4.35 0.40
2 South Carolina 0.770 0.600 Rhode Island 1.40 2.80 Rhode Island        3.50 0.58
3 Hawaii 0.930 0.400 Iowa 1.75 2.40 Massachusetts       3.51 0.54
4 Mississippi 0.427 0.700 Tennessee 1.21 2.80 Connecticut         3.40 0.52
5 North Carolina 0.617 0.475 Illinois 1.39 2.50 Hawaii 3.20 0.35
6 Florida 0.480 0.600 New Mexico 1.70 2.00 Washington       3.03 0.50
7 Alaska 1.070 0.000 New Jersey 0.88 2.80 New Jersey 2.70 0.52
8 California 0.200 0.825 Virginia 1.51 2.00 Vermont             2.75 0.46
9 Alabama 0.530 0.400 California 0.20 3.30 Minnesota 2.90 0.00
10 Washington 0.261 0.650 Washington 0.87 2.60 Wisconsin           2.52 0.37
11 New Mexico 0.410 0.500 Nevada 0.70 2.74 Dist. of Columbia 2.50 0.00
12 Utah 0.410 0.470 West Virginia 1.00 2.40 Illinois 1.98 0.44
13 Nebraska 0.310 0.550 Alabama 1.70 1.60 Michigan            2.00 0.39
14 Illinois 0.231 0.625 South Carolina 0.90 2.40 Maryland            2.00 0.38
15 Maine 0.350 0.500 Indiana 0.47 2.80 Arizona             2.00 0.37
16 Oklahoma 0.400 0.450 Mississippi 0.35 2.80 Maine         2.00 0.36
17 Nevada 0.160 0.685 Nebraska 0.95 2.20 Utah                1.70 0.37
18 Connecticut 0.240 0.600 Arkansas 0.75 2.40 Alaska 2.00 0.00
19 Minnesota 0.150 0.688 Connecticut 0.72 2.40 New Mexico          1.66 0.32
20 Arkansas 0.230 0.600 Georgia 1.51 1.60 Pennsylvania 1.60 0.36
21 Texas 0.200 0.625 Arizona 0.84 2.24 New Hampshire 1.78 0.00
22 New Jersey 0.120 0.700 Minnesota 0.30 2.75 Texas               1.41 0.36
23 Indiana 0.115 0.700 Hawaii 1.38 1.60 South Dakota        1.53 0.23
24 Rhode Island 0.110 0.700 Vermont 0.55 2.40 Iowa                1.36 0.35
25 Michigan 0.200 0.600 Michigan 0.51 2.40 Montana             1.70 0.00
26 Iowa 0.190 0.600 North Carolina 1.00 1.90 Florida 1.34 0.33
27 West Virginia 0.180 0.600 Idaho 0.45 2.40 Delaware 1.60 0.00
28 Virginia 0.260 0.500 Maryland 0.40 2.40 Ohio                1.25 0.32
29 Idaho 0.150 0.600 Texas 0.20 2.50 Arkansas 1.15 0.36
30 Ohio 0.180 0.550 Dist. of Columbia 0.30 2.40 Indiana             1.00 0.37
31 Arizona 0.160 0.560 Maine 0.60 2.00 Oregon 1.31 0.00
32 Georgia 0.320 0.400 South Dakota 0.93 1.60 California          0.87 0.41
33 Louisiana 0.320 0.400 Ohio 0.32 2.20 Nevada              0.80 0.36
34 Kansas 0.180 0.530 Oklahoma 0.72 1.80 Kansas 0.79 0.32
35 Dist. of Columbia 0.090 0.600 Alaska 2.50 0.00 Oklahoma            1.03 0.00
36 Maryland 0.090 0.600 North Dakota 0.50 2.00 Mississippi          0.68 0.34
37 Pennsylvania 0.080 0.600 Pennsylvania 0.00 2.40 Colorado 0.84 0.16
38 South Dakota 0.270 0.400 Wisconsin 0.25 2.00 Tennessee 0.62 0.35
39 North Dakota 0.160 0.500 Missouri 0.42 1.69 Nebraska  0.64 0.29
40 Wisconsin 0.060 0.500 New York 0.30 1.60 Kentucky 0.60 0.29
41 New York 0.140 0.400 Utah 1.88 South Carolina      0.57 0.29
42 Missouri 0.060 0.423 Louisiana 0.11 1.60 Idaho               0.57 0.29
43 Wyoming 0.020 0.400 Wyoming 0.00 1.60 West Virginia       0.55 0.29
44 Colorado 0.080 0.290 Colorado 0.28 1.16 Wyoming             0.60 0.20
45 New Hampshire 0.300 0.000 Montana 1.06 0.00 North Carolina 0.45 0.22
46 Vermont 0.265 0.000 Delaware 0.97 0.00 North Dakota        0.44 0.23
47 Delaware 0.160 0.000 Oregon 0.67 0.00 Alabama       0.43 0.20
48 Montana 0.140 0.000 Massachusetts 0.55 0.00 Virginia 0.30 0.26
49 Massachusetts 0.110 0.000 Kentucky 0.50 0.00 Georgia             0.37 0.18
50 Kentucky 0.080 0.000 Kansas 0.30 0.00 Louisiana 0.36 0.19
51 Oregon 0.080 0.000 New Hampshire 0.00 0.00 Missouri 0.17 0.19

Source: Excise tax rates from Federation of Tax Administrators (web).
              Tax Burden on Tobacco, Orzechowski and Walker
              Sales tax rates assume $11 per gallon for beer, $40 a gallon for wine.

CIGARETTE EXCISE TAX RATES AS OF JANUARY 1, 2015

Ranked by Sum of Excise and Sales Tax Rates (Dollars)

Malt Liquor (Beer) per Gallon Table Wine (14% alcohol) per Gallon Cigarette Taxes ($'s per Pack)
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