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Four Required Auto Coverages 

• BI: Bodily Injury (required by Oregon Vehicle 

Code) 

• PD: Property Damage (required by Oregon 

Vehicle Code) 

• PIP: Personal Injury Protection (required by 

Oregon Insurance Code) 

• UM/UIM: Uninsured Motorist/Underinsured 

Motorist (required by Oregon Insurance Code) 
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Bodily Injury and  

Property Damage 

• Make up the core of a policy 

• Cover accidents involving injuries to others 

• Cover damage to property owned by 

others 

• Minimum coverage levels are set by law 

• You choose your coverage level when you 

buy the policy  
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Bodily Injury Minimum Limits 

• Covers injury to others 

• Minimum coverage levels  

– $25,000 per person (ORS 806.070)  

– $50,000 per accident (ORS 806.070) 

• Covers legal fees if sued. Legal fees paid 

over and above policy limits. 
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Property Damage 

• Covers damage to others’ property 

• Minimum coverage level: $20,000 per 

accident (ORS 806.070) 
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Personal Injury Protection (PIP) 

• OR’s version of no-fault insurance coverage 

• Covers “reasonable and necessary” medical 

services, regardless of who caused the 

accident 

• Minimum coverage level: $15,000 

• PIP is primary over health insurance 

coverage (federal law/could jeopardize 

federal funds) 
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PIP Additional Coverage 

• Loss of Earnings: If insured’s injury prevents 

them from returning to work. Maximum of $3,000 

a month for 52 weeks. 

• Essential Services: If insureds are not 

employed. Up to $30 a day for 52 weeks. 

• Funeral Expenses: Maximum of $5,000. 

• Child Care: If insured is a parent and 

hospitalized for at least 24 hours. $25 per day 

up to $750. 
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Uninsured Motorist (UM) and 

Underinsured Motorist (UIM) 

• Coverage for bodily injury to you and your 

passengers caused by uninsured or 

underinsured driver 

• Minimum coverage (ORS 742.500): 

– $25,000 per person 

– $50,000 per accident 

• Your insurance company pays all expenses 

normally paid by the at-fault person’s company 
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UM/UIM Benefits 

• Uninsured motorist coverage identical in 
coverage level as your bodily injury liability 
unless insured elects lower limits (but still must 
meet minimum requirements) 

• Underinsured motorist coverage level must be 
equal to uninsured motorist coverage level 

• Benefits paid to an insured at an amount equal 
to uninsured motorist coverage less amount 
recovered from the auto liability policy of at-fault 
party 
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Stacking Underinsured  

Motorist Coverage 

• Concept that differs from current law 

• Instead of paying the difference between your 

coverage and the coverage of the at-fault driver, 

your underinsured benefits would stack on top of 

the bodily injury coverage of the at-fault driver 
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Comprehensive and  

Collision Coverage (Optional) 
• “Full coverage” 

• Collision: Pays for repairs if insured is hit or get hit 

by another vehicle or object 

• Comprehensive: Pays for damage caused by an 

event other than a collision (e.g., fire, theft) 

• Insured pays a deductible and the rest is covered 

• Not required by law, but may be required by lender 
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Guaranteed Asset Protection (GAP) 

• Loan/lease payoff insurance 

• Pays difference between the actual cash value 

(ACV) and the balance of your loan/lease in the 

event of a total loss 

• Needed only if you have negative equity in your 

vehicle 
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Coordination of Auto and 

Health Benefits 

• Auto and health insurers can establish a lien 

against any recovery for noneconomic damages 

that the insured receives from the at-fault driver 

• The lien is limited by the expenses, costs, and 

attorney fees incurred by the injured person 
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Proof of Insurance 

• Valid insurance card 

• Current motor vehicle liability insurance policy or 

binder 

• Letter signed by an authorized agent or 

insurance company on official letterhead 

• DMV Certificate of Self-Insurance or a displayed 

Oregon auto dealer license plate 
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Questions? 


