Implementing Measure 91 Joint Committee Meeting February 25, 2015

Good evening, Co-Chairs Lininger and Burdick, members of the Committee, for the record my name is Evan Sether, Sergeant with the Oregon State Police and also Statewide Coordinator for Oregon's Drug Evaluation and Classification Program. I wanted to take this opportunity to provide a high level overview of the current training being provided and the resources available to officers' investigating a driver suspected of driving under the influence of drugs.

Training begins at the basic police academy where officers participate in a 32 hour course on Standardized Field Sobriety Tests, DUII procedures and breath testing procedures. This training establishes the foundation for the detection, investigation, and articulation of an impaired driver. An additional 8 hours of training is dedicated solely to Drugs that Impair Driving.

Two additional programs are available to officers once they have established themselves in the field and gained proficiency in the area of impaired driving. These programs are ARIDE – Advanced Roadside Impaired Driving Enforcement – and the Drug Recognition Expert (DRE) Program.

- High level summary of Advanced Roadside Impaired Driving Enforcement (ARIDE)
 - 16 hours of training covering sobriety testing, procedures and drug symptomology
 - \circ Since 2009, 530 law enforcement officers have completed the training
 - 93 from the Oregon State Police
 - 311 from municipal agencies
 - 123 from county agencies
 - 3 from federal agencies
- Drug Recognition Expert (DRE) High Level Summary
 - DRE Programs exist in all 50 states, Washington DC, Canada and UK.
 - Oregon currently has 182 DREs
 - 36 from the Oregon State Police
 - 101 from municipal agencies
 - 43 from county agencies
 - 1 from DPSST
 - 1 from International Association of Chiefs of Police (IACP)

- o Application process to be accepted into training program
 - Must have experience in DUII and drug investigations
 - Must submit copies of several DUII reports for review by panel
 - Submit recommendations from local prosecutors and DREs
- 72 hours of classroom training, 40 hours of field certification training, comprehensive written final examination (8-10 hours)
 - Must maintain knowledge and proficiency through continuing education and adherence to DRE policies and procedures.
 - Re-certification every two years
- Summary of Evaluation (12-Step Process, Systematic & Standardized)
 - When are DREs involved in a DUII investigation
 - Driver's breath sample is under .08% and there is reasonable suspicion that other impairing substances are involved.
 - Fatal or serious injury collision where drugs may be a contributing factor.

That concludes my testimony and I'd be happy to answer any questions.