618.121 License required for commercially operated weighing or measuring instrument;
scope of license. No person shall operate or use for commercial purposes within the state any
weighing or measuring instrument or device specified in ORS 618.141 that is not licensed in
accordance with the requirements of ORS 618.010 to 618.246 unless exempted as provided in
ORS 618.126. Any license issued under ORS 618.010 to 618.246 applies only to the instrument
or device specified in the license. However, the State Department of Agriculture may permit
such license to be applicable to a replacement for the original instrument or device. [1973 ¢.293
830; 2005 c.22 §425]

618.141 Maximum license fees. (1) The license fees established pursuant to ORS 618.136 for
weighing or measuring instruments or devices shall not exceed the following:

Discrete Weighing Devices Maximum Fee

(Manufacturer’s rated capacity)

Not over 400 pounds $ 39
Over 400 pounds, but not over 1,160 pounds $ 80
Over 1,160 pounds, but not over 7,500 pounds $ 161
Over 7,500 pounds, but not over 60,000 pounds $ 242
Over 60,000 pounds $ 242
Static railroad track scales $ 1,051

Continuous Weighing Systems (Manufacturer’s rated capacity)

Under 10 tons per hour $ 304
10-150 tons per hour $ 473

Over 150 tons per hour, but not over 1,000 tons per hour $ 946

Over 1,000 tons per hour $ 2,101

In-motion railroad track scales $ 1,051



Liquid-Fuel Metering Devices for Noncorrosive Fuels Contained at Atmospheric Pressure

(Maximum device flowrate)

Under 20 gallons per minute $ 32
20-150 gallons per minute $ 161
Over 150 gallons per minute $ 242

Special Liquid-Fuel Measuring Equipment (Type)
Liquefied petroleum gas meters
One inch pipe diameter or under $ 242
Over one inch pipe diameter $ 242
Tanks, under 500 gallons capacity
when used as measure containers

with or without gage rods or markers $ 100

Tanks, 500 or more gallons capacity
when used as measure containers

with or without gage rods or markers $ 200

(2) For licensing periods beginning on or after July 1, 2011, and before July 1, 2016, the maximum fee
amounts described in subsection (1) of this section shall increase by two percent annually. The maximum
fee for a year shall be rounded to the nearest whole dollar amount for assessment and collection purposes.
Each annual increase shall be determined using the unrounded dollars and cents from the preceding year.
[1973 ¢.293 834; 1977 c.132 8§6; 1983 ¢.210 81; 1989 c.405 86; 1991 c.610 81; 1993 c.122 §1; 1999
€.237 82; 2007 c.489 §&1]

Note: The amendments to 618.141 by section 3, chapter 489, Oregon Laws 2007, become operative
January 1, 2016. See section 4, chapter 489, Oregon Laws 2007. The text that is operative on and after
January 1, 2016, is set forth for the user’s convenience.

618.141. The license fees established pursuant to ORS 618.136 for weighing or measuring instruments or
devices shall not exceed the following:




Discrete Weighing Devices (Manufacturer’s rated capacity) Maximum Fee

Not over 400 pounds $ 43
Over 400 pounds, but not over 1,160 pounds $ 88
Over 1,160 pounds, but not over 7,500 pounds $ 178
Over 7,500 pounds, but not over 60,000 pounds $ 267
Over 60,000 pounds $ 267
Static railroad track scales $ 1,160

Continuous Weighing Systems (Manufacturer’s rated capacity)

Under 10 tons per hour $ 336
10-150 tons per hour $ 522
Over 150 tons per hour, but not over 1,000 tons per hour $ 1,044
Over 1,000 tons per hour $ 2,320
In-motion railroad track scales $ 1,160

Liquid-Fuel Metering Devices for Noncorrosive Fuels Contained at Atmospheric Pressure

(Maximum device flowrate)

Under 20 gallons per minute $ 35
20-150 gallons per minute $ 178
Over 150 gallons per minute $ 267

Special Liquid-Fuel Measuring Equipment (Type) Liquefied petroleum gas meters
One inch pipe diameter or under $ 267
Over one inch pipe diameter $ 267

Tanks, under 500 gallons capacity when used as measure containers with or without gage rods or
markers $ 100

Tanks, 500 or more gallons capacity when used as measure containers with or without gage rods or
markers $ 200



