Tribal payday lenders

Some payday lenders, many operating online, may be affiliated with federally recognized Indian tribes. They may not be bound by Oregon payday lending laws, including the limits on fees and interest rates.

Do the math

The chart below shows a typical loan from a **licensed** payday lender. If your loan cost is higher, the lender is probably unlicensed.

Loan Amount	Origination Fee + Interest	Total Loan Cost
\$100	\$13.06	\$113.06
\$200	\$26.12	\$226.12
\$300	\$39.17	\$339.17

Note: Under Oregon law, a payday loan must be for a minimum of 31 days.

Need to borrow money?

Consider these options;

- Ask if you can delay or make payments on non-interest bills such as cellphone or utility bills.
- Borrow money from family or friends.
- Ask your credit union or bank for a loan.
- Make a budget and stick with it.
- Save some money for unexpected expenses, even if it is only \$5 a month.



Make sure your payday lender is licensed in Oregon

Call 866-814-9710 (toll-free)

or go online

stopunlicensedloans.com



Illegal Payday Loans



for a \$300 loan?



Make sure your payday lender is licensed in Oregon



Division of Finance & Corporate Securities

Oregon law protects against unlicensed payday lenders

It happens. You need a quick loan. There are thousands of payday lenders offering loans – including online lenders – but they may charge excessive fees and interest rates. STOP. Check the facts before you apply or agree to a payday loan.

- All lenders, including those online, must be licensed by the State of Oregon to offer payday loans to Oregonians. Call 886-814-9710 (toll-free) or go to stopunlicensedloans.com to look up licensed payday lenders.
- In Oregon, a payday loan must be for at least 31 days and not longer than 60 days.
- The legal limits on what can be charged are:
 - A one-time 10 percent loan origination fee, up to a maximum \$30, for a new loan.
 - 36 percent interest.*
 - Only two renewals, or "roll overs," on an existing loan. (After two renewals, you must pay the loan amount and interest in full).

*The annual percentage rate (APR) – the total of all interest and fees calculated on an annual basis – will be **153.77 percent** if the lender charges the maximum interest rate (36 percent) and the maximum origination fees allowed.

Note: Payday lenders must give you a written loan agreement clearly explaining the fees, percentage rate, payment due dates, and what happens if you are late with your payments or you default.

Only a handful of online payday lenders are licensed in Oregon. An unlicensed online payday lender may charge extremely high fees and interest rates.

File a complaint

It is easier to resolve problems with an Oregonlicensed payday lender than an illegal one. To file a complaint, call 866-814-9710 (toll-free) or go to stopunlicensedloans.com.

Spot unlicensed payday lenders

Some warning signs include:

- Charging more than a 10 percent **one-time** origination fee (maximum \$30), *or* charging other fees on the same loan.
- Offering a loan for less than 31 days.
- Offering to renew the same loan more than twice.
- Charging more than 153.77 percent annual percentage rate (APR).

Beware of payday lenders that:

- Require your personal bank account information or your Social Security number just to see their fees, interest rates, or what your loan payments may be. **Do not authorize** electronic withdrawals until you read and agree to the loan agreement.
- Require upfront fees before getting a loan and request the payment with a prepaid card, debit or credit card, wire transfer, or money order.
- Do not explain the fees or interest rates.
- Do not provide a written loan agreement for you to read, agree to, and sign.
- Require you to release the payday lender from any liability; waive your rights for legal action, including arbitration; or authorize the lender to garnish your wages ("wage assignment").

