HOUSE COMMITTEE ON JUDICIARY

May 28, 2013 Hearing Room 343 1:00 P.M.

MEMBERS PRESENT: Rep. Jeff Barker, Chair

Rep. Chris Garrett, Vice-Chair Rep. Wayne Krieger, Vice-Chair

Rep. Brent Barton
Rep. Kevin Cameron
Rep. Wally Hicks
Rep. Andy Olson
Rep. Carolyn Tomei
Rep. Jennifer Williamson

STAFF PRESENT: Michael Schmidt, Committee Counsel

Pam Marshall, Committee Assistant

MEASURES/ISSUES HEARD: Oregon Board of Parole and Post-Prison Supervision -

Informational Meeting

Recording Log

1:05:31 PM Meeting Called to Order by Chair Barker

1:05:33 PM Chair Barker

1:05:35 PM Oregon Board of Parole and Post-Prison Supervision – Informational Meeting

1:06:01 PM Rep. Olson

1:06:10 PM Vice-Chair Krieger

1:06:27 PM Scott Russell, Chief of Police, City of Woodburn, Oregon Association of Chiefs of Police (OACP), First Vice-President

1:10:04 PM {Exhibit} 1: Jason Myers, Marion County Sheriff, Oregon State Sheriffs Association (OSSA), President

1:12:49 PM Tim Colahan, Harney County District Attorney, Oregon District Attorneys Association (ODAA), President

1:15:21 PM Chair Barker

1:15:55 PM Sen. Ted Ferrioli, Senate District 30

1:21:01 PM {Exhibit} 2: Ryan Joslin, District Attorney, Grant County

1:25:05 PM Richard Tirico, Chief of Police, John Day

1:28:19 PM Rep. Tomei

1:28:32 PM Joslin

1:29:23 PM Rep. Tomei

1:29:38 PM Joslin

1:30:34 PM Rep. Tomei **1:30:44 PM** Joslin 1:30:50 PM Vice-Chair Krieger 1:30:56 PM Trico 1:31:04 PM Vice-Chair Krieger **1:31:08 PM** Sen. Ferrioli 1:31:13 PM Vice-Chair Krieger 1:32:02 PM Sen. Ferrioli 1:33:40 PM Rep. Barton 1:34:33 PM Sen. Ferrioli **1:36:52 PM** Rep. Barton **1:38:16 PM** Joslin **1:38:32 PM** Rep. Barton 1:38:44 PM Chair Barker **1:39:29 PM** Wyn Lohner, Chief of Police, Baker City 1:42:11 PM {Exhibit} 3: Ben Ward, brother of Frank Ward **1:54:46 PM** Chair Barker **1:56:00 PM** Brian Harvey, Chief of Police, La Grande (by phone) **1:59:40 PM** Rep. Tomei 2:00:07 PM Harvey 2:09:28 PM Lt. Derrick Reddington, La Grande Police Department 2:09:47 PM Chair Barker 2:09:54 PM Harvey 2:10:11 PM Sheriff Boyd Rasmussen, La Grande, Oregon 2:10:55 PM Chair Barker 2:10:59 PM Rep. Barton **2:11:21 PM** Chair Barker 2:11:37 PM Rep. Sherrie Sprenger, House District 17 2:16:55 PM {Exhibit} 4: Jay Scroggin, Executive Director, Oregon Board of Parole 2:21:32 PM Chair Barker 2:21:40 PM Scroggin 2:21:44 PM Rep. Williamson **2:21:49 PM** Scroggin 2:22:21 PM Rep. Williamson 2:22:32 PM Scroggin 2:22:43 PM Vice-Chair Garrett **2:22:56 PM** Scroggin 2:23:04 PM Kristin Winges-Yanez, Board Chairperson, Oregon Board of Parole 2:24:10 PM Rep. Cameron 2:24:31 PM Winges-Yanez **2:24:34 PM** Rep. Cameron 2:24:46 PM Winges-Yanez **2:25:24 PM** Rep. Cameron

2:25:33 PM Winges-Yanez 2:27:57 PM Chair Barker 2:28:24 PM Winges-Yanez

- 2:28:42 PM Chair Barker
- 2:29:30 PM Winges-Yanez
- 2:30:26 PM Chair Barker
- 2:30:36 PM Winges-Yanez
- 2:31:02 PM Vice-Chair Garrett
- 2:31:19 PM Winges-Yanez
- 2:31:27 PM Scroggin
- 2:33:08 PM Vice-Chair Garrett
- 2:33:20 PM Scroggin
- 2:33:33 PM Rep. Tomei
- 2:33:46 PM Winges-Yanez
- 2:34:31 PM Rep. Tomei
- 2:34:52 PM Winges-Yanez
- 2:35:57 PM Rep. Tomei
- 2:36:19 PM Winges-Yanez
- 2:36:28 PM Rep. Tomei
- 2:36:38 PM Scroggin
- 2:36:56 PM Rep. Tomei
- 2:37:08 PM Scroggin
- 2:37:14 PM Rep. Williamson
- 2:37:41 PM Winges-Yanez
- 2:38:14 PM Chair Barker
- 2:38:58 PM Winges-Yanez
- 2:39:28 PM Chair Barker
- 2:39:56 PM Rep. Barton
- 2:40:14 PM Winges-Yanez
- 2:40:39 PM Rep. Barton
- 2:41:21 PM Winges-Yanez
- 2:41:52 PM Rep. Barton
- 2:43:16 PM Rep. Sprenger
- 2:44:19 PM Winges-Yanez
- 2:44:32 PM Rep. Sprenger
- 2:44:35 PM Winges-Yanez
- 2:44:55 PM Rep. Sprenger
- 2:45:06 PM Chair Barker
- 2:45:09 PM Rep. Cameron
- 2:45:37 PM Scroggin
- 2:45:47 PM Chair Barker
- 2:46:15 PM Joshua Marguis, District Attorney, Clatsop County
- 2:50:54 PM Bob Hermann, District Attorney, Washington County
- 2:58:27 PM Rep. Sprenger
- 2:58:58 PM Marquis
- 2:59:41 PM Rep. Sprenger
- 3:00:31 PM Marguis
- **3:01:04 PM** Vice-Chair Krieger
- 3:02:07 PM Rep. Hicks

3:02:08 PM Chair Barker
3:02:14 PM Rep. Hicks
3:04:01 PM Chair Barker
3:04:13 PM Sen. Ferrioli
3:05:39 PM The following written testimony is submitted for the record without public testimony:
3:05:40 PM {Exhibit} 5: Glenn Palmer, Sheriff, Grant County
3:05:40 PM {Exhibit} 6: Susan Cederholm, Chair, Union County Local Public Safety Coordinating Council
3:05:40 PM {Exhibit} 7: David White, President, Oregon Peace Officers Association
3:05:40 PM {Exhibit} 8: Eric Bunday, Sergeant, Hillsboro Police Department
3:05:42 PM Chair Barker
3:05:49 PM Meeting Adjourned by Chair Barker

Exhibit Summary

| 1:21:01 PM | {Exhibit} 1: Oregon Board of Parole, written testimony, Jason Myers, 1 p {Exhibit} 2: Oregon Board of Parole, written testimony, Ryan Joslin, 23 pp |
|------------|---|
| 1:42:11 PM | {Exhibit} 3: Oregon Board of Parole, written testimony of Ron Schafer, Ben Ward, 1 p |
| 2:16:55 PM | {Exhibit} 4: Oregon Board of Parole, hearings process document, Jay Scroggin, 43 pp |
| 3:05:40 PM | {Exhibit} 5: Oregon Board of Parole, Glenn Palmer, 1 p |
| 3:05:40 PM | {Exhibit} 6: Oregon Board of Parole, written testimony, Susan Cederholm, 2 pp |
| | {Exhibit} 7: Oregon Board of Parole, written testimony, David White, 2 pp |
| 3:05:40 PM | {Exhibit} 8:Oregon Board of Parole, written testimony, Eric Bunday, 3 pp |