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HB 2555-1

(LC 810)

3/26/13 (ASD/ps)

PROPOSED AMENDMENTS TO

HOUSE BILL 2555

On page 1 of the printed bill, delete lines 9 through 30.

On page 2, delete lines 1 through 16 and insert:

“SECTION 2. (1) In addition to the taxes imposed under ORS 321.015

(1) to (3) and 321.017, there is imposed a severance tax on the harvest

of all timber from forestlands in this state at a rate of $15 per thou-

sand feet, board measure.

“(2) The severance tax imposed under subsection (1) of this section

is due and payable to the Department of Revenue in the manner and

following the procedure, including penalties and interest, set forth for

the collection of the privilege tax imposed under ORS 321.005 to 321.185.

“(3) The department shall adopt rules as necessary to effect the

purposes of sections 2 to 4 of this 2013 Act.

“SECTION 3. Revenue from the severance tax imposed under sec-

tion 2 of this 2013 Act shall be distributed as follows:

“(1) Three percent of the total revenue shall be retained by the

Department of Revenue to reimburse the department for the costs of

administering sections 2 to 4 of this 2013 Act.

“(2) Three percent of the total revenue shall be transferred to the

State Forestry Department Account established under ORS 526.060 to

reimburse the State Forester for the costs of certifying taxpayers and

performing other functions required under section 6 of this 2013 Act.

“(3) The remainder of the revenue shall be paid over by the de-



1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

28

29

30

partment to the State Treasurer and deposited in a suspense account

established under ORS 293.445.

“(4)(a) Notwithstanding ORS 291.238, the amount of moneys neces-

sary to pay refunds of the severance tax imposed under section 2 of

this 2013 Act is continuously appropriated to the department from the

suspense account established under subsection (3) of this section, and

shall be used by the department for the payment of all refunds of the

severance tax imposed under section 2 of this 2013 Act that have been

audited and approved by the department.

“(b) Any penalties, interest and taxes then due from the taxpayer

shall be applied in that order in computing any refund, and only the

balance due the taxpayer, if any, shall be refunded.

“(c) The department shall on its records charge each refund against

the revenue from the tax with respect to which the refund is made.

“(5) After payment of severance tax refunds under subsection (4)

of this section, the balance of the severance tax revenue in the sus-

pense account shall be deposited in the Oregon Timber Industry Sub-

sidy Account.

“SECTION 4. (1) The Oregon Timber Industry Subsidy Account is

established in the State Treasury, separate and distinct from the

General Fund. Interest earned by the Oregon Timber Industry Subsidy

Account shall be retained by the account.

“(2) Moneys are continuously appropriated from the Oregon Timber

Industry Subsidy Account to the Department of Revenue for use in

making the following payments:

“(a) An amount equal to $2 per thousand feet, board measure,

multiplied by the total harvest subject to the severance tax imposed

under section 2 of this 2013 Act in a reporting period, payable to each

county so that the amount received by each county bears the same

proportion to the amount received by all counties as the amount of
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severance tax revenue received from harvests in the county in the

reporting period bears to the total severance tax revenue received

from harvests in all counties in the reporting period; and

“(b) The refundable credit allowable under section 6 of this 2013 Act.

“(3) Moneys in excess of the amounts required for the payments

described in subsection (2) of this section, determined as of May 1 of

each year, shall be distributed on or before August 15 of each year to

each county so that the amount received by each county bears the

same proportion to the amount received by all counties as the amount

of severance tax revenue received from harvests in the county bears

to the total severance tax revenue received from harvests in all

counties.”.

In line 20, after “logs” insert “harvested and” and after “milled” insert

“to a diameter of not more than 12 inches”.

Delete line 22 and insert:

“(2) The amount of the credit may not exceed $12 per thousand feet, board

measure, and may be reduced as provided in section 6a (3) of this 2013

Act.”.

In line 42, after “Forester” insert “, in consultation with the Department

of Revenue,”.

After line 44, insert:

“SECTION 6a. (1) On or before February 15 of each year, the Di-

rector of the Department of Revenue shall certify the amount of net

revenue received by the Department of Revenue from the severance

tax imposed under section 2 of this 2013 Act during the previous cal-

endar year and paid over to the State Treasurer as required in section

3 (3) of this 2013 Act.

“(2) Total credits allowed under section 6 of this 2013 Act for all tax

years ending during any calendar year may not exceed the amount of

net revenue received for the calendar year and certified by the director
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as provided in subsection (1) of this section.

“(3) In the event that, for tax years ending in any calendar year,

the State Forester receives applications for tax credit certifications

under section 6 of this 2013 Act that, if allowed at a rate of $12 per

thousand feet, board measure, would exceed the amount of net reve-

nue certified by the director under subsection (1) of this section, the

director shall reduce the allowed tax credit rate in order that the total

amount of tax credits allowed to all taxpayers does not exceed the

certified amount of net revenue. On or before February 15 of each

year, the director shall announce the allowed rate of credit for tax

years ending in the previous calendar year.”.

On page 3, line 2, delete “and 6” and insert “, 6 and 6a”.

On page 9, line 19, delete “and 6” and insert “, 6 and 6a”.
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