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HB 2158-A13
(LC 1718)
5/22/13  (BLS/ps)

PROPOSED AMENDMENTS TO
A-ENGROSSED HOUSE BILL 2158

On page 1 of the printed A-engrossed bill, line 2, after “ORS” insert
“351.656 and”.

Delete lines 5 through 19 and delete page 2 and insert:

“SECTION 1. ORS 352.375 is amended to read:

“852.375. (1) A public university listed in ORS 352.002 or a community

college shall charge an enrolled student who is not a resident of this state
and who is attending classes as an undergraduate on a public university or
community college campus in this state tuition and fees no greater than the
resident rate [plus 50 percent of the difference between the resident rate and
the nonresident rate] if the student:

“(a) Served in the Armed Forces of the United States; [and]

“(b) Was relieved or discharged from that service [under honorable con-
ditions.] with either an honorable discharge or a general discharge un-
der honorable conditions; and

“(c) Provides proof that the student has established a physical
presence in Oregon within 12 months of being enrolled at the public
university or community college.

“[(2) Every public university listed in ORS 352.002 and community college
in this state shall participate to the fullest extent allowed in the federal edu-
cational assistance programs under the Supplemental Appropriations Act of
2008 (P.L. 110-252) so as to reduce the overall tuition rate for students eligible

for tuition rate reduction under subsection (1) of this section to the resident
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tuition rate.]

“[(3)] (2) A person who served in the Armed Forces of the United States
and who receives federal tuition benefits in excess of the tuition and fees the
person is charged under subsection (1) of this section at a public university
listed in ORS 352.002 or a community college where the person is enrolled
shall pay tuition and fees equal to the federal tuition benefits received.

“[(4)] (3) Distance education and self-support courses as identified by each
public university listed in ORS 352.002 and community college are exempt
from the tuition reduction provisions of this section.

“[(5)] (4) If a nonresident student otherwise eligible for tuition benefits
under this section is receiving federal vocational rehabilitation education
benefits, that student shall pay full nonresident tuition and fees charged by
a public university listed in ORS 352.002 or a community college.

“SECTION 2. ORS 351.656 is amended to read:

“351.656. (1) As used in this section:

“(a) ‘Child’ means a child, adopted child or stepchild of either a service

member or a Purple Heart recipient.

“(b) ‘Eligible post-secondary institution’ means:

“(A) A public university listed in ORS 352.002; and

“(B) The Oregon Health and Science University.

“(c) ‘Purple Heart recipient’ means a person, alive or deceased, who:

“(A) Served as a member of the Armed Forces of the United States
as defined in ORS 348.282;

“(B) Was relieved or discharged from service in the Armed Forces
of the United States with either an honorable discharge or a general
discharge under honorable conditions; and

“(C) Was awarded the Purple Heart in 2001 or thereafter for wounds
received in combat.

“I(c)] (d) ‘Qualified student’ means a child, a spouse or an unremarried

surviving spouse of either a service member or a Purple Heart recipient.
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“[(d)] (e) ‘Service member’ means a person who:

“(A) As a member of the Armed Forces of the United States, died on ac-
tive duty;

“B) As a member of the Armed Forces of the United States, died as a
result of a military service connected disability; or

“(C) Is 100 percent disabled as the result of a military service connected
disability, as certified by the United States Department of Veterans Affairs
or any branch of the Armed Forces of the United States.

“(2) Subject to subsections (3) to [(6)] (7) of this section, an eligible
post-secondary institution shall waive tuition for a qualified student for
courses that may lead to a baccalaureate degree or a master’s degree. A
qualified student who received a tuition waiver for a baccalaureate degree
may also qualify for a tuition waiver for a master’s degree.

“(3)(a) The maximum waiver granted under this section shall be as fol-
lows:

“(A) For a baccalaureate degree, the total number of credit hours that
equals four years of full-time attendance at an eligible post-secondary insti-
tution.

“(B) For a master’s degree, the total number of credit hours that equals
two years of full-time attendance at an eligible post-secondary institution.

“(b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a) of this subsection, a waiver may not
exceed the total number of credit hours the qualified student needs to grad-
uate with a baccalaureate degree or a master’s degree.

“(4) A waiver may be granted under this section only for credit hours for
courses that are offered by an eligible post-secondary institution and are
available for enrollment [regardless of whether the qualified student attends
the course and pays tuition].

“(5) A qualified student may receive a waiver under this section if the
student:

“(a) At the time of application for a waiver, is considered a resident of
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this state for the purpose of determining tuition to be paid at an eligible
post-secondary institution; and

“(b) Has been admitted to an eligible post-secondary institution for a
baccalaureate degree program or has been admitted to a master’s degree
program at an eligible post-secondary institution.

“6)(@) A child who applies for a waiver under this section must be 23
years of age or younger at the time the child applies for a waiver.

“(b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a) of this subsection, a child who is
older than 23 years of age is eligible for a waiver for a master’s degree if the
child:

“(A) Applied for and received a waiver for a baccalaureate degree when
the child was 23 years of age or younger; and

“(B) Applied for a waiver for a master’s degree within 12 months of re-
ceiving a baccalaureate degree.

“(7M)(a) The amount of tuition waived under this section may be re-
duced by the amount of any federal aid scholarships or grants, awards
from the Oregon Opportunity Grant program established under ORS
348.205, or any other aid from the eligible post-secondary institution,
received by the qualified student.

“(b) The amount of tuition waived under this section may not be
reduced by the amount of any Survivors’ and Dependents’ Educational
Assistance under 38 U.S.C. chapter 35 paid to a qualified student.

“SECTION 3. The State Board of Education and the State Board of

Higher Education shall report annually on or before February 1 to

committees of the Legislative Assembly related to veterans and mili-
tary affairs and to higher education regarding students who have re-
ceived tuition relief and assistance under ORS 351.656 and 352.375
including but not limited to the following:

“(1) The number of nonresident veterans who were assessed reduced

tuition rates under ORS 352.375 and the amount of nonresident tuition

HB 2158-A13 5/22/13
Proposed Amendments to A-Eng. HB 2158 Page 4



10

11

12

13

14

15

16

moneys not assessed as a result of receiving the reduced tuition rates
under ORS 352.375;

“(2) The number of qualified students receiving tuition waivers un-
der ORS 351.656, the amount of tuition waived and the relationship of
the qualified student to a service member or Purple Heart recipient
under ORS 351.656; and

“(3) Any other relevant information.

“SECTION 4. The amendments to ORS 351.656 and 352.375 by
sections 1 and 2 of this 2013 Act apply only to persons admitted as new

but not continuing students for enrollment to a community college, a
public university or an eligible post-secondary institution on or after
September 1, 2013.

“SECTION 5. This 2013 Act being necessary for the immediate

preservation of the public peace, health and safety, an emergency is

declared to exist, and this 2013 Act takes effect on its passage.”.
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