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HB 2748-16
(LC 885)
4/9/13 (HRL/ps)

PROPOSED AMENDMENTS TO
HOUSE BILL 2748

On page 1 of the printed bill, line 3, after “339.115” delete the rest of the
line and insert “, 339.133 and 339.141 and section 20, chapter 718, Oregon

Laws 2011, and section 5, chapter , Oregon Laws 2013 (Enrolled House

Bill 2747); and prescribing an effective date.”.
Delete lines 5 through 31 and delete pages 2 through 6 and insert:
“SECTION 1. ORS 339.115 is amended to read:
“339.115. (1) Except as provided in ORS 339.141, authorizing tuition for

courses not part of the regular school program, the district school board
shall admit free of charge to the schools of the district all persons between
the ages of 5 and 19 who reside within the school district. A person whose
19th birthday occurs during the school year shall continue to be eligible for
a free and appropriate public education for the remainder of the school year.
A district school board may admit nonresident persons, determine who is not
a resident of the district and fix rates of tuition for [nonresidents] persons
who are not residents of this state.

“(2)(a) A district must admit an otherwise eligible person who has not yet
attained 21 years of age prior to the beginning of the current school year if
the person is:

“(A) Receiving special education and has not yet received a high school
diploma as described in ORS 329.451 (2); or

“(B) Receiving special education and has received a modified diploma, an

extended diploma or an alternative certificate as described in ORS 329.451.
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“(b) A district may admit an otherwise eligible person who is not receiv-
ing special education and who has not yet attained 21 years of age prior to
the beginning of the current school year if the person is shown to be in need
of additional education in order to receive a high school diploma.

“(3) The obligation to make a free appropriate public education available
to individuals with disabilities 18 through 21 years of age who are
incarcerated in an adult correctional facility applies only to those individ-
uals who, in their last educational placement prior to their incarceration in
the adult correctional facility:

“(a) Were identified as being a child with a disability as defined in ORS
343.035; or

“(b) Had an individualized education program as described in ORS 343.151.

“(4) For purposes of subsection (3) of this section, ‘adult correctional fa-
cility’ means:

“(a) A local correctional facility as defined in ORS 169.005;

“(b) A regional correctional facility as defined in ORS 169.620; or

“(c) A Department of Corrections institution as defined in ORS 421.005.

“(5) An otherwise eligible person under subsection (2) of this section
whose 21st birthday occurs during the school year shall continue to be eli-
gible for a free appropriate public education for the remainder of the school
year.

“(6) The person may apply to the board of directors of the school district
of residence for admission after the 19th birthday as provided in subsection
(1) of this section. A person aggrieved by a decision of the local board may
appeal to the State Board of Education. The decision of the state board is
final and not subject to appeal.

“(7) Notwithstanding ORS 339.133 (1)(a), a school district shall not ex-
clude from admission a child located in the district solely because the child
does not have a fixed place of residence or solely because the child is not

under the supervision of a parent, guardian or person in a parental re-
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lationship.

“(8) Notwithstanding subsection (1) of this section, a school district:

“(a) May for the remaining period of an expulsion deny admission to the
regular school to a resident student who is expelled from another school
district; and

“(b) Shall for at least one calendar year from the date of the expulsion
and if the expulsion is for more than one calendar year, may for the re-
maining period of time deny admission to the regular school program to a
student who is under expulsion from another school district for an offense
that constitutes a violation of a school district policy adopted pursuant to
ORS 339.250 (6).

“(9) A child entering the first grade during the fall term shall be consid-
ered to be six years of age if the sixth birthday of the child occurs on or
before September 1. A child entering kindergarten during the fall term shall
be considered to be five years of age if the fifth birthday of the child occurs
on or before September 1. However, nothing in this section prevents a dis-
trict school board from admitting free of charge a child whose needs for
cognitive, social and physical development would best be met in the school
program, as defined by policies of the district school board, to enter school
even though the child has not attained the minimum age requirement but is
a resident of the district.

“SECTION 2. ORS 327.006 is amended to read:

“327.006. As used in ORS 327.006 to 327.133, 327.348 and 327.731:

“(1) ‘Aggregate days membership’ means the sum of days present and ab-

sent, according to the rules of the State Board of Education, of all resident
pupils when school is actually in session during a certain period. The ag-
gregate days membership of kindergarten pupils shall be calculated on the
basis of a half-day program.

“(2)(a) ‘Approved transportation costs’ means those costs as defined by

rule of the State Board of Education and is limited to those costs attribut-
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able to transporting or room and board provided in lieu of transporting:

“(A) Elementary school students who live at least one mile from school,

“(B) Secondary school students who live at least 1.5 miles from school;

“(C) Any student required to be transported for health or safety reasons,
according to supplemental plans from districts that have been approved by
the state board identifying students who are required to be transported for
health or safety reasons, including special education;

“(D) Preschool children with disabilities requiring transportation for
early intervention services provided pursuant to ORS 343.224 and 343.533;

“(E) Students who require payment of room and board in lieu of trans-
portation;

“(F) A student transported from one school or facility to another school
or facility when the student attends both schools or facilities during the day
or week; and

“(G) Students participating in school-sponsored field trips that are exten-
sions of classroom learning experiences.

“(b) ‘Approved transportation costs’ does not include the cost of con-
structing boarding school facilities.

“(8) ‘Average daily membership’ or ‘ADM’ means the aggregate days
membership of a school during a certain period divided by the number of
days the school was actually in session during the same period. However, if
a district school board adopts a class schedule that operates throughout the
year for all or any schools in the district, average daily membership shall
be computed by the Department of Education so that the resulting average
daily membership will not be higher or lower than if the board had not
adopted such schedule.

“(4) ‘Consumer Price Index’ means the Consumer Price Index for All Ur-
ban Consumers of the Portland, Oregon, Metropolitan Statistical Area, as
compiled by the United States Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Sta-

tisties.

HB 2748-16 4/9/13
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“(5) ‘Kindergarten’ means a kindergarten program that conforms to the
standards and rules adopted by the State Board of Education.

“(6) ‘Net operating expenditures’ means the sum of expenditures of a
school district in kindergarten through grade 12 for administration, instruc-
tion, attendance and health services, operation of plant, maintenance of
plant, fixed charges and tuition for resident students attending in another
[district] state, as determined in accordance with the rules of the State
Board of Education, but net operating expenditures does not include trans-
portation, food service, student body activities, community services, capital
outlay, debt service or expenses incurred for nonresident students.

“(7)(a) ‘Resident pupil’ means any pupil:

“(A) Whose legal school residence is within the boundaries of a school
district reporting the pupil, if the district is legally responsible for the edu-
cation of the pupil, [except that ‘resident pupil’ does not include a pupil who
pays tuition or for whom the parent pays tuition or for whom the district does
not pay] the district does not receive tuition for the pupil, and, if ap-
plicable, the district pays tuition for placement outside the [district]
state; or

“(B) Whose legal residence is not within the boundaries of the district
reporting the pupil but who attends school in the district with the written
consent of the district school board where the school is located as provided
by ORS 339.133 (5).

“(b) A pupil is not considered to be a resident pupil under paragraph
(a)(A) of this subsection if the pupil is attending school in another school
district pursuant to a contract under ORS 339.125 and in the prior year was
considered to be a resident pupil in another school district under paragraph
(a)(B) of this subsection. The pupil shall continue to be considered a resident
of another school district under paragraph (a)(B) of this subsection.

“(¢) A pupil is not considered to be a resident pupil under paragraph

(a)(B) of this subsection if the pupil is attending school in a school district

HB 2748-16 4/9/13
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pursuant to ORS 339.133 (5) and in the prior year was considered to be a
resident pupil under paragraph (a)(A) of this subsection because the pupil
was attending school in another school district pursuant to a contract under
ORS 339.125. The pupil shall continue to be considered a resident pupil under
paragraph (a)(A) of this subsection.

“(d) ‘Resident pupil’ includes a pupil admitted to a school district under
ORS 339.115 (7).

“(8) ‘Standard school’ means a school meeting the standards set by the
rules of the State Board of Education.

“9) ‘Tax’ and ‘taxes’ includes all taxes on property, excluding exempt
bonded indebtedness, as those terms are defined in ORS 310.140.

“SECTION 3. ORS 327.006, as amended by section 7, chapter 704, Oregon
Laws 2011, is amended to read:

“327.006. As used in ORS 327.006 to 327.133, 327.348 and 327.731:

“(1) ‘Aggregate days membership’ means the sum of days present and ab-

sent, according to the rules of the State Board of Education, of all resident
pupils when school is actually in session during a certain period. The ag-
gregate days membership of kindergarten pupils shall be calculated on the
basis of a half-day program for half-day kindergarten and on the basis of a
full-day program for full-day kindergarten.

“(2)(a) ‘Approved transportation costs’ means those costs as defined by
rule of the State Board of Education and is limited to those costs attribut-
able to transporting or room and board provided in lieu of transporting:

“(A) Elementary school students who live at least one mile from school,

“(B) Secondary school students who live at least 1.5 miles from school;

“(C) Any student required to be transported for health or safety reasons,
according to supplemental plans from districts that have been approved by
the state board identifying students who are required to be transported for
health or safety reasons, including special education;

“(D) Preschool children with disabilities requiring transportation for

HB 2748-16 4/9/13
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early intervention services provided pursuant to ORS 343.224 and 343.533;

“(E) Students who require payment of room and board in lieu of trans-
portation;

“F) A student transported from one school or facility to another school
or facility when the student attends both schools or facilities during the day
or week; and

“(G) Students participating in school-sponsored field trips that are exten-
sions of classroom learning experiences.

“(b) ‘Approved transportation costs’ does not include the cost of con-
structing boarding school facilities.

“(3) ‘Average daily membership’ or ‘ADM’ means the aggregate days
membership of a school during a certain period divided by the number of
days the school was actually in session during the same period. However, if
a district school board adopts a class schedule that operates throughout the
year for all or any schools in the district, average daily membership shall
be computed by the Department of Education so that the resulting average
daily membership will not be higher or lower than if the board had not
adopted such schedule.

“(4) ‘Consumer Price Index’ means the Consumer Price Index for All Ur-
ban Consumers of the Portland, Oregon, Metropolitan Statistical Area, as
compiled by the United States Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Sta-
tistics.

“(5) ‘Kindergarten’ means a kindergarten program that conforms to the
standards and rules adopted by the State Board of Education.

“(6) ‘Net operating expenditures’ means the sum of expenditures of a
school district in kindergarten through grade 12 for administration, instruc-
tion, attendance and health services, operation of plant, maintenance of
plant, fixed charges and tuition for resident students attending in another
[district] state, as determined in accordance with the rules of the State

Board of Education, but net operating expenditures does not include trans-
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portation, food service, student body activities, community services, capital
outlay, debt service or expenses incurred for nonresident students.

“(7)(a) ‘Resident pupil’ means any pupil:

“(A) Whose legal school residence is within the boundaries of a school
district reporting the pupil, if the district is legally responsible for the edu-
cation of the pupil, [except that ‘resident pupil’ does not include a pupil who
pays tuition or for whom the parent pays tuition or for whom the district does
not pay] the district does not receive tuition for the pupil, and, if ap-
plicable, the district pays tuition for placement outside the [district]
state; or

“(B) Whose legal residence is not within the boundaries of the district
reporting the pupil but who attends school in the district with the written
consent of the district school board where the school is located as provided
by ORS 339.133 (5).

“(b) A pupil is not considered to be a resident pupil under paragraph
(a)(A) of this subsection if the pupil is attending school in another school
district pursuant to a contract under ORS 339.125 and in the prior year was
considered to be a resident pupil in another school district under paragraph
(a)(B) of this subsection. The pupil shall continue to be considered a resident
of another school district under paragraph (a)(B) of this subsection.

“(c) A pupil is not considered to be a resident pupil under paragraph
(a)(B) of this subsection if the pupil is attending school in a school district
pursuant to ORS 339.133 (5) and in the prior year was considered to be a
resident pupil under paragraph (a)(A) of this subsection because the pupil
was attending school in another school district pursuant to a contract under
ORS 339.125. The pupil shall continue to be considered a resident pupil under
paragraph (a)(A) of this subsection.

“(d) ‘Resident pupil’ includes a pupil admitted to a school district under
ORS 339.115 (7).

“(8) ‘Standard school’ means a school meeting the standards set by the

HB 2748-16 4/9/13
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rules of the State Board of Education.

“9) Tax’ and ‘taxes’ includes all taxes on property, excluding exempt
bonded indebtedness, as those terms are defined in ORS 310.140.

“SECTION 4. ORS 335.090 is amended to read:

“335.090. (1) The high school education of all children of school age resi-

dent within a school district that does not operate a high school or that is
not a component part of a union high school district shall be the responsi-
bility of the district.

“(2) The district shall pay the tuition of all pupils resident within the
district who are qualified to attend and are attending a standard public high
school [either within or] outside the state.

“(3) The district shall provide for transportation to the nearest standard
public high school which pupils may attend. Reasonable board and room
may be furnished instead of transportation if desired. If the district arranges
for the attendance of pupils at a standard public high school other than the
nearest one pupils may attend, then the district shall provide for transpor-
tation to the standard public high school which the pupils are attending.

“(4) The estimated cost of tuition and transportation or board and room
instead of transportation shall be included in and be a part of the budget
and shall be levied as provided in ORS 335.095.

“SECTION 5. ORS 339.141 is amended to read:

“339.141. (1) For the purposes of this section:

“(a) ‘Public charter school’ has the meaning given that term in ORS
338.005.

“(b) ‘Regular school program’ means the regular curriculum provided in
the required full-time day sessions in the schools of the district, including
public charter schools, for grades 1 through 12 and the school program for
kindergarten during the period of approximately nine months each year when
the schools of the district or public charter schools are normally in operation

and does not include summer sessions or evening sessions.

HB 2748-16 4/9/13
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“(c) ‘Tuition’ means payment for the cost of instruction and does not in-
clude fees authorized under ORS 339.155.

“(2) Except as provided in subsection (3) of this section, district school
boards and public charter schools may establish tuition rates to be paid by
pupils receiving instruction in educational programs, classes or courses of
study, including traffic safety education, which are not a part of the regular
school program. Tuition charges, if made, shall not exceed the estimated cost
to the district or public charter school of furnishing the program, class or
course of study.

“(3) Except as provided in ORS 336.805 for traffic safety education:

“(a) [No] Tuition [shall] may not be charged to any [resident] pupil reg-
ularly enrolled in the regular school program for special instruction received
at any time in connection [therewith] with the regular school program,
unless the pupil is not a resident of this state.

“(b) No program, class or course of study for which tuition is charged,
except courses of study beyond the 12th grade, shall be eligible for re-
imbursement from state funds.

“SECTION 6. ORS 339.141, as amended by section 5, chapter 704, Oregon
Laws 2011, is amended to read:

“339.141. (1) For the purposes of this section:

“(a) ‘Public charter school’ has the meaning given that term in ORS
338.005.

“(b) ‘Regular school program’ means the regular curriculum that is pro-
vided in the schools of the school district, including public charter schools,
and that is provided:

“(A) As required full-day sessions in grades 1 through 12;

“(B) As required half-day sessions in kindergarten or as optional full-day
sessions in kindergarten; and

“(C) During the hours and months when the schools of the school district

or public charter schools are normally in operation, except summer sessions

HB 2748-16 4/9/13
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or evening sessions.

“(c) ‘“Tuition’ means payment for the cost of instruction and does not in-
clude fees authorized under ORS 339.155.

“(2) Except as provided in subsection (3) of this section, district school
boards and public charter schools may establish tuition rates to be paid by
pupils receiving instruction in educational programs, classes or courses of
study, including traffic safety education, which are not a part of the regular
school program. Tuition charges, if made, shall not exceed the estimated cost
to the district or public charter school of furnishing the program, class or
course of study.

“(3) Except as provided in ORS 336.805 for traffic safety education:

“(a) [No] Tuition [shalll may not be charged to any [resident] pupil reg-
ularly enrolled in the regular school program for special instruction received
at any time in connection [therewith] with the regular school program,
unless the pupil is not a resident of this state.

“(b) No program, class or course of study for which tuition is charged,
except courses of study beyond the 12th grade, shall be eligible for re-
imbursement from state funds.

“SECTION 7. The amendments to ORS 327.006, 335.090, 339.115 and
339.141 by sections 1 to 6 of this 2013 Act first apply to the 2014-2015
school year.

“SECTION 8. (1) Notwithstanding ORS 339.115 and 339.141, a district

school board may fix rates of tuition for students who are residents

of this state and may charge tuition for instruction received in con-
nection with the regular school program for those students only as
provided by this section.

“(2) A district school board may accept students who are residents
of this state for admission and charge those students tuition only if
the district school board charged students who are residents of this

state tuition for the 2013-2014 school year.
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“@3)(a) A district school board that charges tuition as provided by
this section:

“(A) Must accept and process all applications;

“(B) May not charge tuition for instruction received in connection
with the regular school program and may not impose or collect fees
authorized under ORS 339.155 from a student if the student is a resi-
dent of this state who:

“(i) Qualifies for free or reduced priced lunches under the United
States Department of Agriculture’s National School Lunch Program;
or

“(i) Is a ward of a juvenile court, the Oregon Youth Authority or
the Department of Human Services; and

“(C) Must provide on an application for admission an explanation
of the requirements with which the district school board must comply
as provided by subparagraphs (A) and (B) of this paragraph.

“(b) For the purpose of this subsection, if the number of students
seeking admission to the school district exceeds the number of stu-
dents that the district school board has determined will be accepted
for admission under subsection (4) of this section, the application of
a student described in paragraph (a)(B) of this subsection is subject
to the admission process described in subsection (4)(b) of this section.

“(c) Nothing in this subsection gives priority for admission to a
student described in paragraph (a)(B) of this subsection.

“(4)(a) A district school board that charges tuition as provided by
this section may impose a limit on the number of students that the
board will accept for admission under this section.

“(b) If the number of students seeking admission exceeds the
number of students that the district school board has determined will
be accepted for admission, the board shall admit students based on an

equitable lottery selection process. The process may give priority to
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students who have siblings currently enrolled in a school of the school
district.

“(c)(A) Notwithstanding an equitable lottery selection process that
is implemented as provided by this subsection, a district school board
may increase the limit imposed under paragraph (a) of this subsection
if the total expected revenue from tuition and State School Fund dis-
tributions for all students of the school district is less than 80 percent
of the total expected revenue from tuition and State School Fund dis-
tributions that would have been received if all students who are ac-
cepted under this section paid tuition.

“(B) The increased limit as provided by this paragraph:

“(i) May be restricted to allow the district school board to accept
only students who will pay tuition; and

“(ii) May be allowed only until the percentage described in subpar-
agraph (A) of this paragraph equals 82 percent or less.

“(5) If a district school board implements an equitable lottery se-
lection process as provided by subsection (4) of this section and a
student described in subsection (3)(a)(B) of this section is selected, the
board must accept the student and may not charge tuition or impose
or collect fees as described in subsection (3)(a)(B) of this section.

“(@6)(a) For each school year, the district school board shall deter-
mine whether a student:

“(A) Qualifies for free or reduced priced lunches under the United
States Department of Agriculture’s National School Lunch Program;
or

“B) Is a ward of a juvenile court, the Oregon Youth Authority or
the Department of Human Services.

“(b) For each school year that a student accepted as provided by
this section qualifies for a free or reduced priced lunch or is a ward,

the district school board may not charge tuition and the student shall

HB 2748-16 4/9/13
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be considered a resident of the school district as provided by ORS
339.133 (5).

“(c) Any change in status as the result of a determination made
under paragraph (a) of this section does not affect the ability of the
student to attend the schools of the school district.

“(7)(a) A parent or guardian of a student not described in subsection
(3)(a)(B) of this section who believes that payment of all or part of the
tuition or other fees is a severe hardship may request that the district
school board waive in whole or in part the payment of tuition or fees.
The district school board shall waive the tuition or fees in whole or in
part upon a finding of severe hardship. A waiver is valid for one school
year and shall be reviewed annually.

“(b) A district school board that charges tuition as provided by this
section shall adopt policies establishing factors that constitute a se-
vere hardship under this subsection.

“(c) If a district school board waives tuition in whole as provided
by this subsection, the student shall be considered a resident of the
school district as provided by ORS 339.133 (5).

“(d) Any change in waiver as the result of a review made under
paragraph (a) of this subsection does not affect the ability of the stu-
dent to attend the schools of the school district.

“(8) A district school board that accepts students as provided by this
section:

“(a) Must accept those students as long as those students are enti-
tled to a public education under state or federal law; and

“(b) May not accept any distributions from the State School Fund
for any student who is a resident of this state who pays tuition under
this section, except as provided by subsections (3)(a)(B) and (7)(c) of
this section.

“SECTION 9. (1) Section 8 of this 2013 Act first applies to students

HB 2748-16 4/9/13
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who are residents of this state and who are accepted for the 2014-2015
school year.

“(2) A district school board may take any action before the effective
date of this 2013 Act that is necessary to enable the district school
board to comply with the requirements of section 8 (3)(a)(C) of this
2013 Act.

“SECTION 10. Section 20, chapter 718, Oregon Laws 2011, is amended to
read:

“Sec. 20. (1) The amendments to ORS 327.006, 329.485, 332.405, 339.115,
339.134 and 343.151 by sections 11 to 14, 17 and 18 [of this 2011 Act], chapter
718, Oregon Laws 2011, become operative on January 1, 2012.

“(2) The amendments to ORS 339.133 by section 19 [of this 2011 Actl,
chapter 718, Oregon Laws 2011, become operative on July 1, [2017] 2014.

“3) The amendments to ORS 339.133 by section 19 [of this 2011 Act],
chapter 718, Oregon Laws 2011, first apply to the [2017-2018] 2014-2015
school year.

“SECTION 11. ORS 339.133, as amended by sections 4 and 19, chapter
718, Oregon Laws 2011, is amended to read:

“339.133. (1)(a) Except as provided in subsections (2) to (5) of this section,

children between the ages of 4 and 18 shall be considered resident for school
purposes in the school district in which their parents, their guardians or
persons in parental relationship to them reside.

“(b) Nonemancipated individuals between the ages of 4 and 18 living
outside the geographic area of the school district for such reasons as at-
tending college, military service, hospital confinement or employment away
from home shall be considered resident in the district in which their parents,
their guardians or persons in parental relationship to them reside.

“(c) Persons living temporarily in a school district for the primary pur-
pose of attending a district school may not be considered resident in the

district in which they are living temporarily, but shall be considered resident
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in the district in which they, their parents, their guardians or persons in
parental relationship to them reside.

“(2) Individuals considered legally emancipated from their parents shall
be considered resident in the district in which they actually reside, irre-
spective of the residence of their parents, their guardians or persons in par-
ental relationship.

“(3) Children placed by public or private agencies who are living in li-
censed, certified or approved substitute care programs shall be considered
resident in the school district in which they reside because of placement by
a public or private agency.

“(4)(a) Notwithstanding subsection (3) of this section, when a juvenile
court determines that it is in a child’s best interest to continue to attend the
school that the child attended prior to placement by a public agency, the
child:

“(A) Shall be considered resident for school purposes in the school district
in which the child resided prior to the placement; and

“(B) May continue to attend the school the child attended prior to the
placement through the highest grade level of the school.

“(b) The public agency that has placed the child shall be responsible for
providing the child with transportation to and from school when the need for
transportation is due to the placement by the public agency.

“(c) Paragraph (b) of this subsection applies only to a public agency for
which funds have been designated for the specific purpose of providing a
child with transportation to and from school under this subsection.

“(5) Except as provided in ORS 327.006 (7) and 335.090, persons whose le-
gal residence is not within the district but who attend school in the district
are considered residents in the district in which the persons attend school
if those persons:

“(a) Receive written consent from both of the affected district school

boards as provided by policies adopted by the boards|.];
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“(b) Attend the schools of the district as provided under section 8
of this 2013 Act and:

“(A) Can be described as provided by section 8 (3)(a)(B) of this 2013
Act; or

“(B) Has had tuition waived in whole as provided by section 8 (7)(c)
of this 2013 Act; or

“(c) Receive written consent from the district school board for the
district in which the school is located as provided by section 9, chapter
718, Oregon Laws 2011.

“(6) For the purposes of this section:

“(a) ‘Person in parental relationship’ means an adult who has physical
custody of a child or resides in the same household as the child, interacts
with the child daily, provides the child with food, clothing, shelter and in-
cidental necessaries and provides the child with necessary care, education
and discipline. ‘Person in parental relationship’ does not mean a person with
a power of attorney or other written delegation of parental responsibilities
if the person does not have other evidence of a parental relationship.

“(b) ‘Substitute care program’ means family foster care, family group
home care, parole foster care, family shelter care, adolescent shelter care and
professional group care.

“SECTION 12. ORS 339.133, as amended by sections 4 and 19, chapter
718, Oregon Laws 2011, and section 11 of this 2013 Act, is amended to read:

“339.133. (1)(a) Except as provided in subsections (2) to (5) of this section,

children between the ages of 4 and 18 shall be considered resident for school
purposes in the school district in which their parents, their guardians or
persons in parental relationship to them reside.

“(b) Nonemancipated individuals between the ages of 4 and 18 living
outside the geographic area of the school district for such reasons as at-
tending college, military service, hospital confinement or employment away

from home shall be considered resident in the district in which their parents,
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their guardians or persons in parental relationship to them reside.

“(c) Persons living temporarily in a school district for the primary pur-
pose of attending a district school may not be considered resident in the
district in which they are living temporarily, but shall be considered resident
in the district in which they, their parents, their guardians or persons in
parental relationship to them reside.

“(2) Individuals considered legally emancipated from their parents shall
be considered resident in the district in which they actually reside, irre-
spective of the residence of their parents, their guardians or persons in par-
ental relationship.

“(3) Children placed by public or private agencies who are living in li-
censed, certified or approved substitute care programs shall be considered
resident in the school district in which they reside because of placement by
a public or private agency.

“(4)(a) Notwithstanding subsection (3) of this section, when a juvenile
court determines that it is in a child’s best interest to continue to attend the
school that the child attended prior to placement by a public agency, the
child:

“(A) Shall be considered resident for school purposes in the school district
in which the child resided prior to the placement; and

“(B) May continue to attend the school the child attended prior to the
placement through the highest grade level of the school.

“(b) The public agency that has placed the child shall be responsible for
providing the child with transportation to and from school when the need for
transportation is due to the placement by the public agency.

“(c) Paragraph (b) of this subsection applies only to a public agency for
which funds have been designated for the specific purpose of providing a
child with transportation to and from school under this subsection.

“(5) Except as provided in ORS 327.006 (7) and 335.090, persons whose le-

gal residence is not within the district but who attend school in the district
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are considered residents in the district in which the persons attend school
if those persons:

“(a) Receive written consent from both of the affected district school
boards as provided by policies adopted by the boards; or

“(b) Attend the schools of the district as provided under section 8 of this
2013 Act and:

“(A) Can be described as provided by section 8 (3)(a)(B) of this 2013 Act;
or

“(B) Has had tuition waived in whole as provided by section 8 (7)(c) of
this 2013 Act.[; or]

“[(c) Receive written consent from the district school board for the district
in which the school is located as provided by section 9, chapter 718, Oregon
Laws 2011.]

“(6) For the purposes of this section:

“(a) ‘Person in parental relationship’ means an adult who has physical
custody of a child or resides in the same household as the child, interacts
with the child daily, provides the child with food, clothing, shelter and in-
cidental necessaries and provides the child with necessary care, education
and discipline. ‘Person in parental relationship’ does not mean a person with
a power of attorney or other written delegation of parental responsibilities
if the person does not have other evidence of a parental relationship.

“(b) ‘Substitute care program’ means family foster care, family group
home care, parole foster care, family shelter care, adolescent shelter care and
professional group care.

“SECTION 13. (1) The amendments to ORS 339.133 by section 12 of
this 2013 Act become operative on July 1, 2017.

“(2) The amendments to ORS 339.133 by section 12 of this 2013 Act
first apply to the 2017-2018 school year.

“SECTION 14. (1) Each district school board that charges tuition
as provided by section 8 of this 2013 Act must submit a report to the
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appropriate interim legislative committees related to education.

“(2) The interim legislative committees to which a report is sub-
mitted as provided by subsection (1) of this section must hold a public
hearing to allow the district school boards to make public comments
regarding the reports.

“(3) Reports submitted as provided by this section must be submit-
ted:

“(a) No later than October 1, 2014, if the district school board
charges tuition as provided by section 8 of this 2013 Act for the
2014-2015 school year.

“(b) No later than October 1, 2016, if the district school board
charges tuition as provided by section 8 of this 2013 Act for the
2015-2016 or 2016-2017 school year.

“SECTION 15. If House Bill 2747 becomes law, section 5, chapter __,
Oregon Laws 2013 (Enrolled House Bill 2747), is amended to read:

“Sec. 5. (1)(a) A district school board that admits nonresident students

and charges nonresident students tuition may not consider race, religion, sex,
sexual orientation, ethnicity, national origin, disability, health, whether a
student has an individualized education program, the terms of an individ-
ualized education program, income level, residence, proficiency in the Eng-
lish language, athletic ability or academic records when:

“[(a)] (A) Determining whether to accept a nonresident student; or

“I(b)] (B) Establishing the amount of tuition.

“(b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a) of this subsection, a district
school board may consider income level after a student has been ad-
mitted if the parent or guardian of the student requests a waiver as
provided by section 8 (7) of this 2013 Act.

“(2) A district school board that admits nonresident students and charges
nonresident students tuition may require a student seeking to attend the

schools of the school district to provide the following information:
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“(a) The name, contact information, date of birth and grade level of the
student; and

“(b) Information about whether the school district may be prevented or
otherwise limited from admitting the student as provided by ORS 339.115 (8).

“(3) A district school board that admits nonresident students and charges
nonresident students tuition may not:

“(a) Request or require any person to provide or have provided any of the
following information related to a student prior to the district school board
deciding whether to admit the student:

“(A) Information about the student’s race, religion, sex, sexual orien-
tation, ethnicity, national origin, disability, health, whether a student has
an individualized education program, the terms of an individualized educa-
tion program, income level, residence, proficiency in the English language
or athletic ability; or

“(B) Academic records, including eligibility for or participation in a tal-
ented and gifted program or special education and related services.

“(b) Request or require the student to participate in an interview or to
otherwise meet with any representatives of a school or a school district prior
to the district school board deciding whether to admit the student.

“(c) Request any information used to supplement the information de-
scribed in subsection (2) of this section prior to deciding whether to admit
the student.

“(4) If a district school board decides to deny admission to a nonresident
student and to charge the nonresident student tuition, the board must pro-
vide a written explanation to the student.

“(5) Nothing in this section:

“(a) Prevents a district school board from denying admission to a non-
resident student as provided by ORS 339.115 (8).

“(b) Prevents a district school board from requesting information or ad-

mitting a student in the event of an emergency to protect the health, safety
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1 or welfare of the student.

2 “(c) Prevents a district school board from requesting any informa-
3 tion related to income level for the purposes of complying with the
4 provisions of section 8 (3)(a)(B), (4)(c), (6) or (7) of this 2013 Act, or
5 from requesting any information to confirm that a student is entitled
6 to a public education under state or federal law after the student has
7 been admitted.

8 “SECTION 16. This 2013 Act takes effect July 1, 2014.”.
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