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Measure Description: 
Modifies crime of endangering the welfare of a minor. 
 
Government Unit(s) Affected:  
Department of Corrections, District Attorneys and their Deputies, Judicial Department, Oregon Criminal 
Justice Commission, Oregon Youth Authority (OYA), Public Defense Services Commission, Cities, 
Counties 
 
Summary of Expenditure Impact: 

Agency – Fund Type 2013-2015 Biennium 2015-2017 Biennium 

Department of Corrections – General Fund   

     Prison Cost $624,367 $817,815 

     Special Payments ($308,983) ($482,389) 

Total Cost  $315,384 $335,426 

Agency – Fund Type 2013-2015 Biennium 2015-2017 Biennium 

Public Defense Services Commission – General Fund $40,800 $40,800 

 
Local Government Mandate: 
This bill does not affect local governments' service levels or shared revenues sufficient to trigger Section 
15, Article XI of the Oregon Constitution. 
 
Analysis: 
The measure modifies the crime of endangering the welfare of a minor by expanding it to include when a 
person knowingly permits a person less than 18 years of age to enter or remain in a place where 
unlawful activity involving cocaine, heroin or methamphetamine is maintained or conducted. The 
measure makes this offense a Class C felony. Currently, the offense is a Class A misdemeanor. The -1 
amendment requires a chemical test of the blood, urine or hair of the person under 18 to confirm 
exposure to cocaine, heroin or methamphetamine and requires the Criminal Justice Commission to 
classify the offense as a category 6 of the sentencing guidelines grid. 
 
The Criminal Justice Commission (CJC) assumes that the change to the crime of endangerment will 
actually result in an increase in cases that were formerly charged as possession of a controlled 
substance that can now be charged as endangerment. The sentence for possession of a controlled 
substance is currently 18 months of probation with one year post-prison supervision and does not 
change when a person under 18 is present. CJC assumes that in instances where a person under 18 is 
present, those possession charges would now be increased to endangering as modified by the 
measure. CJC notes that the new provision of endangering being treated as a category 6 on the 
sentencing guidelines grid will result in 12 months of incarceration with two years of post-prison 
supervision. 
 
In 2012, CJC reports there were 2,533 convictions for possession of a controlled substance. CJC 
estimates that only 51 (2%) of the convictions for possession would become convictions for endangering 
the welfare of a minor because of the additional requirement of testing positive for drug exposure. This 
change will result in a shift from probation under supervision of counties to incarceration in a Department 
of Corrections (DOC) facility. 
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DOC estimates a three-month lag between the effective date and recipient of the first offenders. 
Included in the cost estimates in the above table are funds that would be reduced from community 
corrections departments of counties for the decrease in probation cases and an increase to DOC for the 
additional costs of incarceration. The estimates are based on the marginal cost per day in a DOC facility 
of $21.93 and the cost per day for probation of $8.64. 
 
These cost estimates could vary depending on the actual number of cases, convictions and length of 
sentences issued. Thus far in the 2013 legislative session, this is the eleventh fiscal impact statement 
issued by the Legislative Fiscal Office on measures effecting the corrections population. DOC estimates 
are based on utilizing 489 available emergency beds at the marginal cost per day rate of $21.93. If 
emergency bed capacity is exceeded by the cumulative effects of measures passed during the session, 
DOC may need to establish permanent beds at a cost per day of $98.82. The cumulative effect of similar 
measures passed during the legislative session will impact the Corrections Population Forecast 
produced by the Office of Economic Analysis which serves as the basis for funding the DOC operations 
and community corrections budgets. 
 
The Public Defense Services Commission (PDSC) notes that the cost of representation for a 
misdemeanor is $350 while the cost of representation of a Class C felony is $750. Using the CJC 
numbers provided above, 51 cases per year would be increased from a misdemeanor to a Class C 
felony. Assuming all defendants would be eligible for court-appointed counsel, the estimated cost to 
PDSC could be as much as $40,800 General Fund per biennium from the classification change. 
 
Oregon Youth Authority does not anticipate a fiscal impact as a result of this measure. 
 
There is minimal fiscal impact to the Judicial Department and District Attorney’s and Their Deputies as a 
result of this measure. 


