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Measure Description: 
Expands the offense of driving while under influence of intoxicants to include being under the influence 
of any of five additional specified drugs. 
 
Government Unit(s) Affected:  
Department of Corrections, District Attorneys and their Deputies, Oregon Department of Transportation, 
Public Defense Services Commission, Department of Justice, Judicial Department, Oregon State Police, 
Oregon Criminal Justice Commission, Cities, Counties 
 
Summary of Expenditure Impact: 

Agency – Fund Type 2013-2015 
Biennium 

2015-2017 
Biennium 

Department of Corrections – General Fund 

     Prison Cost $14,760 $47,233 

     Special Payments to Counties $4,056 $12,980 

Total Cost $18,817 $60,214 

Agency – Fund Type 2013-2015 2015-2017 

Public Defense Services Commission – General Fund $90,000 $90,000 

 
Local Government Mandate: 
This bill does not affect local governments' service levels or shared revenues sufficient to trigger Section 
15, Article XI of the Oregon Constitution. 
 
Analysis: 
The -11 amendment broadens the definition of “intoxicant” to include intoxicating liquor, controlled 
substances, inhalants or any of the following drugs: amitriptyline, cyclobenzaprine, diphenhydramine, 
dextromethorphan, tramadol. Currently, a person may be charged with the offense of Driving Under the 
Influence of Intoxicants (DUII) if they are under the influence of alcohol, a controlled substance, an 
inhalant or any combination of the three. The measure will not have an impact on the number of DUII 
arrests conducted. DUII arrests are made because the driver is impaired; it is only after the arrest that a 
determination is made as to what substance (alcohol, controlled substance, inhalant, or non-controlled 
substance) caused the impairment. The broadened definition of “intoxicant” is repealed January 1, 2018. 
The measure is effective January 1, 2014.  
 
According to the Drug Recognition State Coordinator, it is estimated that the measure’s expanding of the 
offense of DUII will result in approximately 100 additional DUII charges per year. Based on historical 
DUII conviction data, the Criminal Justice Commission (CJC) estimates that approximately 5% of the 
100 additional DUII cases would result in felony convictions and that 43% of these felony convictions 
would result in incarceration with the remainder going to county community corrections. As a result, the 
Department of Corrections (DOC) estimates two additional inmates in DOC facilities per year with an 
estimated length of stay of 17 months, and three additional offenders per year in county community 
corrections departments with an estimated 14 months of supervision per biennium. 
 
DOC estimates a three-month lag between the effective date and receipt of the first offenders. Included 
in the cost estimates in the above table are funds that would be distributed to the community corrections 
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departments of counties for costs of probation, post-prison supervision, and local control. DOC assumes 
any incarcerated inmates will be distributed into existing housing facilities and there would be no 
additional costs for staffing or construction. These cost estimates could vary depending on the actual 
number of cases, convictions and length of sentences issued. 
 
The Public Defense Services Commission (PDSC) notes that the cost of representation for 
misdemeanors is $350 and the average cost for representation of a Class C felony is $750. PDSC also 
anticipates the need for scientific testimony related to chemical equivalency in cases that go to trial 
involving the drugs included in the definition of “intoxicant”. Using the same case estimates from the 
Drug Recognition State Coordinator and CJC, the estimated cost per year for PDSC’s could be as much 
as $37,000 assuming all defendants qualified for count-appointed counsel with an additional $8,000 for 
potential expert witness costs for a total estimate of $45,000 per year. 
 
There is a minimal fiscal impact to the Department of Transportation, Department of Justice, District 
Attorney’s and their Deputies, Oregon State Police, and the Judicial Department as a result of this 
measure. 


