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Measure Description:
Modifies crime of endangering the welfare of a minor.

Government Unit(s) Affected:

Department of Corrections, District Attorneys and their Deputies, Judicial Department, Oregon Criminal
Justice Commission, Oregon Youth Authority (OYA), Public Defense Services Commission, Cities,

Counties

Summary of Expenditure Impact:

Agency — Fund Type 2013-2015 Biennium | 2015-2017 Biennium
Department of Corrections — General Fund
Prison Cost $3,121,836 $4,061,813
Special Payments ($1,544,914) ($2,395,866)
Total Cost $1,576,922 $1,665,947
Agency — Fund Type 2013-2015 Biennium | 2015-2017 Biennium
Public Defense Services Commission — General Fund $202,400 $202,400

Local Government Mandate:
This bill does not affect local governments' service levels or shared revenues sufficient to trigger Section
15, Article Xl of the Oregon Constitution.

Analysis:

The measure modifies the crime of endangering the welfare of a minor by expanding it to include when a
person knowingly permits a person under 18 years of age to enter or remain in a place where unlawful
activity involving cocaine, heroin or methamphetamine is maintained or conducted. The measure makes
this offense a Class C felony. Currently, the offense is a Class A misdemeanor.

The Criminal Justice Commission (CJC) assumes that the change to the crime of endangerment will
actually result in an increase in cases that were formerly charged as possession of a controlled
substance that can now be charged as endangerment. The sentence for possession of a controlled
substance is currently 18 months of probation with one year post-prison supervision and does not
change when a person under 18 is present. CJC assumes that in instances where a person under 18 is
present, those possession charges would now be increased to endangering as modified by the
measure. CJC assumes that the new provision of endangering will be treated as a category 6 on the
sentencing guidelines grid similar to Child Neglect 1 and will result in 12 months of incarceration with
two years of post-prison supervision.

In 2012, CJC reports there were 2,533 convictions for possession of a controlled substance. CJC
estimates that approximately 10% of the convictions for possession would become convictions for
endangering the welfare of a minor. This change will result in a shift from probation under supervision of
counties to incarceration in a Department of Corrections (DOC) facility.

DOC estimates a three-month lag between the effective date and recipient of the first offenders.
Included in the cost estimates in the above table are funds that would be reduced from community
corrections departments of counties for the decrease in probation cases and an increase to DOC for the

Page 1 of 2 HB 2408



additional costs of incarceration. The estimates are based on the marginal cost per day in a DOC facility
of $21.93 and the cost per day for probation of $8.64.

These cost estimates could vary depending on the actual number of cases, convictions and length of
sentences issued. Thus far in the 2013 legislative session, this is the tenth fiscal impact statement
issued by the Legislative Fiscal Office on measures effecting the corrections population. DOC estimates
are based on utilizing 489 available emergency beds at the marginal cost per day rate of $21.93. If
emergency bed capacity is exceeded by the cumulative effects of measures passed during the session,
DOC may need to establish permanent beds at a cost per day of $98.82. The cumulative effect of similar
measures passed during the legislative session will impact the Corrections Population Forecast
produced by the Office of Economic Analysis which serves as the basis for funding the DOC operations
and community corrections budgets.

The Public Defense Services Commission (PDSC) notes that the cost of representation for a
misdemeanor is $350 while the cost of representation of a Class C felony is $750. Using the CJC
numbers provided above, 253 cases per year would be increased from a misdemeanor to a Class C
felony. Assuming all defendants would be eligible for court-appointed counsel, the estimated cost to
PDSC could be as much as $202,400 General Fund per biennium from the classification change.

Oregon Youth Authority does not anticipate a fiscal impact as a result of this measure.

There is minimal fiscal impact to the Judicial Department and District Attorney’s and Their Deputies as a
result of this measure.
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