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Measure Description:
Requires judge to appoint certified shorthand reporter for aggravated murder proceedings.

Government Unit(s) Affected:
Judicial Department

Summary of Expenditure Impact:

Agency — Fund Type 2013-2015 2015-2017

Judicial Department — General Fund $229,604 $287,076

Local Government Mandate:
This bill does not affect local governments' service levels or shared revenues sufficient to trigger Section
15, Article Xl of the Oregon Constitution.

Analysis:

The measure requires the judge to appoint a certified shorthand reporter to make the record of oral
testimony in any trial involving a charge of aggravated murder or other proceedings involving the charge
of aggravated murder as determined by the State Court Administrator. The measure requires the State
Court Administrator to pay for the costs of the reporting services and the appointed reporter’s record
then becomes the official record of the proceedings. Additionally the measure makes changes to the
current statutes regarding the certification of court reporters, either stenographic or voice-writing.

Based on a review of case data for 2010 and 2011, the Oregon Judicial Department (OJD) assumes 15
to 17 trial cases on aggravated murder per biennium (both capital and noncapital cases). Additionally,
0JD assumes 20 to 30 contested hearings, where the case is either settled before trial or where the
aggravated murder charge is dropped or reduced before trial commences. The cost estimate in the
above table reflects the higher-end numbers of trial cases and contested hearings in the above ranges.
0JD notes that costs can vary depending on the location of the proceedings and the number of days for
the trial or hearings.

Also included in the cost estimates are one-time costs associated with establishing policies and

procedures for the use of the reporting services.as required by the measure and payment of a
cancellation fee to court reporters when cases are cancelled with only 24 or 48 hours of notice.
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