



Floor Letter in Support of SB 633

The Association of Oregon Counties believes regulation of agricultural seed, flower seed and vegetable seed, and products of agricultural seed, flower seed and vegetable seed is properly reserved to the state, as these agricultural products do not recognize county boundaries.

Oregon County Commissioners and Judges support Senate Bill 633-A for the following reasons:

- A statewide approach would avoid the financial burden and regulatory nightmare of a highly technical/scientific determination process. According to the LFO Fiscal Impact Statement: "The passage of SB 633 - A may potentially decrease fiscal impacts to counties ..."
- 2) Local ordinances, like that proposed by initiative in Jackson County, may be in conflict with Oregon's Right to Farm Act and federal Law.
- 3) Counties have neither the technical expertise nor the ability to enforce agricultural seed, flower seed and vegetable seed regulations, or regulations pertaining to products of agricultural seed, flower seed and vegetable seed.
- 4) Many Oregon Counties are facing financial crisis. They are laying off non-essential positions such as code enforcement officers. They do not have the resources to manage regulation of agricultural products.

Furthermore, we note, **SB 633-A** simply addresses the question of governance. **SB 633-A** seeks to avoid local regulations, affirming that the State is the appropriate entity to control agricultural seed, flower seed and vegetable seed, and products of agricultural seed, flower seed and vegetable seed.

In Oregon's "shared services" system of governance there is a careful balance between services regulated and delivered at the county level, those provided by the State, and those that are shared. Agriculture, Fish and Wildlife, Geology and Minerals, Teacher Standards, Building Codes, Body Piercing and Massage Therapy are a few examples of where the State is primarily responsible for regulation. **SB 633-A** affirms this balance in the area of agriculture.

SB 633-A simply places regulation of agricultural seed, flower seed and vegetable seed, and products of agricultural seed, flower seed and vegetable seed where it belongs, with the state. **WE URGE YOU TO SUPPORT SB 633-A.**

Commissioner Mary Stern, President, Association of Oregon Counties

al 11 - 5



Association of Oregon Counties

2013 AOC Legislative Committee

Officers:

President Mary Stern, Yamhill First Vice President Earl Fisher, Columbia Second Vice President Gary Thompson, Sherman Treasurer Craig Pope, Polk Immediate Past President Tammy Baney, Deschutes

from the Duck of Amie Roble

District Chairs:

1: Judge Dan Joyce, Malheur Alternate: Commissioner Fred Warner, Baker 2: Commissioner Wayne Fording, Jefferson Alternate: Commissioner Alan Unger, Deschutes 3: Judge Terry Tallman, Morrow Alternate: Judge Chris Perry, Wheeler 4: Commissioner Simon Hare, Curry Alternate: Commissioner David Itzen, Josephine 5: Commissioner Will Tucker, Linn Alternate: Commissioner Jay Bozievich, Lane 6: Commissioner Jennifer Wheeler, Polk Alternate: Commissioner Kathy George, Yamhill 7: Commissioner Mark Labhart, Tillamook Alternate: Commissioner Earl Fisher, Columbia 8: Chair Jeff Cogen, Multnomah Alternate: Commissioner Paul Savas, Clackamas

District Delegates:

- 1: Commissioner Mark Davidson, Union
- 2: Commissioner Ken Fahlgren, Crook
- 3: Judge Chris Perry, Wheeler
- 4: Commissioner John Rachor, Jackson
- 5: Commissioner John Lindsey, Linn
- 6: Commissioner Sam Brentano, Marion
- 7: Commissioner Peter Huhtala, Clatsop
- 8: Commissioner Greg Malinowski, Washington

Steering Committee Chairs:

NACo Representatives:

NACo: Commissioner **Tony Hyde**, Columbia NACo & WIR: Commissioner **Tim Josi**, Tillamook WIR: Judge **Dan Joyce**, Malheur

Counties with population of 250,000 or more:

Clackamas: Commissioner **Paul Savas** Lane: Commissioner **Faye Stewart** Marion: Commissioner **Janet Carlson** Multnomah: Commissioner **Diane McKeel** Washington: Commissioner **Andy Duyck**

Members-at-Large:

Commissioner Karen Joplin, Hood River Commissioner John Rachor, Jackson Commissioner Bill Hall, Lincoln Commissioner Kathy George, Yamhill Commissioner Susan Roberts, Wallowa Commissioner Rod Runyon, Wasco

Counties Not Otherwise Represented:

Judge Steve Grasty, Harney

AOC Affiliate Organizations Representatives:

OSACA (Assessors): Scot Langton, Deschutes OCCA (Clerks): Dana Jenkins, Lincoln NACA (County Administrators): Ralph Wyatt, Linn ODAA (District Attorneys) Brad Berry, Yamhill OACES (Engineers & Surveyors): Robb Paul, Douglas OJPA (Justices of the Peace): Joe Charter, Jackson OSSA (Sheriffs): Jack Crabtree, Yamhill OACTC (Tax Collectors): Bob Vroman, Clackamas OACTFO (Treasurers): Laurie Steele, Marion Communications: Commissioner Mike Smith, Sherman Vice Chair Commissioner Tony DeBone, Deschutes
Community & Economic Development: Co-chairs Commissioners Tony Hyde, Columbia & Martha Schrader, Clackamas Energy & Environment: Commissioner Larry Givens, Umatilla Vice Chair Judge Gary Thompson, Sherman
Governance: Co-chairs Commissioners Andy Duyck, Washington & Earl Fisher, Columbia Vice Chair John Hatfield, Jefferson
Human Services: Commissioner Linda Modrell, Benton Vice Chairs Commissioners Bill Hall, Lincoln & Diane McKeel, Multnomah
Public Lands & Natural Resources: Co-chairs Commissioners Annabelle Jaramillo, Benton & Joe Laurance, Douglas Vice chair Commissioner Faye Stewart, Lane
Public Safety: Co-chairs Commissioners Jim Bernard, Clackamas & Jay Dixon, Benton Vice Chair Commissioner Jennifer Wheeler, Polk

Transportation: Co-chairs Commissioners Sid Leiken, Lane & Fred Warner, Baker Vice Chair Commissioner Mark Labhart, Tillamook

Water: Co-chairs Commissioners Craig Pope, Polk & Alan Unger, Deschutes Vice Chair Judge Mike McCabe, Crook