

From the Desk of Senator Ted Ferrioli

GRANT SCHOOL DISTRICT #3

401 N. Canyon City Blvd. • Canyon City, OR 97820 Phone: (541) 575-1280 • Fax: (541) 575-3614

Resolution No. 2013-13

Support of Senate Bill 754 (2013)

WHEREAS, Grant School District #3 (John Day) is a public employer with the State of Oregon, and as such is a covered employer for the purposes of participating in the Public Employees Retirement System (PERS); and

WHEREAS, without action by the 77th Session of the Oregon Legislative Assembly to enact meaningful and sustainable modifications to PERS, the cost increases for PERS to Grant School District #3 (John Day) for the 2013-14 school year will be \$215,466; and

WHEREAS, Grant School District #3 (John Day) will need to make further budgetary reductions such as increasing class sizes, eliminating programs, delaying textbook and instructional technology purchases, reducing staff, or eliminating instructional days to cover the costs of the proposed PERS rate increases; and

WHEREAS, the Oregon School Boards Association has drafted Senate Bill 754 which would modify PERS to reduce costs to all PERS-covered public employers, yet still provide public employees and retirees with an adequate and stable retirement benefit; and

WHEREAS, outside expert legal counsel has issued an opinion that states that all provisions of Senate Bill 754 are legal and within the Legislature's power to adopt and would neither breach nor impair the PERS contract; and

WHEREAS, PERS' own actuary, Milliman, has completed an actuarial analysis of Senate Bill 754 and indicates that, as proposed, Senate Bill 754 would reduce employers' costs across the entire PERS system for the 2013-2015 biennium in excess of \$1 billion, allowing our district to hire teachers and put those dollars back into our schools.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Grant School District #3 (John Day) Board of Directors strongly encourages the members of the 77th Session of the Oregon Legislative Assembly to enact the provisions of Senate Bill 754.

ADOPTED this 10th day of April, 2013.

Greg Jack e, Board Chair

endent

BOARD OF DIRECTORS:

Chairman Greg Jackle = Jim Cernazanu = Mike Cosgrove = Dr. Andrew Janssen = Gordon J. Larson = Les McLeod = Tracie Unterwegner