

Greene Environmental Services

33180 Dorset Lane Philomath, Oregon, USA 97370-9555 (541) 929-5745

18 March 2013

Subject: Vote NO on House Bill 3251 (SB12)

Dear Representative Bailey, Chairman HOUSE COMMITTEE ON ENERGY AND ENVIRONMENT

Yesterday I submitted written testimony for why I am against HB3251. I have just received additional information that might be of interest to you.

First I have attached a resolution from the City Council of Brookings, Oregon opposing the proposed changes to Division 88, Imposing restrictions on the use of motorized vehicles in State owned beds and banks of the Chetco River. This document is City of Brookings Resolution 13-R-999 dated January 28, 2013.

Furthermore, I have learned that the Department of State Lands Chetco River Rulemaking Advisory Committee has been holding meetings and requesting public comment regarding vehicle crossings of the Chetco River. Public comment ended on January 31, 2013. Passage of this bill would circumvent the Public review process required by the DSL. Without public input on public lands, the Oregon citizen is being deprived of their rights.

I respectfully request that HB3251 be withdrawn from committee to allow the Democratic process of citizen involvement in the government rulemaking process, in regard to the Chetco River vehicle crossings, to continue to its final conclusion.

Please include this information in the public record.

Sincerely,

Joseph C. Greene

Joseph C. Greene Research Biologist, USEPA Retired

CC: Representative Deborah Boone, Vice-Chair Rep.DeborahBoone@state.or.us Representative Mark Johnson, Vice-Chair Rep.MarkJohnson@state.or.us Representative Cliff Bentz Rep.CliffBentz@state.or.us Representative Michael Dembrow Rep.MichaelDembrow@state.or.us Representative Jeff Reardon Rep.JeffReardon@state.or.us Representative Jeff Reardon Rep.JeffReardon@state.or.us Representative Jessica Vega Pederson Rep.JessicaVegaPederson@state.or.us Representative Jim Weidner Rep.JimWeidner@state.or.us Representative Gail Whitsett Rep.GailWhitsett@state.or.us Anne May Committee Staff Person, anne.may@state.or.us