

March 6, 2013

Oregon House of Representatives Committee on Transportation and Economic Development State Capitol Salem, OR 97310

Dear Representatives,

I have been a car dealer running my own dealership in Salem for over 30 years, and a licensed auto Oregon auto appraiser for over 20 years. I am a long time active member of the Oregon Independent Auto Dealers of Oregon. I am also a past State Quality Dealer, past President, Chairman of the Board, etc. I am also a member of the Auto Appraisers of Oregon, and am considered by other appraisers, attorneys, and the insurance industry as an expert able to appraise and value any and all types of cars including antiques and classics. I have an appraisers license issued by DMV.

I have supported odometer disclosures by sellers of vehicles for all my years in the industry, including OIADA's efforts when we tried to pass a similar bill in 2003 (HB 2384). I was a supporter of the original odometer implementation in the early 80's. Every time my dealership sells a vehicle, whether wholesale or retail, there is an odometer disclosure attached regardless of the year. We deal with possible odometer fraud every day in this industry, and this law will help stop at least some odometer fraud.

The Oregon legislature should pass HB 3137. There is no reason for legitimate dealers to oppose this measure, and every reason for support. Consumers and dealers are taken advantage of every year by people operating illegally. The car buyers who are being taken advantage of are not just those who own late model cars or classics, but also low income people who are buying older vehicles, ones 10-20 years old because that is all they can afford. We continually see vehicles over 10 years old being sold for amounts upwards of \$50,000 or higher. Example: *We just sold a 1999 Porsche with 5000 original miles that technically did not need to have an odometer disclosure, but us as the seller and the buyer paid real money for those documented original miles.* Why should these vehicles not be protected by odometer disclosures, if the seller VOLUNTARILY wants to submit a disclosure?

If an odometer has been spun backwards, those low dollar cars can be sold for a much higher price. Consumers and dealers need as much information about vehicles as possible. The only people who should be opposing HB 3137 are those who want to support illegal dealers and odometer spinners.

I have personal experience with odometer spinners, and have run into situations time and again in Oregon mainly because of our loose rules. This legislation is the least we can do to start eliminating odometer fraud in Oregon, not the most. But, it is a good start.

You are welcome to call me at 503-363-3426, or visit me at my car dealership on Mission Street SE in Salem to discuss this further.

Sincerely,

X

Don Lulay // / President, Lulay's Car Connection / Lulay's Auto Appraisers Past President OIADA Oregon Quality Dealer of the Year Member, AA of O