



Chairman Read Co-Chairs, House Transportation and Economic Development Committee Members of the Committee State Capitol Salem, OR 97301

March 15, 2013

Chair Read and Members of the Committee,

HB 3137 is a consumer bill and an industry bill. Everyone has heard of Car Fax and Auto Check reports about car histories and they are important tools in the purchase of a vehicle for a consumer. They are tools for dealers as well, helping them NOT sell vehicles with odometer problems, title brands or other major defects to their customers. Currently, The government of Oregon hides odometer readings from the public and dealers, opening the way for the predators in the industry and illegal dealers to prey on people who buy vehicles that are 10 years and older.

HB 3137 does not require ANYONE to submit odometer readings on older vehicles. It is permissive. It does require, however, DMV to put an odometer reading into the record if they are provided when vehicles are bought and sold.

- Oregon DMV does not keep odometer (mileage) records in the electronic database on vehicle 10 years and older.
- When the rule was instituted, vehicles had an expected life span of 9 years
- Vehicles now are considered to have a life span of 22.years
- Federal rules have not kept up with the quality of vehicle construction and life spans.
- Odometer fraud is common, in Oregon and Nationwide. Both with the electronic odometers and with the older manual odometers. (We have video from Oregon)
- Lack of state odometer records helps odometer tampering scams get more money (\$1,000 or more each)for vehicles that should sell for less!
- The permissive nature of the bill will not create any legal problems for businesses, according to some of the best attorneys in the automotive industry, Thomas Hudson and Tom Buiteweg from Hudson Cook, LLP

Without odometer information in DMV databases, the odometer reports are worthless on older vehicles. Oregon should provide this little bit of information to those reporting companies so that consumers across the spectrum can get good, clear information about their vehicles. Oregon is also not participating in the federal effort (NMVTIS system) for a national database of vehicle information.

California recently passed a law saying every dealer (they have over 8,000 dealers) selling a used vehicle was required to give an NMVTIS system report to the consumer BEFORE they sold the vehicle. California requires odometer statements on ALL vehicles, not just those 9 years old and newer. That report costs consumers about \$ 1. CarFax costs about \$25 or more. Just think how much money Oregonians could save on history reports if Oregon participated in the NMVTIS system!

Oregon can do better.

Monty King, President, OVDA and OPSA, Exec. Dir of Auto Appraisers of Oregon