State of Gregon OFFICE OF THE GOVERNOR

EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 68-11 Creating State Administrative Districts

Overlapping boundaries of state, local and federal programs have created a chaotic, inefficient operating system which leads to confusion among public officials and citizens; and to a dilution of effective coordination and implementation of public programs.

After months of study and consultation, the Planning Section of my office has identified the following state administrative districts as best representing natural, social, and economic groupings of counties. These districts do not meet every specific need. If we were to do so, we would continue to have the proliferation of districts that now exists. They do, however, reflect local preferences and a great deal of compromise on the part of state administrative units.

It is my intention to have state government comply to the highest degree possible with these groupings and to urge federal and local government to conform to these same lines. Through this joint effort we should be able to assure Oregonians maximum value from their public programs.

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED AND DIRECTED that all state agencies, boards, committees, commissions, and departments conducting business at the local level through districts or regions, and planning future programs requiring a regional approach, utilize the districts designated by this order. Sub-divisions within these districts or groupings of whole districts may also be used.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED AND DIRECTED that the following shall constitute State Administrative Districts:

STATE ADMINISTRATIVE DISTRICTS

District	1:	Clatsop, Tillamook Counties
District	2:	Clackamas, Columbia, Multnomah, Washington Counties
District	3:	Marion, Polk, Yamhill Counties
District		Benton, Lincoln, Linn Counties
District		Lane County
District		Douglas County
District	7:	Coos, Curry Counties

		Jackson, Josephine Counties
District	9:	Hood River, Sherman, Wasco Counties
		Crook, Deschutes, Jefferson Counties
District	11:	Klamath, Lake Counties
District	12:	Gilliam, Grant, Morrow, Umatilla, Wheeler Counties
District	13:	Baker, Union, Wallowa Counties
District	14:	Harney, Malheur Counties

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED AND DIRECTED that special exemptions may be granted to those agencies whose use of specific district boundaries would bring undue expense, hardship, or decreased efficiency to the operation of that agency. Exemptions will be granted by my office on a district-by-district basis. Agencies seeking exemption because of special circumstances shall submit to my office:

- A map depicting those Districts which can be utilized and those where a modification from State Districts is essential, and
- 2. An identification of statutes, federal regulations or guidelines, personnel difficulties, workload difficulties, or existing investments in field facilities which justify delay in adoption of the state administrative districts specified herein.
- 3. A timetable for eventual agency conformance with this order.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED AND DIRECTED that each agency with regional offices or programs shall identify the senior administrative person for each of the 14 districts. Agencies having separate programs under separate administrative structures at the local level may designate a senior administrative person for each such program. This listing shall include the person's name, title, work address and work telephone number. Preferably this designation should be of a person residing within the district; however, when an agency is grouping whole districts, the designee may be responsible for as many as are grouped together.

> IN TESTIMONY WHEREOF, I have hereunto subscribed my name and caused to be affixed the great seal of the State of Oregon. Done at Salem, the capital, this 25th day of July, A.D., 1968.

all Governor

By the Governor:

ecretary of State



Office of the Governor - Planning Section

5 district number