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MEMORANDUM 
Legislative Fiscal Office 
900 Court St. NE, Room H-178 
Salem, Oregon 97301 
Phone 503-986-1828 
FAX 503-373-7807 
 

 
To: Public Safety Subcommittee 

From: John Terpening, Legislative Fiscal Office 
(503) 986-1824 

Date: July 5, 2013 

Subject: SB 9 Work Session Recommendations 
 

 

 
SB 9 relates to mobile communication devices.  The measure would change the offense 
of operating a motor vehicle while using a mobile communication device to send or 
receive text messages without a hands-free accessory from a Class D traffic violation to 
a Class C traffic violation, subject to a maximum fine of $500. 
 
The measure directs ODOT to place signs on “state highways” notifying drivers of the 
amount of the maximum fine for the violation. 
 
The measure, the original staff measure summary, preliminary Joint Committee on 
Ways and Means staff measure summary, revenue impact statement [if available], and 
fiscal impact statement are available on the Oregon Legislative Information System 
(OLIS).   
 
The measure has an estimated fiscal impact of $130,350 Other Funds to ODOT. These 
costs include updating the DMV database and Oregon Drivers Manual, as well as the 
cost of sign design, material, and installation of approximately 100 signs at Oregon 
borders and other state highway locations throughout the state. The –A11 Amendment 
includes the necessary Other Fund limitation for ODOT. 
 
Motion to Move Measure 
 
The measure is recommended to be moved to the full Committee on Joint Ways and 
Means. 
 
Motion:  Adopt the –A11 amendment to SB 9. 
 
Motion:  Move SB 9 as amended to the full committee with a “do 
pass, as amended” recommendation. 
 
 
Assignment of Carriers 
 
 Full:_____________________________________ 
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 2nd Chamber:_____________________________ 
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FISCAL IMPACT OF PROPOSED LEGISLATION Measure:  SB 9 – A11 
Seventy-Seventh Oregon Legislative Assembly – 2013 Regular Session 
Legislative Fiscal Office 

Only Impacts on Original or Engrossed 
 Versions are Considered Official 

  

Prepared by:  John Terpening 
Reviewed by:  Steve Bender, Linda Gilbert 
Date:  7-5-2013 
 

 
Measure Description: 
Provides that violation of offense of operating motor vehicle while using mobile communication device 
without a hands-free accessory to send or receive text messages is a Class B traffic violation. 
 
Government Unit(s) Affected:  
Oregon Department of Transportation, Judicial Department 
 
 
Summary of Expenditure Impact: 

Agency – Fund Type 2013-2015 2015-2017 
Department of Transportation – Other Funds $130,350 ---- 
 
 
Summary of Revenue Impact:  See Legislative Revenue Office statement. 
 
 
Local Government Mandate: 
This bill does not affect local governments' service levels or shared revenues sufficient to trigger Section 
15, Article XI of the Oregon Constitution. 
 
Analysis: 
The measure would change the offense of operating a motor vehicle while using a mobile 
communication device from a Class D traffic violation to a Class C violation, which is subject to a 
maximum fine of $500, when a person operating a motor vehicle uses a mobile communication device 
without a hands-free accessory to send or receive a text message. Additionally, the measure directs the 
Department of Transportation to place signs on “state highways” notifying drivers of the amount of the 
maximum fine for the violation. 
 
The Oregon Department of Transportation (ODOT) states that the sign design would be a one-time cost 
of approximately $3,000. Cost of sign material and installation are estimated to be $1,200 per sign.  
The total cost to ODOT would be dependent on the number of signs that were placed. ODOT assumes 
placement of approximately 100 signs at Oregon borders and other state highway locations throughout 
the state, for a total cost of $120,000 Other Funds. Additionally, the Department estimates minimal cost 
for updating Department of Motor Vehicles programming codes and the Guide to Oregon Driver Records 
manuals. 
 
There is a minimal expenditure impact to the Judicial Department as a result of this measure. 
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SB 9-A11

(LC 1165)

7/5/13 (LHF/ps)

PROPOSED AMENDMENTS TO

A-ENGROSSED SENATE BILL 9

On page 1 of the printed A-engrossed bill, line 2, delete “and” and before

the period insert “; and limiting expenditures”.

Delete lines 4 through 27.

On page 2, delete lines 1 through 20 and insert:

“SECTION 1. ORS 811.507 is amended to read:

“811.507. (1) As used in this section:

“(a) ‘Hands-free accessory’ means an attachment or built-in feature for or

an addition to a mobile communication device, whether or not permanently

installed in a motor vehicle, that when used allows a person to maintain

both hands on the steering wheel.

“(b) ‘Mobile communication device’ means a text messaging device or a

wireless, two-way communication device designed to receive and transmit

voice or text communication.

“(2) A person commits the offense of operating a motor vehicle while us-

ing a mobile communication device if the person, while operating a motor

vehicle on a highway, uses a mobile communication device.

“(3) This section does not apply to a person who activates or deactivates

a mobile communication device or a function of the device or who uses the

device for voice communication if the person:

“(a) Is summoning medical or other emergency help if no other person in

the vehicle is capable of summoning help;

“(b) Is using a mobile communication device for the purpose of farming
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or agricultural operations;

“(c) Is operating an ambulance or emergency vehicle;

“(d) Is 18 years of age or older and is using a hands-free accessory;

“(e) Is operating a motor vehicle while providing public safety services

or emergency services;

“(f) Is operating a motor vehicle while acting in the scope of the person’s

employment as a public safety officer, as defined in ORS 348.270;

“(g) Is operating a tow vehicle or roadside assistance vehicle while acting

in the scope of the person’s employment;

“(h) Holds a valid amateur radio operator license issued or any other li-

cense issued by the Federal Communications Commission and is operating

an amateur radio;

“(i) Is operating a two-way radio device that transmits radio communi-

cation transmitted by a station operating on an authorized frequency within

the citizens’ or family radio service bands in accordance with rules of the

Federal Communications Commission;

“(j) Is operating a vehicle owned or contracted by a utility for the purpose

of installing, repairing, maintaining, operating or upgrading utility service,

including but not limited to natural gas, electricity, water or telecommuni-

cations, while acting in the scope of the person’s employment; or

“(k) Is using a function of the mobile communication device that allows

for only one-way voice communication while the person is:

“(A) Operating a motor vehicle in the scope of the person’s employment;

“(B) Providing transit services; or

“(C) Participating in public safety or emergency service activities.

“(4) The offense described in this section, operating a motor vehicle while

using a mobile communication device, is a Class [D] C traffic violation.

“(5) The Department of Transportation shall place signs on state

highways to notify drivers that violation of this section is subject to

a maximum fine of $500.
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“SECTION 2. Notwithstanding any other law limiting expenditures,

the amount of $130,350 is established for the biennium beginning July

1, 2013, as the maximum limit for payment of expenses from fees,

moneys or other revenues, including Miscellaneous Receipts, but ex-

cluding lottery funds and federal funds, collected or received by the

Department of Transportation for administrative and operating ex-

penses incurred in carrying out the provisions of this 2013 Act.”.

In line 21, delete “2” and insert “3”.
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