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Mission: To protect and serve 
Oregon’s consumers and 
workers while supporting a 
positive business climate

As Oregon’s largest consumer protection and business regulatory 
agency, we are pleased to be a resource to Oregonians in  
areas involving: 

 » Finance (insurance, investments, Oregon-chartered banks and 
credit unions, consumer finance companies, mortgage lenders, 
pawnbrokers, payday lenders, etc.)

 » Workplace health and safety
 » Building safety

This publication contains some of the common consumer questions 
we receive, along with general referral numbers. 

www.dcbs.oregon.gov

WelcOme

http://www.dcbs.oregon.gov
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License/charter/examine
 » Securities broker dealers and their 

salespeople
 » Insurance companies, agents, and 

agencies
 » Investment advisers and their 

representatives
 » Banks, trusts, and credit unions
 » Mortgage bankers, brokers, and loan 

originators
 » Payday lenders, consumer finance companies, pawnbrokers,  

and check cashing businesses
 » Building trades workers and building code inspectors
 » Worker leasing companies

Educate/advocate
 » Workplace safety workshops
 » Outreach for investors and homebuyers seeking mortgages
 » Financial scam alerts
 » Medicare counseling
 » Insurance hotline; help with appeals of claim denials, delays
 » Small Business Ombudsman for workers’ compensation, 

Ombudsman for Injured Workers

Set/enforce standards
 » Securities, mortgage lending, other consumer finance law
 » Workplace deaths, injuries
 » Worksites for safety, health violations
 » Insurance companies, agents for insurance law violations
 » Building trades license and code violations
 » Insurance benefits for workplace deaths and injuries

License

Educate Set  
Standards

cOnsumer prOtectiOn
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Director’s Office
503-947-7872

Offices

Patrick Allen  
Director 

Jean Straight  
Deputy Director 

Theresa Van Winkle 
Senior Policy Advisor

About the department:
 » Our 919 employees include actuaries, economists, consumer 

advocates, accountants, and experts in a variety  
of fields.

 » We are funded by those we regulate.

DCBS operating budget by division

Governor’s balanced budget: 2013-15.

Workers’ Compensation Division
$37.4 million  
182.92 FTE
18%

Workers’ Compensation Board
$31.8 million 84.00 FTE
10%

Insurance Division
$23.7 million 99.00 FTE
11%

Shared Services
$34.2 million  
155.50 FTE 
16%

Oregon OSHA
$46.7 million 192.50 FTE 
22%

Finance and Corporate Securities
$17.7 million 78.63 FTE
8%

Building Codes Division
$30.8 million  
116.88 FTE
15%
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Oregon Occupational Safety & 
Health Division (Oregon OSHA)
503-947-7397 • www.osha.oregon.gov

Michael Wood, Administrator 
Marilyn Schuster, Deputy Administrator

Work-related and industrial accidents, injuries, and fatalities; 
workplace hazard complaints; workplace safety and health; asbestos 
safety; agricultural labor housing registration; workplace violence; 
and noise exposure.

WOrker safety

Oregon OSHA answers these types of questions from 
employers and employees:

Employees
 » I want to report a workplace hazard. How do I file a 

complaint? 

Employers
 » How and when do I need to report an accident to Oregon 

OSHA? 
 » Does Oregon OSHA give warnings before issuing a citation?
 » Why am I being inspected?
 » How do I appeal an Oregon OSHA citation?

Key Contacts
Schedule a free worksite evaluation to avoid workplace hazards. Call 
503-378-3272 or 800-922-2689 or e-mail consult.web@state.or.us. 

http://www.osha.oregon.gov
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Workers’ Compensation System
503-947-7582 • www.wcd.oregon.gov

John Shilts, Administrator, Workers’ Compensation Division
Kevin Willingham, Deputy Administrator

Workers’ compensation coverage; employee leasing companies; 
medical billing questions; employment placement agencies; and 
vocational rehabilitation for injured workers. 

The Workers’ Compensation Division answers these 
types of questions from employers, employees, and 
medical providers:

Employers: 
 » Do I need workers’ compensation insurance?
 » What happens if I don’t have coverage?
 » How do I buy workers’ compensation insurance?
 » What do I do if I disagree with my workers’ compensation bill?
 » Where can I get training on how workers’ compensation 

works?

For answers, call 503-947-7815 or 1-888-877-5670

Employees: 
 » I got hurt on the job. What do I do?
 » What benefits am I entitled to?
 » How can I get help getting back to work?
 » What is an independent medical examination? Do I have  

to attend?

WOrkers’ cOmpensatiOn

http://www.wcd.oregon.gov
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 » How do I get medical care for my claim?
 » What medical provider will treat me for a workers’ 

compensation injury?
 » My claim was denied. Now what?
 » I can’t return to work. What do I do?

For answers, call 503-947-7585 or 800-452-0288

Medical providers: 
 » Why didn’t the insurer pay my medical bill?
 » Why did the insurer pay a different amount than I billed?
 » How do I get certified to provide services (nurse practitioners, 

chiropractic physicians, physician assistants)?
 » How do I become a medical arbiter or independent medical 

examination provider?

For answers, call 503-947-7606

Key Contacts 
Small Business Ombudsman (David Waki): 503-378-4209 

Ombudsman for Injured Workers (Jennifer Flood):  
503-378-3351 or 800-927-1271

WOrkers’ cOmpensatiOn

During 2011, Oregon’s occupational injury and 
illness rate was 3.8 per 100 full-time workers. 
This marked the seventh straight year of injury 
and illness rate declines and a 50 percent rate 
decrease since 1998.



7

WOrkers’ cOmp BOard

Workers’ Compensation Board
503-934-0127 • www.wcb.oregon.gov

Abigail L. Herman, Chairperson
Independent and impartial forum for resolving disputes arising out of 
workers’ compensation law and the Oregon Occupational Safety Act. 
Administrative law judges (ALJs) conduct hearings and mediations. 
Board members conduct appellate review of ALJ orders.

Participants in a workers’ compensation dispute 
often ask these questions about the process: 

 » What is the status of my case? Call 503-934-0123.
 » When will I get a hearing? Call 503-934-0126.

The five-member board reviews disputes 
of workers’ compensation law and resolves 
approximately 600 cases a year. Most are 
appeals of administrative law judge decisions. 
Typically, 70 to 90 board orders a year are 
appealed to the Court of Appeals. In fiscal year 
2012, the Court of Appeals issued decisions 
in 37 cases involving board orders, affirming 
33. The overall affirmation of 89 percent 
demonstrates that the board is serving Oregon’s 
workers’ compensation system by consistently 
producing sound legal decisions.

http://www.wcb.oregon.gov


8

Building Codes Division
503-378-4130 • www.bcd.oregon.gov

Mark Long, Administrator 
Chris Huntington, Deputy Administrator

The building safety program adopts construction codes for 13 specialty 
areas, licenses trade workers and businesses, and oversees a statewide 
inspection system. Cities and counties administer a single code 
throughout Oregon, ensuring minimum standards and consistency.

The Building Codes Division receives these types of 
questions from homeowners, contractors, and others:

 » What types of construction work require a license?
 » What are the building construction requirements for my city  

or county?
 » Who administers the code for my city or county?

Key Contacts
Contractors can apply and pay for permits, schedule inspections, 
print key records, and perform other services 24 hours a day through 
the division’s ePermitting portal at http://www.oregon-epermitting.
info/. The full service is now available in 10 cities and counties. The 
department provides express permitting service to 27 other cities  
and counties. 

Consumers can find information on when they need a permit and when 
they need to hire a licensed contractor at www.permitsprotect.info.

Building cOdes

Disputes with contractors are handled by the 
Construction Contractors Board: 503-378-4621.

http://www.bcd.oregon.gov
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Insurance Division
888-877-4894 • www.insurance.oregon.gov

Lou Savage, Commissioner 
Berri Leslie, Deputy Administrator

Regulates most lines of insurance – health, auto, homeowner, life, 
long-term care, disability, etc. Licenses insurers and agents. 
Implements federal health care reform. (Does not regulate Medicaid/
Oregon Health Plan.) 

insurance

Every year, the Insurance Division consumer 
advocates answer thousands of insurance questions 
including these:

 » My claim was denied. What can I do?
 » Who sells this type of insurance in Oregon?
 » Can you tell me if a company/agent is legal in Oregon?
 » Why are my rates going up?
 » How can credit scoring be used in Oregon?
 » The insurance company wants to total my car. Can it do that? 

How can I prove what my car was worth?
 » How come my health insurance company isn’t paying all of my 

medical bills?
 » What’s changing with health care?
 » Can an insurance company refuse coverage due to a  

pre-existing condition?
 » Is my home covered for flooding? Earthquakes? Landslides?
 » The neighbor’s tree fell on my house. Do they have to pay?

http://www.insurance.oregon.gov
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insurance

Key Contacts
 » Consumer advocates answer questions about commercial 

(private) insurance and help resolve complaints against 
insurers/agents from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday: 
888-877-4894 or 503-947-7984.

 » Senior Health Insurance Benefits Assistance links people on 
Medicare with volunteers who can help them understand 
insurance options: 503-947-7979 or 800-722-4134.

 » The consumer liaison works with individuals, schools, 
businesses, service clubs, and consumer groups on education 
and outreach. Call Kevin Jeffries, 503-947-7238, to schedule  
an event.

 » Life Insurance Finder Tool (LIFT) helps consumers find missing 
life insurance policies that were purchased in Oregon. 

On Oct. 1, 2013, Cover Oregon will launch 
an online centralized marketplace where 
individuals and small employers can compare 
health coverage options and access financial 
assistance. Learn more at coveroregon.com or 
call 503-373-9417. 

http://www.insurance.oregon.gov/consumer/life-insurance/life.html
http://www.coveroregon.com
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David Tatman, Administrator 
Brian Light, Deputy Administrator

Regulates Oregon-chartered or Oregon-licensed banks, trusts, and 
credit unions; licensed mortgage bankers and mortgage brokers; 
consumer finance companies; payday and title lenders; collection 
agencies; debt management service providers; money transmitters 
and check cashers; pawnbrokers; advance sales of funeral services; 
securities registration and sales; and licensing/supervision of 
securities broker-dealers, salespeople, and Oregon-based  
investment advisors.

The Division of Finance and Corporate Securities 
fields questions and helps people file complaints 
involving issues such as the following:

 » How do I know if an investment is legitimate?
 » How do I file a complaint against my investment advisor 

(broker/dealer)? 
 » How do I file a complaint against an Oregon-chartered bank 

or credit union, mortgage lender, or manufactured structure 
dealer? 

 » How do I know if a loan modification company is operating 
legally? Can I file a complaint? 

 » I am facing foreclosure. What do I do?  
 » I need help budgeting and planning to pay off my credit card 

debt. Who can help me?

Division of Finance and  
Corporate Securities
503-378-4140 • www.dfcs.oregon.gov

finance

http://www.dfcs.oregon.gov
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finance

 » How can I correct credit reporting information?
 » What kind of fees do I have to pay for a payday loan?
 » How can I protect myself from identity theft?

Key Contacts
The division conducts outreach to businesses on complying with 
Oregon Identity Theft Protection Act and to consumers about 
protecting personal information, avoiding investment fraud, 
predatory lending prevention, and keys to investing success. 
Schedule a speaker or request information for your newsletter:  
Diane Childs, 503-947-7423 

During the country’s recent economic 
downturn, no depositor lost money as  
a result of an Oregon bank closure.



Oregon department of consumer and Business services
350 Winter street ne, salem, Oregon 

mailing address: p.O. Box 14480, salem, Or 97309-0405 
phone: 503-378-4100, fax: 503-378-6444,  

español: 800-843-8086
Website: www.dcbs.oregon.gov
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http://www.dcbs.oregon.gov

