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 Co-chairs Winters and Williamson and members of the subcommittee, my 

name is Melisse Cunningham, and I am an Assistant Attorney General in the Tax 

& Finance Section of the Department of Justice.  I have been asked to testify 

before the subcommittee today regarding potential legal issues that could arise 

under the –A17 amendment to HB 3317A. 

 

 While this proposed amendment would add language making the 9-1-1 tax 

in ORS 403.200 explicitly applicable to prepaid wireless telecommunications, 

there are several legal issues that may hamper the implementation of the –A17 

provisions. 

 

--On page 2, lines 11-13, the amendment provides a definition of “prepaid wireless 

telecommunication services” that limits the definition in part to services that are 

sold in “predetermined units or dollars” but this definition is not completely 

consistent with the definition of prepaid telecommunications services in the federal 

Mobile Telecommunications Sourcing Act (MTSA). If the intent is that the bill 

encompass all of those prepaid telecom services that are not covered by the MTSA, 

Oregon’s definition should be very consistent with the federal definition in the 

MTSA. 

 

--On page 3, lines 1-2, the amendment contains a definition of “seller” as a person 

who sells prepaid wireless telecommunications services, and “wireless 

telecommunications service” is in turn defined (at lines 16-17) as “commercial 

mobile radio service, as defined in 47 CFR 20.3.”  In turn “mobile service” is 

generally defined in the federal regulation as a “radio communication service 

carried on between mobile stations or receivers and land stations, and by mobile 

stations communicating among themselves.”  

Under this definition of “seller,” the entity subject to the new requirement to 

collect the 9-1-1 tax at the point of sale, at least arguably, must be the person that is 

providing the telecommunications services.  An argument could be made that a 

retail store that sells only prepaid telephone cards, for example, is not selling the 

telecommunications services, because a prepaid phone card, by itself, does not 

qualify as commercial mobile radio service under federal law.  In which case, the 

retail store would not be required to collect the 9-1-1 tax under this amendment. 
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--On page 4, lines 22-23, the amendment would impose the 9-1-1 tax at a rate of 75 

cents per “retail transaction.”  However, for all other land-line and wireless 

telecommunications services the tax would remain one imposed at a rate of 75cents 

per month.  This difference could raise potential Equal Protection Clause violation 

arguments under the US Constitution along with issues under Article 1, sections 20 

and 32 of the Oregon Constitution, because of the lack of tax parity between 

wireless telecommunications “subscribers” (who have long term contracts and pay 

monthly) versus prepaid wireless telecommunications “consumers” (who receive 

the same services but just pay up front for them).  For example, a cell phone 

“subscriber” who has a contract with a company and pays 75 cents every month 

would potentially pay much more over the course of a year than a prepaid 

“customer” who buys a single prepaid card that grants the customer a certain 

number of minutes of access that may be used over the course of a year but who 

only pays 75 cents in 9-1-1 tax for that one “retail transaction.”  In that case, the  

“subscriber” would pay up to twelve times as much 9-1-1 tax as the prepaid 

“consumer” for the same privilege, i.e., a year’s worth of access to the 9-1-1 

system. 

In addition, there is no limitation in the proposed amendment on how many 

prepaid card or minutes may be purchased in one “retail transaction.” Thus, a 

prepaid “consumer” could potentially pay only 75 cents in 9-1-1 tax, but purchase 

a huge amount of access time, as long as it was done in one “retail transaction.” 

--On page 5, lines 11-30, the amendment requires the tax to be collected by the 

seller “with respect to each retail transaction occurring in this state.”  While these 

provisions may not present significant issues for sales that are made by retail 

sellers who have a physical presence in Oregon, they do not address the potential 

dormant Commerce Clause issues that arise under the US Constitution with regard 

to the state’s ability to require out of state entities to collect and remit the 9-1-1 tax 

on retail transactions that may occur over the Internet and where the seller has no 

physical presence in the state.  See Quill v. North Dakota, 504 US 298, 112 S Ct 

1904, 119 L Ed 2d 91 (1992). One way that states deal with this problem is to have 

a collection mechanism for direct collection from the consumer, but there is no 

current mechanism in the 9-1-1 tax statutes that explicitly provides for reporting or 

direct collection from the consumers of prepaid wireless telecommunications 

services. 



Testimony of Assistant Attorney General Melisse S. Cunningham 
Regarding –A17 Amendment to HB 3317A                                           

Public Safety Subcommittee, Ways and Means Committee               
June 24, 2013  

 

3 

 

--On page 6, lines 28-30, the amendment grants sellers of prepaid telecom services 

compensation for expenses incurred in collection of the 9-1-1 tax, in the amount of 

three percent of the taxes collected.  However, there is no similar compensation 

under the 9-1-1 tax statutes for other wireless telecom service providers who are 

also required to, and presumably incur expense in, collecting and remitting the 9-1-

1 tax.  Thus, this provision may also lead to arguments of unequal treatment of 

taxpayers under the Equal Protection Clause of the US Constitution along with 

issues under Article 1, section 20 of the Oregon Constitution. 

 These are a few of the issues that we have preliminarily identified in a very 

short review of the –A17 amendments.  The Department of Justice has not 

undertaken a more in-depth analysis of the risks associated with any of these 

issues, but offers this summary of issues as information for the subcommittee’s 

consideration.  


