
PORTLAND 
TRANSPORTATION 

June 7, 2013 

Sen. Betsy Johnson, Co-Chair 
Rep. Bob Jenson, Co-Chair 
Joint Ways and Means Subcommittee on Transportation and Economic Development 
900 Court St. NE 
Salem, Oregon 97301 

Co-Chair Johnson, Co-Jenson, and Members of the Committee, 

The Portland Bureau of Transportation (PBOT) supports FIB 2453, which provides a mechanism 
for collecting user fees from high-mileage motor vehicles. This bill would produce an equitable 
and relatively simple mechanism for collecting and allocating funds to support the continued 
maintenance and expansion of the transportation system across Oregon. 

Like all cities, Portland relies heavily on the existing gasoline tax to support our transportation 
system. The combination of more efficient vehicles, increasing demands from the public, 
declining infrastructure quality and increasing costs of materials have significantly reduced the 
purchasing power of the existing gas tax revenue. Moving forward, we believe it is essential that 
the State and cities collectively move toward a more sustainable funding structure to support our 
transportation work. A fee on high-mileage motor vehicle-miles-travelled is a reasonable and 
logical next step, and we feel the $0.155 per mile fee is appropriate at this time. We urge your 
support for HB 2453. 

Thank you for your consideration, 

clu (44il 

John Widmer 
Interim Director 
Portland Bureau of Transportation 
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HB 2453-B 
Ways and Means Subcommittee  

on Transportation and Economic Development  
on Transportation and Economic Development 

Road User Charges 
February 25June 10, 2013 

Ann Hanus 

The Association of Oregon Counties supports HB 2453 which would require road user 
charges for high mileage vehicles.   This legislation is important for the long term 
sustainable funding of our state and local road system and to ensure that all users 
contribute to the cost of maintaining our roads on an equitable basis. 

As gasoline revenues continue to decline due to the increased fuel efficiency of vehicles, 
fewer revenues will be collected to support state and local roads.   In FY 2012-13, half of 
Oregon’s State Highway Fund revenues were from the Motor Vehicle Fuels Tax.   

Counties receive 30 percent of the State Highway Fund.  In FY2012-13 counties were 
allocated $212,753,310 of State Highway Funds, which was 46 percent of the total 
County Road Fund Revenuesrevenues.   It is vital to counties that the State Highway 
Fund not decline in the years ahead. 

With the expiration of the USFS safety net payments from the Secure Rural Schools and 
Community Self Determination Act, County Road Revenues will decline an additional 
$40 million.  At that point, the State Highway Fund revenues will amount to 50% of 
County Road Fund revenues. 

Over the past decade, the state has conducted a number of studies, convened the Road 
User Task Force (which included County representation), and had extensive outreach to 
stakeholders.   As a result, the proposal before you has been vetted, refined, and recently 
road tested.    

Over the past several months, I participated in the Road Usage Charge Pilot Program.  I 
installed the device in my car and paid through automatic charges to my visa.  It 
required little time on my part and proved to be an efficient means to collect revenue. 

We believe it is both timely and feasible to initiate this program for high mileage 
vehicles.   The longer we wait to charge high mileage vehicles for their road usage, the 
more we will see revenues decline especially when the state, counties, and cities need to 
have the resources to maintain our roads.   If we do not act, our system of funding roads 
will be jeopardized over the next ten years resulting in deteriorating road conditions and 
an increasingly inequitable funding structure. 



Joint Subcommittee on Transportation and 
Economic Development
June 10th, 2013: 1300

HB2453B
“Requires persons operating certain high‐mileage motor 

vehicles to pay per‐mile road usage charge or flat annual road 
usage charge.”

Testimony Against Adoption of HB2543B as Amended by the 
House May 14th, 2003 by Jeffrey Allen, Salem Resident



Current OR Gas Taxation Formula: y = 0.3x‐1
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Oregon's gasoline tax naturally supports current ODOT 
sustainability objectives per the above formula.

Inefficient vehicles pay more per mile and efficient 
vehicles pay less, creating a consumer incentive to drive 
efficient vehicles and/or practice more efficient driving 

behavior.

Full EVs pay nothing; PEV effective taxes vary by usage. 

Per‐Gallon equivalent hypothetical tax rate for EVs



HB2453 Gas Tax / Road Usage Fee Proposal
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Per‐Mile Efficient 
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Per‐Mile Usage Fee DISINCENTIVE for 
Electric Vehicles 

Current EV Tax Exemption

Hypothetical EV Tax Rate per Tax Formula

"Acceptable" Tax Rate Threshold for 
Efficient Gasoline or Hybrid Vehicles

At a rate of $0.0155/Mile, Highly Efficient Vehicles will be Taxed at the Same 
Rate as vehicles achieving  roughly 19 MPG like the F‐150 Truck, Corvette, 

Nissan GT‐R, Lexus LS460, and most AWD Mid‐Sized Luxury SUVs but 3X the rate 
of comparably efficient gasoline and hybrid vehicles.



“[The EV and Infrastructure Program] and future projects are helping Oregon create a 
sustainable transportation system by reducing the state's reliance on imported 
petroleum and by reducing greenhouse gas emissions.”     ODOT EV&I P

“When considered in total, the fees paid to the state – either through a state gas tax or 
through a road usage charge — is actually a very small proportion of the total cost to 
operate and maintain a vehicle.” FAQ#15, roadchargeoregon.org

Contrary to the ODOT mission statement and EV Program objectives, HB2453 
creates EV ownership disincentives including GPS tracking, data‐mining, 

tampering fines, and higher taxes than on all efficient gas and hybrid vehicles.

At a rate of $0.0155/mile, the monthly operating expenses for an EV owner who 
drives 1000 miles a month and charges during off‐peak hours will DOUBLE.

(EVs require considerably less maintenance than combustion engine vehicles.)

“…the goal is to create a usage charge that replaces the state gas tax for these highly 
fuel‐efficient vehicles to continue maintenance of the roads. So, while the road usage 
charge will require that drivers of fuel‐efficient vehicles pay more in state fees than 
they currently do, it will create a more equitable system.”

FAQ#15, roadchargeoregon.org

Drivers of vehicles with greater than 54MPG(e) will pay 3X the tax per mile than 
drivers of most hybrid vehicles; $0.0155/mile = 19.35 MPG tax rate



Summary and Observations

1. Existing Tax Model Supports Sustainability Objectives
2. Proposed Model conflicts with state sustainability initiatives, 

objectives, and current projects
3. A portion of these ‘road usage fees’ will be diverted to private 

data‐collection contractors instead of ODOT, Cities, or Counties
4. Pilot Program included only two EVs in the sample group, one 

of which traveled fewer than 200 taxable miles
5. Pilot Program per‐mile rate is far from “equitable” when an 

“average fleet” fuel economy rate is applied only to a select 
group of highly efficient vehicles



Suggestions
1. Set EV mileage rate to the acceptable efficiency threshold. At 

54MPG, the current gas tax equates to $0.0056/mile.
2. ‐AND‐ Reduce high annual flat‐rate opt‐out charge of 35,000 

miles = $542/y.  This is more than twice the total annual 
operating cost of an EV at 12,000m/year!

3. ‐THEN‐ Reduce the efficiency threshold in the future as 
needed to address road repair budget shortfalls; use it as the 
baseline at which all more efficient vehicles are charged.

4. ‐‐ ALTERNATE PLAN – Annually adjusted EV registration fee 
(currently $67.20 assuming 12,000 miles at 54MPG rate) 
where 100% of collected fees are divided among state, city, 
and county road repair budgets, eliminating complexity, 
privacy and data‐mining concerns, and numerous EV 
ownership disincentives found throughout HB2453.



HB2453B: 
http://www.leg.state.or.us/13reg/measures/hb2400.dir/hb2453.
b.html
EPA Fuel Economy Guide 2012:
http://www.fueleconomy.gov/feg/pdfs/guides/feg2012.pdf
Electric Vehicles and Infrastructure Program:
http://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/HWY/OIPP/Pages/inn_ev‐
charging.aspx
Oregon’s Road Usage Charge Program:
http://roadchargeoregon.org/frequently‐asked‐questions/
Road Usage Charge Pilot Program Preliminary Findings:
http://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/HWY/RUFPP/docs/RUCPilotPreli
mFind_Feb13.pdf
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A Final Observation
Using the model proposed in HB2453 to recover road damage 
expenses caused by studded tires will result in significantly more 
revenue than targeting users of highly efficient vehicles.

Assuming Les Schwab’s estimate of 20,000 Oregon studded tire 
users(1), ODOT’s average studded tire damage figure of $30M/Y(2), 
and an average of 1000 miles per vehicle per month during the 5 
months in which studded tire usage is allowed(3), the per‐mile 
road usage fee for studded tire users comes to $0.30/Mile and 
covers nearly 10 X as many vehicles.  That’s 19.3 X higher than 
the rate proposed for Highly Efficient Vehicles, tied directly to 
actual road damage estimates, and more “equitable” than 
proposals in HB’s 2278, 2277, 2397, or 2453.
(1) http://www.oregonlive.com/opinion/index.ssf/2012/07/lawmakers_should_leave_studded.html
(2) http://roadchargeoregon.org/frequently‐asked‐questions/
(3) http://www.tripcheck.com/Pages/RCMap.asp?staticNav=ChainLaws
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