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Dear Chair Shields and Members of the Committee:

Thank you for the opportunity to testify in support of HB 2929. My name is Tori Klein, and | am an
attorney from Eugene, Oregon. | have worked for a non-profit law firm helping consumers with financial
issues and people with landlord/tenant issues. Currently, | serve as Associate General Counsel for Gorilla
Capital, Inc.

Gorilla Capital is based in Eugene, Oregon and is one of the nation’s leading purchasers of distressed real
estate. By buying, rehabilitating, and selling distressed homes, Gorilla Capital is actively engaged in the
revitalization of neighborhoods, and increasing neighborhood property values (and thus, revenue to your
district’s counties). Additionally, we track a significant amount of data in the foreclosure world.

HB 2929 supports rights of businesses, purchasers, and consumers by providing necessary checks and
limitations through fine-tuning small parts of the Oregon Trust Deed Act (OTDA). Although non-judicial
foreclosures are currently low, this route will be used more in the future and these subtle changes will
help prevent delays that hinder recovery of our housing market.

Express & Limited Rescission Rights: A clear statutory guideline as to when and how a trustee can void
or rescind a sale will support the housing market in Oregon. HB 2929 expressly limits a trustee’s ability to
rescind a trustee’s sale by placing a 10-day time period on such action. A trustee must deliver either a
trustee’s deed or a notice of rescission to the purchaser within 10 days of a trustee’s sale. This time
period directly aligns with current Oregon law.

ORS Chapter 86 allows purchasers of foreclosed homes to take legal possession of a home 10 days after
the trustee sale. Moreover, the trustee is statutorily mandated to deliver the trustee’s deed within 10
days of the sale. (See ORS 86.755 and ORS 86.755(6)(a)). Despite these two 10-day guidelines, we have
dealt with out of state trustees who have unilaterally rescinded a sale months afterward, while keeping
our purchase money. An express 10-day limitation as to rights of rescission will prevent this type of issue
from occurring, and does so in alignment with current laws.

All Trustees Should Be Registered To Do Business In Oregon: Although Banks are registered with other
branches of our state, some of their subsidiaries that act as Trustees or their agents may not have a
registered agent in Oregon. This makes it very difficult to find a contact person if there is a serious legal
issue with some aspect of a sale, thus preventing speedy resolution of issues.

A-Engrossed and Amended Versions: | am in support of the A-Engrossed version of this bill. However, |
also believe some amendments make it more likely to achieve its goal of establishing boundaries as to a
unilateral rescission by a trustee.

Thank you for your time and consideration of HB 2929. | would be happy to answer any of your
questions.



