
State Comparison: Criminal Liability for Buyers of Sex With Minors 
 
State Trafficking 

Law could 
be applied 
to buyers1 

CSEC could 
be applied 
to buyers  

Highest Offense Level  
and Penalty  

(max. sentence and fine for first 
offense) 

Felony penalty applies 
to all offenses involving 

a minor victim 

Alabama No* No Age-neutral solicitation law 
Class A misdemeanor  

(max. 1yr, $6k)  

n/a 

Alaska No Yes Class C felony (max. 5yrs, $50k) Yes 
Arizona No* Yes Class 2 felony  

(max. 21-27yrs, $150k) 
No2 

Arkansas No* Yes Class A felony (max. 30 yrs, $15k) Yes 
California No No Age-neutral acquiring prostitute 

felony (max. 3yrs, $10k) 
Age-neutral 

Colorado No Yes Class 3 felony (max. 12yrs, $750k) Yes 
Connecticut No Yes Class D felony (max. 5yrs, $5k) No (16) 
Delaware Yes No Class C felony (max. 15yrs) Yes 
DC No* Yes Max. 20yrs, $20k Yes 
Florida No Yes 2nd degree felony  

(max. 15yrs, $10K)  
No (16) 

Georgia No* Yes Felony (max. 20yrs, $10k) Yes 
Hawaii n/a No NOTE: SB 192 (Makes soliciting 

sex with minor a felony) passed 
the legislature but has not been 

signed into law yet. 

(yes, if enacted) 

Idaho No Yes Enacted Senate Bill 1060: 
Felony (2 yrs-life, $50k) 

Yes 

Illinois No* Yes Class 3 felony (max. 5yrs, $25k) Yes 
Indiana Yes No Class C felony (max. 8yrs, $10k) Yes 
Iowa  Yes Yes Class C felony (max. 10yrs, $10k) Yes 
Kansas No* Yes (Enacted House Bill 2034) 

Under 14: felony (25–life, $500k) 
14-17 years old: 31–34 months 

Yes 

Kentucky No* Yes Class A misdemeanor  
(max. 1yr, $500) 

n/a 

Louisiana Yes Yes Felony (max. 50yrs, $50k) Yes 
Maine n/a Yes Class D crime (max. 1yr, $2k) 

If knows <18, Class C  
(max. 5yrs, $5k) 

Yes 
 

Maryland No Yes Felony (max. 10yrs, $25k) Yes 
                                                           
1 Evaluations of state laws are based on legislation enacted as of May 7, 2013. Only trafficking laws that clearly 
apply to buyers have been included. Responses with an asterisk (*) indicate that the sex trafficking law may apply 
to buyers based on federal precedent. 
2 While the law applies to all offenses involving a minor victim, buyers face a substantially lower penalty for 
engaging in prostitution with a minor aged 15-17, unless the prosecution can prove that the buyer knew the 
minor’s age. 
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Massachusetts Yes Yes Felony (max. life, $25k) Yes 
Michigan No* No Age-neutral prostitution law 

Misdemeanor (93 days, $500) 
n/a 

Minnesota No Yes Felony (max. 20yrs, $40k) Yes 
Mississippi Yes No Felony (max. 30yrs, $10k) Yes 
Missouri Yes Yes Felony (max. life, $250k) Yes 
Montana No* Yes Felony (max. 100yrs, $50k) Yes (Enacted  

House Bill 478) 
Nebraska Yes Yes Class III felony (max. 20yrs, $25k) Yes 
Nevada No Yes Category E felony  

(max. 4yrs or probation, $5K) 
Yes 

New Hampshire No* No Age-netural prostitution law 
Class B misdemeanor  
(fine only, max $1.2k) 

n/a 

New Jersey No* Yes 3rd degree crime  
(max. 5yrs, $15k) 

Yes 

New Mexico No* Yes 2nd degree felony  

(max. 9yrs, $10k) 
No (13-16) 

 
New York No Yes Class A misdemeanor, if 14-18 

(max. 1yr, $1k) 
Class E felony, if under 14   

(max. 4yrs, $5k) 
Class D felony, if under 11  

(max. 7yrs, $5k) 

 
No (under 14) 

North Carolina No* Yes Class F felony  
(max. 16mo, discretionary fine) 

Yes 

North Dakota No* No Age-netural patronizing law 
Class B misdemeanor  
(max. 30 days, $1k) 

n/a 

Ohio No Yes Felony of the 3rd degree  
(max. 36mo, $10k) 

Yes 

Oklahoma  Yes Yes Felony (min. 10yrs, max. $20k) Yes 
Oregon No Yes Class A misdemeanor (max. 1yr, 

$10k) 
n/a 

Pennsylvania No* Yes 3rd degree felony  
(max. 7yrs, $15k) 

Yes 

Rhode Island Yes Yes Felony (max. 40yrs, $40k) Yes 
South Carolina No* Yes Class E or F felony  

(max. 5-10yrs, $5k) 
Yes 

 
South Dakota No* No Age-neutral patronizing law 

Class 1 misdemeanor (1yr, $2k) 
n/a 

Tennessee No* Yes Class E felony (max. 6yrs, $3k) Yes 
Texas Yes Yes Felony of the 1st degree  

(max. 99yrs, $10k) 
Yes 

Utah No* Yes Enacted House Bill 163 
3rd degree felony (max. 5yrs, $5k)  

Yes 
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Vermont Yes Yes Felony (max. 5yrs, $100k) Yes 
Virginia n/a No Enacted House Bill 1066 

Class 5 or 6 felony  
(max. 10yrs, $2.5k) 

Yes 

Washington No* Yes Class B felony (max. 10yrs, $20k) Yes 
West Virginia No* Yes Felony (max. 10yrs, $5k) Yes 
Wisconsin No* Yes Class D felony (max. 25yrs, $100k) Yes 
Wyoming n/a No Enacted House Bill 133 

Felony (max. 3yrs, $5k) 
Yes 

TOTALS:  12 36 Felony: 43   
Misdemeanor: 8 (2 CSEC) 

37 

 

 

 


