Vehicle Emissions Testing Changes
HB 3443 A
Rep. John Davis

DEQ operates a Vehicle Inspection Program in the Portland and Rogue Valley areas of Oregon. In these areas, an emissions test is
required when registering or renewing a vehicle with Oregon DMY. HB 3443 A requires the Environmental Quality Commission to
prepare revisions to Oregon’s State Implementation Plan by July 1, 2014. This bill would change the initial vehicle emissions
testing requirement from the first vehicle re-registration (usually at four years) to exempting vehicles until they are more
than six years old. Within 60 days of EPA acting on the plan submittal, DEQ must report to the Legislature in the manner provided
by ORS 192.245, If EPA approves the revisions, DEQ shall make recommendations for legislation that it deems advisable. This bill
takes effect on Aprit 1, 2014, The bill exempts vehicles from the initial emissions test until they are more than six years
old.

DEQ Vehicle Inspection Results:
How many vehicles does DEQ VIP test each year?
During the 2012 calendar year, VIP tested 556,130 vehicles (see table)
What percent of vehicles fail?
The overall faillure rate in 2012 was 6.79%. Failure rate for vehicles 2008 and newer was 0.00%-0.74%.

Lo Total ool e Fail %
325 | 48.31%

1976 344 335 679 49.34%
1977 421 330 751 43.94%
1978 644 532 1,176 45.24%
1979 483 380 863 44.03%
1980 _ 441 238 679 35.05%
1981 433 196 629 31.16%
1982 643 219 862 25.41%
1983 620 257 877 29.30%
1984 1,372 480 1,852 25.92%
1985 : 1,317 . 516 1,833 28.15%
1986 2,427 746 3,173 23.51%
1987 2,084 627 2,711 23.13%
1988 3,712 886 4,598 19.27%
1989 3,534 921 4,455 20.67%
1990 6,505 1,152 7,657 15.05%
1991 5,759 1,030 6,789 15.17%
1992 10,123 1,435 11,558 12.42%
1993 9,384 1,276 10,660 11.97%
1994 ' 16,210 1,729 17,939 9.64%
1995 14,344 1,502 15,846 9.48%
1996 18,745 | 2,393 21,138 11.32%
1997 18,096 2,326 20,422 11.39%
1998 28,308 2,582 30,890 8.36%
1999 23,805 2,066 25,871 7.99%
2000 36,906 2,746 39,652 6.93%
2001 25,986 2,281 28,267 8.07%
2002 39,328 2,465 41,793 5.90%
2003 28,526 1,642 30,168 5.44%
. 2004 43,387 1,559 44,946 3.47%
2005 30,030 957 30,987 3.09%
2007 29,611 397 30,008 1.32%
2008 37,234 279 37,513 0.74%




2009 14,821 a7 14,918 0.65%
2010 7,771 : 23 7,794 0.30%
2011 6,811 28 6,839 0.41%
2012 2,879 10 2,889 0.35%
2013 112 112 0.00%
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What Are Other States Doing?

Colorado emissicn testing rules - new vehicle exemption to change from 4 years to 7 years in 2015
hito:/iwww thedenverchannel.com/news/local-news/colorado-emission-testing-rules-new-vehicle-exemption-to-change-from- 4—vears—to-
7-years-in-2015
Posted: 12/20/2012
DENVER - A state commission has approved changes in the emission testing program in Colorado.
The program, operated along much of the Front Range, requires most vehicles to pass an annual or biennial emissions test,
depending on the age of the vehicle, prior to registration renewal.
Under new rules to start in 2015:

e New vehicles will be exempt from emissions testing for seven years instead of four

e Visual inspection for 1996-and-newer vehicles will be eliminated

e On-board diagnostics testing will be used for the two inspection cycles following the expiration of the model year exemption
“We continually evaluate the vehicle inspection program so that improvements can be made that balance customer convenience and
air quality benefits," said Will Allison, director of the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment’s Air Poliution Control
Division."These changes will do just that.”
The changes will create the longest exemption period of any similar emissions program in the country, officials said.
As for the on-board diagnostics, vehicles manufactured since the mid-1990s are equipped with on-board diagnostics, which refers to
the self-diagnostic and reporting capability of the vehicle’s onboard computer. Tralned technicians can piug vehicles into a testing
computer to check for frouble codes related to emissions. With this change, most vehicles will not need to submit to the well-known
treadmili-style test at one of the area’s Air Care Colorado testing facilities for the first 11 years.
The changes are scheduled for 2015 to allow time for the required legislative and U.S. Environmenta Protection Agency approvals.
The Colorado Department of Revenue also will need to make significant alterations to the vehicle registration system to
accommodate the changes. '

Washington
In Our View: Rewards of Clean Air

Vahicle emissions tests will be phased out in Washington state by 2020

Tuesday, August 23, 2011

hito:{fwww.columbian.com/news/201 1/aug/23/in-our-view-rewards-of-clean-air/

Washington state is getting out of the vehicle emissions testing business for the best of reasons: The tests are becoming
increasingly unnecessary.

The phased-out change won’t be complete untii 2020, but at least the process has begun And it disproves the
time-honored complaint that, once government starts doing something (particularly if it involves taking our money), the
government won't ever stop. To the contrary, in the next eight years vehicles will have moved into such wide

compliance with tougher emissions standards enacted in 2009 that emissions tests will no longer be needed.

The state Department of Ecology made the announcement on Friday, and John Raymond, a longtime veteran in the state’s
emissions program, told KIRO-TV in Seattle: “The air quality has improved considerably since the program started, and the vehicles
are much cleaner than they used to be. The Legislature, believe it or not, does not want to keep irritating people forever.” |
This news is well-received in Clark County, one of the five most-populated counties where the tests are required. (The others are |
King, Pierce, Snhchomish and Spokane.) Each year about 1 million vehicles are tested. Gradually, though, the testing will end and by
2020 Washingtonians will no longer have to endure the inconvenience and the expense {$15) of the emissions test. Vehicle owners
will know they’re being phased out of the program when they stop receiving test notices through the mail. Total savings statewide will
be about $15 million by 2020; the tests are required every other year, so individual savings will be $15 every two years.




