77th OREGON LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY – 2013 Regular Session

MEASURE: HB 2158 A

PRELIMINARY STAFF MEASURE SUMMARY

Senate Committee on Veterans and Emergency Preparedness

CARRIER:

REVENUE: No revenue impact (A-engrossed version) FISCAL: Fiscal statement issued (A engrossed version) SUBSEQUENT REFERRAL TO: Education and Workforce Development	
Action:	
Vote:	
Yeas:	
Nays:	
Exc.:	
Prepared By:	Cheyenne Ross, Administrator
Meeting Dates:	5/9

WHAT THE MEASURE DOES: Requires public universities and community colleges charge in-state tuition of undergraduate veterans discharged from service under conditions other than dishonorable, if specified criteria are met with regard to elementary or secondary school attendance. Requires no more than in-state tuition plus half the difference between resident and nonresident rates be charged by public universities and community colleges, of any veteran discharged under other than dishonorable conditions, graduate or undergraduate. Declares emergency, effective on passage.

ISSUES DISCUSSED:

EFFECT OF COMMITTEE AMENDMENT:

[-A8 amendment] Replaces measure. Requires public universities and community colleges to charge in-state tuition for all honorably discharged veteran undergraduates regardless of residency. Declares emergency, effective on passage.

BACKGROUND: Under current law, honorably-discharged, nonresident veteran undergraduates at public universities and community colleges in Oregon receive a tuition reduction until they establish residency: they may not be charged more than the resident rate plus half the difference between resident and nonresident rates (ORS 352.375).

Community Colleges in Oregon do not generally differentiate between in-state and out-of-state students, so everyone pays the same; but the Oregon University System does. There are presently 193 nonresident veterans enrolled in Oregon universities, and the GI Bill only covers the cost of in-state tuition, not the 50 percent difference.

House Bill 2158A, first, extends the existing tuition reduction for nonresident undergraduate veterans to *graduate* veterans as well; and second, requires in-state tuition for honorably-discharged nonresident undergraduate veterans who attended elementary and/or high school in any state or territory, within specified time frames, and received a high school diploma or equivalent in Oregon.

House committee vote: $7 \cdot 0 \cdot 0$ House floor vote: $59 \cdot 0 \cdot 1$